We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essential location close to the volcano” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cerro Chato Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Aosta, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Essential location close to the volcano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

1.9 miles walking from La Fortuna. Essential facilities. The ecolodge is the right location for the volcano cerro chato trail. The owner, Miguel, is always willing to give you advice to organise your holidays.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    37
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Miguel and Carmen were wonderful hosts! Upon arriving, Miguel went through all of the highlights of the area. We got there at 3pm and most things closed by 5 so there wasn't too much left to do except Miguel knew exactly what to recommend. He set us up with a day pass at Baldi hot springs (10 min drive) that included a buffet dinner for each of us. This was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone that heads to the area. The room was clean and spacious. There were some ants but not enough to bother us - you are in Costa Rica after all. The next day we spent some time exploring more of the surrounding areas - volcano hike, la fortuna waterfall, la fortuna town. We were pretty tired and just felt like kicking back and relaxing. With a couple hours notice, Carmen will make you dinner (about $8 and includes a beer). We stayed in, played foozeball and hung out by the pool. The breakfasts are included in the price and a wonderful and hearty start to your day of exploration. The dinner was tasty and comparably priced to many places in town. We had a car, which I would recommend but it wasn't entirely necessary. One nice thing is that at the turn off the main road leading to Cerro Chato, there is a HUGE grocery store with everything you could imagine. We found this useful when we wanted water and beer. The grounds are incredibly lush and well-kept. We saw plenty of birds, including a toucan (!), and some beautiful foliage as well. The grounds have a phenomenal view of the volcano when it isn't obstructed by cloud-cover. They are also very centrally located to the main attractions in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Cerro chato offers very decent and clean cabinas in what looks like the middle of nothing. Unlike in the middle of the town, you can expect to see some wildlife nearby. The place has volcano views, but remember, the volcano is currently inactive and very often surrounded by clouds obscuring the view. Many attractions, like the waterfalls, the cerro chato volcano or the town are close. The owner organizes tours to further locations.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Miguel's hospitality is excellent. He is very helpful in organizing trips and taxis into town. He has his own passenger van which can be used when there are several people wanting to take tours. The cabins are set in nice surroundings. They are small and simple, but clean and its what we expected for the price. A nice big breakfast is cooked by his wife each morning. They are close to the waterfalls and taxis are very cheap if you are wanting to get into town. A good find for our budget!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights and it was really good. Cerro Chato Eco Lodge is a beautiful place surrounded by nature. You have to have a own car or use taxi or shuttle services to get around because it's about 3 km from La Fortuna. But taxis are cheap and you from here you can walk to Cerro Chato and to the waterfalls! If you want to stay in a peaceful and calm place I can recommend this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here four years ago and returned for one night in November 2012 for one night.. Miguel and Carman continue to keep their private rooms and cabins well. The rooms are clean and secure and the water hot. The grounds and swimming pool are private and enjoyable and far enough from the hustle and bustle of Fortuna (2.5 kms) to give you a taste of rural Costa Rica with the volcano as a backdrop.. Breakfast is filling and tasty. In June 2012 the road to the Lodge was paved. This adds to the quiet atmosphere and cleanliness.

Miguel is a self made hotelier having built Cerro Chatto from the ground up. His wife Carman and two children are the only things more important to him than this facility. It shows. Miguel is more than a manager or owner. I'd encourage other travellers to engage in conversations about life as well as where the best place to visit is He will arrange local tours as well as conduct custom tours for up to ten using his own newer passenger van. His English is good as is his local and regional knowledge. If you want to begin to get a feel for the real Costa Rica this may be a good place to safely start.
One last note, rates have plateaued in this area since 2008. We paid pretty mach what we did back then for a room for two.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms with shared bath are also available seasonally if you are travelling in a group or by you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Cerro Chato. We first stayed in 2004 on our honeymoon and we wanted to come back to experience Miguel's hospitality again.

The cabinas are not luxurious but they are cozy and clean. It's a little bit out of town but it was no nice at night to listen to all the sounds of nature outside. The grounds are just lovely. We walked from town once and it took about a half hour (we also had a four year old with us). When we took cabs, we paid on average 2500 colones (less than $5).

The real reason we stayed at the Certo Chato a second time is because Miguel is such a friendly, personable host. He is a fountain of knowledge and always eager to help in any way. His wife, Carmen, makes a mean breakfast (eggs, fruit, gallo pinto, toast, juice and coffee) and is always willing to make dinner if she has enough notice which we did twice and weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Address: Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Chato Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Chato Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.