We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and calm place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cerro Chato Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and calm place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights and it was really good. Cerro Chato Eco Lodge is a beautiful place surrounded by nature. You have to have a own car or use taxi or shuttle services to get around because it's about 3 km from La Fortuna. But taxis are cheap and you from here you can walk to Cerro Chato and to the waterfalls! If you want to stay in a peaceful and calm place I can recommend this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    37
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
15
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here four years ago and returned for one night in November 2012 for one night.. Miguel and Carman continue to keep their private rooms and cabins well. The rooms are clean and secure and the water hot. The grounds and swimming pool are private and enjoyable and far enough from the hustle and bustle of Fortuna (2.5 kms) to give you a taste of rural Costa Rica with the volcano as a backdrop.. Breakfast is filling and tasty. In June 2012 the road to the Lodge was paved. This adds to the quiet atmosphere and cleanliness.

Miguel is a self made hotelier having built Cerro Chatto from the ground up. His wife Carman and two children are the only things more important to him than this facility. It shows. Miguel is more than a manager or owner. I'd encourage other travellers to engage in conversations about life as well as where the best place to visit is He will arrange local tours as well as conduct custom tours for up to ten using his own newer passenger van. His English is good as is his local and regional knowledge. If you want to begin to get a feel for the real Costa Rica this may be a good place to safely start.
One last note, rates have plateaued in this area since 2008. We paid pretty mach what we did back then for a room for two.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms with shared bath are also available seasonally if you are travelling in a group or by you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Cerro Chato. We first stayed in 2004 on our honeymoon and we wanted to come back to experience Miguel's hospitality again.

The cabinas are not luxurious but they are cozy and clean. It's a little bit out of town but it was no nice at night to listen to all the sounds of nature outside. The grounds are just lovely. We walked from town once and it took about a half hour (we also had a four year old with us). When we took cabs, we paid on average 2500 colones (less than $5).

The real reason we stayed at the Certo Chato a second time is because Miguel is such a friendly, personable host. He is a fountain of knowledge and always eager to help in any way. His wife, Carmen, makes a mean breakfast (eggs, fruit, gallo pinto, toast, juice and coffee) and is always willing to make dinner if she has enough notice which we did twice and weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was wonderful! It was out of town a little, but it was quiet and peaceful. The owners were great and helped us with everything! Breakfast was included and it was always good. Great for the price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at Cerro Chato Eco Lodge and found it to be very clean and filled with Costa Rican charm. Miguel is very helpful, friendly and willing to share stories about the area and growing up in La Fortuna. Carmen makes a beautiful breakfast and it is a really good value. The eggs are fresh from their coup every morning. We found the free WiFi a benefit that was handy as we had a minor emergency back in the states that needed attention. This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a cabina that is Pura Vida! Thank you Miguel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed four nights here - my husband and our 7 year old - and it was lovely. Miguel and Carmen are fabulous hosts, the food is excellent (I highly recommend having your dinners there when possible, the food is better quality and value than anything we had in town), the grounds are gorgeous and the rooms comfortable. I highly, highly recommend it for anyone visiting the area - Miguel really goes out of his way to make your trip a great one, and it feels like home as soon as you there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at Cerro Chato for six days at the beginning of March 2012. Miguel and Carmen are super hosts, very open and friendly and you immediately feel at home with them! Miguel will go out of his way to arrange just about any kind of adventure for you and is very flexible. Miguel drove us to Arenal for hiking and to see the Hanging Bridges at a time of our choosing and in both cases we just phoned him when we were ready to return to Cerro Chato and he came and picked us up. Another day when it was windy and rainy he surprised us by taking us to a little known Ecological Reserve on the outskirts of La Fortuna where we donned our blue ponchos that he helped us to purchase and we had a fantastic morning of birding and even saw a sleepy sloth! He also arranged for a boat tour to Cano Negro and a canoe trip on the Rio Penas Blancas. Carmen ensures that the your cabina is always in tip top shape and prepares a great Tico breakfast to start your day, served family style in her Cocina. If you give her a bit of notice she can pack you a lunch for your days adventure or prepare you a supper on those days you don't want to go into Fortuna.

The cabinas are wonderfully simple and attractive and are placed amidst beautifully kept grounds on what was Miguel's family's farm .. they still grow many things that show up in Carmen's kitchen and eggs are brought in fresh every morning. As long as you are not expecting a "New York Hilton experience with fancy decorations and little soaps and shampoos" you will not find a better accommodations or friendlier hosts. We stayed in 5 other great places in Costa Rica on this trip but our time with Miguel, Carmen and their two great kids remains the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Address: Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Chato Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.