We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Save Saved
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at Hotel San Bosco in mid-March 2012 with 3 others. I reserved a room with 2 queen beds but got a room with 4 beds (awesome!).

Staff were super nice and helpful. They have a safe at the front desk and close the gates at night for safety.

Location was great, too. We walked to get food in the town and took cabs to attractions like zip-lining and Tabacon. We took a cab to the La Fortuna Waterfall but were able to walk back to the hotel.

Breakfast was delicious.

I would recommend HSB to any group of friends visiting Arenal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    138
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
115
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HULL
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Well located with a view of Arenal volcano, the rooms are of a reasonable size and functional; they would however benefit from the inclusion of a fridge and safe. The hotel is kept meticulously clean. Nice pool and 2 hot Jacuzzi tubs. Friendly helpful staff, reasonable breakfast. Good value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean but a little bit dimly lit. Great pool and hot tub and good breakfast on the patio. Great view of the volcano when it's not hidden by the clouds.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, at the start of a 3 week trip, experience was very nice. I agree the rooms are a little dark, but no biggie!

The staff were wonderful. Always willing to answer our questions and give great advise.

Thanks guys.

Very to the main square. Good breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

One of the few places in Costa Rica that is not overpriced and actually worth the money ($64 per night for 2 people in a regular room including breakfast).

+ clean rooms, clean sheets, clean towels
+ professional and helpful staff - unfortunately, this is not common in Costa Rica!
+ quiet location, but only a few steps away from the center of La Fortuna
+ nice pool
+ volcano view

- breakfast buffet had a very limited selection
- rooms were clean but could probably have used a little more upkeep over time (toilet flush broke; shower screens were rattling...)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I just spent four night in La Fortuna at Hotel San Bosco. While it was a conveniently located hotel, we were slightly disappointed with a few aspects of our stay. The rooms were really dark and un-cozy. I guess it was good to not love being in our room so we spent way more time exploring the Arenal Volcano area, but it would have been nice to come back to a room we enjoyed at the end of the day. We were surprised to have to go out and buy our own shampoo, conditioner, and bar soap the first night, because the hotel didn't provide any of these things. There was no blow dryer either, which wasn't a big deal but is usually a nice thing to not have to schlep along with you on vacations. The rooms were also very un sound-proof. Despite closing our windows, we could hear everything that went on outside our door and in the rooms on either side of us at all hours and were awoken before seven each morning due to other guests' activity outside. The room was clean except for little bugs wherever water pooled around the bathroom sink, but we discovered this was the case of even the much fancier hotel we stay at in MA. Breakfast was fair: coffee was delicious but the rest of the food was nothing special and by the third day we had bought some of our own food to supplement. We did like the location, and the pool area was very nice. We were deciding between this place and La Hotel Fortuna, and if I could do it again I would have paid $10 less a night to stay at the latter, which had a delicious restaurant attached and was equally convenient. The service was good though; the people at the front desk were helpful with directions and suggestions of things to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Josimar met us at the office and went out of his way to be helpful.
Although the room was small, and pooly lighted, everything else was excellent.
The eggs at breakfast were cooked to order, the pool was imaculate and the water warm. Grounds were full of floral plantings and were well maintained.
Location was in the center of town close to shopping and restaurants.
2 computers avaiable in the ofice.
A GREAT BUDGET HOTEL

Room Tip: Select a room in the one floor section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#35 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.