We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although food and drinks are crazy expensive for central america, the lodging is a great deal. Splurge a little if you're on a budget. This was under $60 for a double bed. The pool and jacuzzi are a great perk. The breakfast was pretty awesome and filling, free coffee all day, and to top it off, there's a 3rd story viewing platform for photos of the volcano that won't show the electrical wires. That's if the clouds ever go away....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    147
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
58
120
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during our tour in the Arenal area. The tour company had booked this hotel. Our experience matches in large part the experience of other commentators in this blog. Our room was large, with two queen beds. The bathroom was fine. The room was very clean and well maintained. It was dark though. We had a view of another wall and there was no sitting area in the room. WiFi is free but restricted to the pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions. For example they allowed us to use their phone to call Canada with a calling card. The biggest complaint is the breakfast. Our first morning featured cold scrambled eggs, cold coffee and cold rice and beans. The second morning the food and coffee were hotter. Not sure though what made the difference. Cold breakfast food is not acceptable. Heating the food trays would ensure a more palatable breakfast.

The strongest point for the hotel is its location – minutes from the town centre. Very nice for walkers to have access to stores, restaurants and bars. There are much nicer hotels on the way to the volcano but without a car are inaccessible. So the Bosco is probably the reasonable choice for those without private transportation. Breakfast aside and the very poor view, this hotel is fine – clean, nice and helpful staff and great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Two pools and a Jacuzzi makes this place do add to quality of this hotel. Have your breakfast and dive into one of the pools, making literally only 2 steps from the hotel restaurant. Breakfast isn't bad, there's some choice there. The hotel is gated and the main office is in front by the gate. There's WiFi and two computers in the office. Don't plan on washing you garments there since there's no guest laundry, and the nearest laundromat is 2 blocks away. And it's being humid there, it takes a while for things to dry. Rooms are ok, with TVs and an average restroom/shower room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslum
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were all in all disappointed with our visit to La Fortuna. It seems like a big tourist trap.
Also the Hotel San Bosco failed to impress us. The hotel itself is OK, central location and the staff is polite. But rooms are very small. And the breakfast is really not good. Mainly scrambled eggs and "Gallo Pinto" (rice and beans). We saw small birds eating of the serving spoons - does not help appetite...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked this hotel because I was on a budget. It was very inexpensive. That being said you get what you pay for. La Fortuna did not have anything to peak my interest no nightlife whatsoever so I would have rather spent $50.00 dollars on the resort hotel I spent my first night in. It did have the internet and they were able to accquire a hairdryer and the staff was nice. The breakfast was ok actually there were flies everywhere and the room was similar to that of a monastery. This hotel on the food chain would make a Super 8 seem like the Ritz. It is basic and only suited for the traveler that doesn't require any ammenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst passing through La Fortuna and it was nice and comfy with clean rooms and hot showers. We cycled around Lake Arenal and visited the Ecothermales Spa for dinner. All very nice. Breakfast at the hotel wasn't great. Pools and hottubs are a nice edition. Overall a nice place but not luxurious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

good point: location. hotel san bosco is a short walk from all the restaurants, stores, etc., and at the same time, it doesn't get noisy.
everything else was just ok, or less. the room was VERY small and there was no closet space at all, not even a little cabinet (even that wouldn't fit in the room...). it was also poorly iluminated and a little claustrophobic.
the breakfast is below average. plus they serve margerine instead of butter, which is kinda depressing in terms of a regular breakfast (never seen that, even in lower budget places...).
anyways, if you can't spend more on hotel rates (like I coundn't), it's worth staying at, since you'll probably be gone most of the day. but be prepared...

Room Tip: probably the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at San Bosco Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback!

We try to see each of them as an opportunity to excel.

Hotel San Bosco, is a hotel located in the center of La Fortuna, and our proposal is to provide the customer with a clean and safe lodging, with most basic services, and in turn, privacy.

It is clear that to be located in the center of La Fortuna, part of our proposal is to provide an option, economically.

With your feedback, we will strive to provide better service every day.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.