We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next to the volcano!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“next to the volcano!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A decent hotel 100 metres from the town centre. Small clean swimming pool, breakfast outside next to the pool, shade available. Choice at breakfast a bit limited but overall quality and service was ok. Although several kilometres from the volcano it looks as though you could touch it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    149
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
58
122
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour group. The location is ideal - easy walk into the square (town). The room I shared was huge - 2 of us had 4 beds to choose from. A/c, tv, towels provided, good sized bathroom with hot water. Safe is with reception - used and recommend. Hotel has cctv & at night a security gate is put across. Hotel has free WiFi. The pool looked inviting (I didn't use, but others in tour did and enjoyed it). Staff friendly and welcoming. Coffee available all day. The breakfast was fine - rice& beans, eggs, fruit, hot drinks - although out of all the other hotels we stayed at, this was probably not the best b'fast, but it didn't stop me having full plates each morning. ( As I was here as a tour group, I can't say if value for money as I dont' know how much we paid... that said, it was a safe, clean hotel, within easy walk to shops and restaurants, and view of Volcan Arenal. A good safe choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although food and drinks are crazy expensive for central america, the lodging is a great deal. Splurge a little if you're on a budget. This was under $60 for a double bed. The pool and jacuzzi are a great perk. The breakfast was pretty awesome and filling, free coffee all day, and to top it off, there's a 3rd story viewing platform for photos of the volcano that won't show the electrical wires. That's if the clouds ever go away....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during our tour in the Arenal area. The tour company had booked this hotel. Our experience matches in large part the experience of other commentators in this blog. Our room was large, with two queen beds. The bathroom was fine. The room was very clean and well maintained. It was dark though. We had a view of another wall and there was no sitting area in the room. WiFi is free but restricted to the pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions. For example they allowed us to use their phone to call Canada with a calling card. The biggest complaint is the breakfast. Our first morning featured cold scrambled eggs, cold coffee and cold rice and beans. The second morning the food and coffee were hotter. Not sure though what made the difference. Cold breakfast food is not acceptable. Heating the food trays would ensure a more palatable breakfast.

The strongest point for the hotel is its location – minutes from the town centre. Very nice for walkers to have access to stores, restaurants and bars. There are much nicer hotels on the way to the volcano but without a car are inaccessible. So the Bosco is probably the reasonable choice for those without private transportation. Breakfast aside and the very poor view, this hotel is fine – clean, nice and helpful staff and great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Two pools and a Jacuzzi makes this place do add to quality of this hotel. Have your breakfast and dive into one of the pools, making literally only 2 steps from the hotel restaurant. Breakfast isn't bad, there's some choice there. The hotel is gated and the main office is in front by the gate. There's WiFi and two computers in the office. Don't plan on washing you garments there since there's no guest laundry, and the nearest laundromat is 2 blocks away. And it's being humid there, it takes a while for things to dry. Rooms are ok, with TVs and an average restroom/shower room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslum
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were all in all disappointed with our visit to La Fortuna. It seems like a big tourist trap.
Also the Hotel San Bosco failed to impress us. The hotel itself is OK, central location and the staff is polite. But rooms are very small. And the breakfast is really not good. Mainly scrambled eggs and "Gallo Pinto" (rice and beans). We saw small birds eating of the serving spoons - does not help appetite...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked this hotel because I was on a budget. It was very inexpensive. That being said you get what you pay for. La Fortuna did not have anything to peak my interest no nightlife whatsoever so I would have rather spent $50.00 dollars on the resort hotel I spent my first night in. It did have the internet and they were able to accquire a hairdryer and the staff was nice. The breakfast was ok actually there were flies everywhere and the room was similar to that of a monastery. This hotel on the food chain would make a Super 8 seem like the Ritz. It is basic and only suited for the traveler that doesn't require any ammenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.