We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in great area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cerro Chato Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place in great area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We drove straight from san jose and what a place to start our trip, quiet and tucked into a nice propety bordering the forest. Clean rooms and friendly service throughout the day. Good advice from the owner on what to do for day trips. Close to a waterfall swimming spot and other hikes in one direction and town is a short drive in the other.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    37
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Price/quality is very good.
The lodges are cosy and basically equipped.
Excellent location to visit La Fortuna, Arenal volcano and the several hot springs.
Breakfast is decent, but served early (7am to 8am).
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in a private bungalow and had an amazing experience. The property was amazing, the staff was super friendly, and breakfast was great. The property was in a great location because it was a little off the main road, making it much more quiet. We had a volcano view right off the road, which was pretty close to the La Fortuna waterfall. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: All the private bungalows are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at cerra chato lodge and we enjoyed it! The cabinas are simple but clean. Breakfast in included and very good (rice and beans, fruits, omelet, toast and fresh mango juice). As it was very warm, the swimmingpool was more than welcome. The owner is very helpful and friendly. After a long hiking day, we didnt want to walk to town (20-30 min) and he ordered pizza for us :) we definitly recommand this eco lodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

great lodge on the way to Cerro Chato, definite recommendation!

+ nice location in a green jungle-style area, weather-depending volcano view
+ little to no traffic on the nearby street, no party-noise at all (due to the location outside of the town)
+ helpful owner, has maps and recommendations without pressure to buy tours
+ pool
+ bathroom and room in very good condition, shelves/space to unpack your backpack
+ clean rooms
+ excellent value for money
= location

An o.k.-breakfast is included. Please consider that the location outside the city has its advantages (street-noise) and drawbacks. Without a car you need 15-20 minutes to walk to the main street with supermarket and restaurant, 15 minutes more to the town itself. A taxi to the town is approx. Col 3000 (US-$ 6, unexpectedly all cabs are metered). So if you are a party-tiger, this might not be the best choice for you.

Room Tip: I would say the cabanas are equally good, as the road isn't an issue at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here two nights with our four kids. Carmen and Miguel and Carmencita could not have been any nicer! Due to the large size of our party, we had two side-by-side triple rooms - but that was the only concession we had to make. Carmen served a gorgeous, typical breakfast every morning in the midst of their tropical property. She chatted, and smiled as our children enjoyed the pool, fooseball, and even explored Carmencita's old childhood playhouse. Miguel helped size up our touring needs accurately and quickly, and recommended the best hikes and local hot springs and local restaurants that would be safe, but also give our kids a more local flavor that we were searching for. He was hilarious with his 3B's - Bueno, Bonito, Barato... all of his suggestions were nice, beautiful and inexpensive! Having backpacked through Central America in my twenties, this was an idyllic location in a working class neighborhood, that was safe and nice enough to bring our young kids. We couldn't have been more pleased! Thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiguelZamora, Owner at Cerro Chato Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Having had the honor to have you in our place of accommodation was very nice. People like you make a difference, want to encourage continue providing good service, but above all to meet people from other cultures to share our friendship around a green and sustainable country. Thank you, nature will pay your opinions and comments about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I wish we would have been able to stay for a third to spread out all of the activities available in the Arenal area. Miguel was extremely helpful and arranged transportation from San Jose and to the East Coast. The traditional style breakfast with coffee was filling and ideal for a long day of hiking and climbing, not too mention it is included in the price of your stay! We decided to walk to the waterfall, it is uphill most of the way (about 1.3 miles away from the lodge) and followed by hundreds of stairs, but it was well worth it! The cabinas are clean and private and relatively close to the main road, about a 10 minute walk. We booked a volcano hike and Baldi Hot Springs-included dinner thru Cerro Chato which was easy and reasonably priced. Overall the location, price, and sevice are well worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Address: Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Chato Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.