We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms, and a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Save Saved
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
SouthEast Asia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean rooms, and a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Hotel San Bosco based on previous trip advisor reviews, and we were really happy that our experience was pleasant. The hotel is located just a little off of one of the main street in Arenal, so it was easily to just go out and walk around the town. The staff at the hotel were super friendly and helpful. They were accommodating in changing money, giving us restaurant/bar suggestions, etc. [We didn't book tours through them, however, as tours can be book for a far cheaper price by using a n independent booker].

The room is ideal if you're just looking for a clean, comfortable place to sleep, which is what we wanted. It's simply furnished (TV, hot water, A/C), but everything was in good working condition. The room was cleaned daily, and we really enjoyed the creative towel animals.

Breakfast was decent - their pinto gallo was the best I had on the whole trip. Breakfast is served next to the pool each morning (which is cleaned every day)...However, I would steer clear of the jams, as there are many flies that surround that area. It was slightly off-putting, and they really should be kept in a different container.

On the final day, we were get get a great view of the volcano, and got some great shots of it from the hotel's observational deck on the 3rd floor.

Overall, we would definitely stay at the Hotel San Bosco again!

Room Tip: We had room 10, which was really close to the lobby and looked onto the parking lot. Initially, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    139
    42
    7
    5
See reviews for
53
115
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I am staying here for two nights. The hotel is very simple and abscur. Looks to me like ex-communistic object. It is really ugly place to stay. The front desk people are not very friendly too!!!! I spoke to other tourist who are here and they informed me, there are other very nice hotels close by, they cost a bit more, but the quality is so much higher!!!! The problem is, the other hotels are fully booked and we should make the reservation at least few weeks befor arrival. Hotel San Bosco is almost empty, only a few tourist here, no wonder!!!! Well if you come to this city, you might consider some better places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at San Bosco Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your time,

Here at Hotel San Bosco, we appreciate the feedback, because it is the best way to improve.

Hotel San Bosco is a hotel designed to meet a market, who is searching for low prices, rewarding quality in their services.

At La Fortuna Downtown, we are practically the only hotel, that has services such as pool and Jacuzzi, as well as, the opportunity of using the facilities of our premium hotel.

Hence we have the opportunity to obtain the Trip Advisor's Certificate for Excellence, in our services.

We regret that our hotel, has not met your expectations, because it is a hotel that remains filled about 80% occupancy throughout the month.

Even so, we will consider your comments about the service in order to strengthen the quality of our services.

Thank you for your comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I loved my stay here. The staff were friendly, and spoke english. WIFI is free, worked in my room. Air con and fan, very clean. Free tea and coffee 24/7. Lots of tour information and can book for you also. Its in the centre of town, but down a side street so youre not in the hustle and bustle, quiet. The pool and jacuzzi were cleaned daily and have a great view of the Volcano. Breakfast (free) is poolside also with views of the Volcano. Scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, juice, rice and beans, fresh fruit. Would loved to have stayed longer, and would certainly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Away from pool and balcony if you want a sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I would imagine that many people would use La Fortuna as base for doing the many outdoor activities that the Arenal region has to offer (hiking in the rainforest, rafting, hot springs, canyoneering, etc). Hotel San Bosco is well suite to this -- it's clean and centrally located, and you can reserve many activities at the reception (there seems to always be an english-speaking staff member on duty). It's not the lap of luxury like the Tabacon, but it's a good deal for the price. Breakfast is free, as is the parking (which is highly secure).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times over the past three years or so. Each time we've enjoyed the simplicity and cleanliness of the rooms, as well as the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff. Its location near the center of La Fortuna is appealing. We'll continue to stay at San Bosco, both as a family and when we bring down groups of colleagues and students from the US to Costa Rica...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good. The scenery is nice. The staff is hospitable. Great views of the Volcano from the pool area. Also, walk a block past the hotel and you will be surrounded by food and shopping and even better views of the volcano. The only reason I'm giving this place a 3 is because it is basically a three star hotel. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room facing the pool. You'll get the added bonus of a view of the volc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel San Bosco is definately a great place to stay within budget! The staff is super friendly. They helped us with tour information and directions we needed. The rooms are clean and there's wifi. There's also a pool available to use and everything is in walking distance to shops and restaurants. Included is also breakfast in the morning, which consists of eggs, toast, sausage, fruit and cereal. I definately recommend this place to anyone. It is worth your money!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.