We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Save Saved
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for three nights when we first arrived to Costa Rica. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was included and it was a buffet typical style. The food was good and the pool was clean as well. The best thing about this hotel is the location, right in the middle of town. If you want the typical resort style lodging this isn't for you. You'd be happier up the volcano but if you want to be in the middle of it all hotel San bosco is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    144
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
57
118
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a week while visiting my wife's family. We enjoyed our stay and was very satisfied with the heplfulness of the staff. Specially Natalia and Allan from the front desk and Salvadora from the breakfast buffet. Thee room we stayed in is very clean and confortable. My wife loved the cute towel animal arrangements. The location is excellent, it's near the center of La Fortuna and a lot of the shops and eateries are within walking distance. The property is very clean and grounds are well kept, the view of the volcano is a sight to see every morning. The pool and the jacuzzi is excellent for chilling out. Wi-fi in our room is adequate enough. Breakfast buffet is filling - rice and beans, eggs and fruits, could use a little bit of variety. We were given a trip to their affiliated garden hotel , The Volcano Lodge and the property is a garden paradise. We were able to use the amenities for free. Overall we are very satisfied with our stay at this hotel. Definitely will stay here again and highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group of 10 people had a very comfortable, relaxing 2 night stay at Hotel San Bosco. The rooms were basic, but very clean. We too, loved the cute towel animals left on our beds each day. The front desk staff and breakfast staff were very accommodating and friendly! The buffet style breakfast was served on the outdoor covered patio overlooking the large pool and grounds, and it offered a delicious variety of food and beverage. The grounds of the hotel were nicely manicured and spacious. The pool was the focal point, clean and refreshing! From one end of the pool there was a fantastic view of Arenal Volcano. The hotel is located 2 blocks off the main park square of the small town of La Fortuna, surrounded by shops and restaurants. We recommend Hotel San Bosco highly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building near the pool and facing out to the grounds and front of the hotel are more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I arrived unannounced at the Hotel San Bosco and was able to check in immediately. While the room is quite basic I found it to be clean and most adequate for my needs. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. When I was unable to book transit to my next destination until one day later than I had planned they allowed me to stay an extra night despite being totally booked due to a bicycle race. The view of the volcano was wonderful as was the breakfast. On the day of my departure the staff packed me a sack breakfast to take along since I left to early to enjoy the buffet. I will definitely stay here again when I return to La Fortuna in January 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place is just ok, it's very basic. The bathroom is small, I just didn't feel too comfortable being here. The walls are thin, you can hear everything going on outside. Like many mentioned before the staff is just ok, they don't go out of their way to help you like other places.
On the plus side the grounds are well kept, there's a very clean pool and spa. The breakfast is pretty good, a lady cooks you fresh eggs, rice and beans of course. The location is great, about two blocks from town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. We enjoyed our stay, and found the room clean and comfortable. (And loved the cute towel animals!) The AC and Wifi worked very well (they also have a computer for guests to use, which was nice), and we loved having a pool and jacuzzi! Breakfast is buffet style by the pool - rice/beans, eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, and tea. The best thing about the hotel is the prime location - it's in the center of La Fortuna, near many restaurants and shops and with terrific volcano views. We thought it was an excellent value.

One note, similar to a previous reviewer - While I would recommend staying at the San Bosco, I would not recommend booking tours (hikes, rafting, ziplining, etc.) through the hotel. They have relationships with select tour groups, and they only recommend these tours. While the staff was polite, this was pretty frustrating for us, as the ziplining and hiking tours they recommended were quite expensive. Once we realized that they were only recommending certain companies, we ended up just using our guidebook/computer to research options and booked independently, saving over 25% with some great companies. Overall though, we had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room was really old and it smelled moldy. They had free internet and computers which was nice. The front desk helped out, but it didn't seem like they wanted to. The breakfast was good and the pool area looked really nice and new. Nothing special, the rooms were definitely not that nice although they did have a tv and A/C.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at San Bosco Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments,

Hotel San Bosco, is the pioneer in the hosting industry in the area of Arenal Volcano.

Hotel San Bosco was officially opened in 1986, already, 26 years of providing its clients: quality services at low cost.

We try to Hotel San Bosco be a part of a pleasant stay, while we try to keep all the history involved, in the young age of tourism in La Fortuna.

We welcome your comments and look forward to making adjustments, even to provide a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.