We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton
1 review
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is only a block from the central square in La Fortuna so it is very convenient for restaurants and other commercial services. On a clear day you can see Arenal Volcano from the front of the hotel. The hotel is very good value for the price and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    154
    45
    7
    5
See reviews for
61
126
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my second stay here in six months. I love being able to wander around the town without hopping in the car.

The rooms are comfortable (but not luxurious), with good air conditioning and television.

The pool and hot tub are nice and the pass-through from the neighboring smoothie place is really convenient.

Breakfast is standard Tico fair with lots of fruit.

It is a nice place to get away and relax. I will go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We travel extensively in Costa Rica and were looking for a hotel in the center of La Fortuna so we wouldn't need to drive, but a little quiet, because the main street is very busy. This place was perfect for us. We were able to negotiate a very fair low season rate and the place was well manged. The rooms were typical mid-range Costarricense and had normal appointments. There was a nice pool and very good complimentary breakfast. The staff were helpful and with so many restaurants to choose from, they steered us to the best local place, a 'soda' off the main street with great food. There is a direct view of the volcano from the grounds. Best of all, they had a mirador. This third floor viewing platform was where we brought our drinks in the evening and had a private party with wonderful views of the town, volcano and surroundings. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in La Fortuna de San Carlos, this one fits the bill. Not luxury, but not trying to be...just very good.

Room Tip: There are a pair of rooms on the second floor at the north end that have a very nice, expansive fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in La Fortuna. You can see the Arenal Volcano and the cute little town is just steps away with out having to get in your car and drive. We have been staying here since 1995 and it just keeps getting better then the times before. They also include a nice breakfast out by the pool with Eggs, Gallo Pinto {A LOCAL FAVORITE WITH BLACK BEANS AND RICE} fresh Fruit, Juices and Bacon. The price for 2 person runs around 69.00 a night in the high season which is Dec and drops after the Easter holiday. All I'm doing now is thinking when I'm going back to Costa Rica {PURA VIDA} THE GOOD LIFE

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here the second day of our trip to save a little more money on hotels. The staff was lukewarm or not seen. If you want to be totally left alone, its a good place to stay. The breakfast was decent, but there was no one around to ask for anything.
The location is as they say, close to the center of town, which is another reason why we picked this hotel. If your looking for character, warm welcome, friendly staff available available dont stay here.

The only reason i even felt compelled to write this was the hotels responses to other reviewers. Listen hotel manager, you dont browbeat a guest because they had an unfavorable experience at your hotel. Excuses are less then worthless. What people want to hear is: 1) You heard their experience. 2) You will look into improving those issues. 3) You APOLOGIZE (dont blame the guest), no matter how you "feel". 4) Extend an offer to change their mind. A personal email / contact to reach you so you can personal handle their next stay.

I wish your business much luck. These are easy fixes, if you truly care about being in the hospitality industry. I've been working in it for over 30 years, and I believe in helping you not hurting you, so Good Luck!

Room Tip: It looked like all the rooms were basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at San Bosco Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!

We regret that you have had an unfavorable experience with us.

We try to provide the customer, quality service for an adequate budget.

It is not our intention that people feel alone in their stay, but the amount of staff we employ is relatively smaller than that used in other more budget hotels.

It is for this, we look to some of the experiences are self-service, as at breakfast.

Even so, we will take your recommendations to strengthen our customer service at Frontdesk.

For future reservations, we hope you contact us directly, so we can provide personalized information.

Again, thanks for your time and comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

San Bosco is only a block from the park in the middle of town, with a grocery store and many restaurants just minutes away. The staff is also very helpful in booking tours, and the price is great (and includes breakfast). Rooms have individual air conditioning units as well.

Room Tip: Rooms 32 and 34 (right above reception) share a balcony with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked the stay just on short notice - with option to make a mistake.... it was not this case. Perfect hotel, friendly staff helping us with navigations around. Nice pools in the garden, decent breakfast,view to a sunset above El Arenal....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.