We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Save Saved
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good. The scenery is nice. The staff is hospitable. Great views of the Volcano from the pool area. Also, walk a block past the hotel and you will be surrounded by food and shopping and even better views of the volcano. The only reason I'm giving this place a 3 is because it is basically a three star hotel. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room facing the pool. You'll get the added bonus of a view of the volc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    138
    42
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
114
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel San Bosco is definately a great place to stay within budget! The staff is super friendly. They helped us with tour information and directions we needed. The rooms are clean and there's wifi. There's also a pool available to use and everything is in walking distance to shops and restaurants. Included is also breakfast in the morning, which consists of eggs, toast, sausage, fruit and cereal. I definately recommend this place to anyone. It is worth your money!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning our our trip. The staff are great and very helpful with organizing tours. The room was large and clean with fresh towels daily and aircon. The pool was clean and we had a wonderful view of the volcano while swimming in the pool. The rooms had tables outside them to sit and have a drink. There was no hotel bar which was a slight negative but it didn't matter too much as there was an ice machine so we could get drinks in the supermarket and keep them in our ice bucket. There is free coffee available all day. The breakfast was eggs, rice, fruit, coffee etc. It's a buffet style so it's better to get there earlyish to make sure there are enough eggs. Although the staff are pretty accommodating and will whip you up some fresh eggs if you ask. The hotel is about 1 minute walk to the park in the center of town. It's a great location. We would definitely stay here again.

Slight negatives: no hotel bar and breakfast is a bit dried up some mornings

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Hotel San Bosco is a budget friendly family hotel with lots of value for your money! Located right in La Fortuna off a quiet side street in a secure fenced in garden complex, within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. Our family had a large, spotless triple room above the reception with a covered patio which overlooked Arenal Volcano. A complete buffet breakfast is served poolside every morning, with the best coffee and sweetest pineapple! The entire staff is extremely friendly and helpful! The hotel, pool, and garden are immaculate! We spent one week there and they cleaned everything spotless every day.....even scrubbing the 3 hotel signs hanging on the street! At night the fence is closed and hotel and parked cars are safe and secure. You can not get a better hotel in La Fortuna for the money.....Hotel San Bosco is definitely worth it and I highly recommend it!!! Gracias for a wonderful week!!

Room Tip: Two triple rooms above reception for family's of 3 to 5 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I am a frequent traveler to La Fortuna and apend 30 nights per year in the area. I have stayed in 10-12 facilities ranging from $30 per night to $400 per night. San Bosco is secure, quite, conveniently located. Has two nice whirlpools with warm water, a clean pool and a kids pool. Breakfast is typical and they do custom eggs. Without a doubt, this is the best value per dollor of any hotel in the Arenal area. There are hotels that are more modern, more amenities, etc. but not any cleaner or any where near the price for the value conscious traveler. My family prefers over some of the higher priced places 7-8 kilometers from town. Don't miss the bakery just around the corner or Nene's Restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was such a pleasant place to stay at. The staff was very friendly and everyone knew my son's name by the end of the trip and he left saying they were all his amigos. We also left our son's lovie at the hotel and they shipped it to us immediately the next day on a shuttle. The staff was amazing. The pool was wonderful with a great view and always clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The staff was friendly. Hotel is close and convenient to main street and restaurants. Hotel was safe and the rooms were clean. There have pools and jacuzzis. They have free breakfast and free coffee during the day. Also in my second day they put my towels like monkey which was so cute

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.