We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cerro Chato Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com HostelBookers.com
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was wonderful! It was out of town a little, but it was quiet and peaceful. The owners were great and helped us with everything! Breakfast was included and it was always good. Great for the price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    33
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
15
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at Cerro Chato Eco Lodge and found it to be very clean and filled with Costa Rican charm. Miguel is very helpful, friendly and willing to share stories about the area and growing up in La Fortuna. Carmen makes a beautiful breakfast and it is a really good value. The eggs are fresh from their coup every morning. We found the free WiFi a benefit that was handy as we had a minor emergency back in the states that needed attention. This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a cabina that is Pura Vida! Thank you Miguel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed four nights here - my husband and our 7 year old - and it was lovely. Miguel and Carmen are fabulous hosts, the food is excellent (I highly recommend having your dinners there when possible, the food is better quality and value than anything we had in town), the grounds are gorgeous and the rooms comfortable. I highly, highly recommend it for anyone visiting the area - Miguel really goes out of his way to make your trip a great one, and it feels like home as soon as you there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at Cerro Chato for six days at the beginning of March 2012. Miguel and Carmen are super hosts, very open and friendly and you immediately feel at home with them! Miguel will go out of his way to arrange just about any kind of adventure for you and is very flexible. Miguel drove us to Arenal for hiking and to see the Hanging Bridges at a time of our choosing and in both cases we just phoned him when we were ready to return to Cerro Chato and he came and picked us up. Another day when it was windy and rainy he surprised us by taking us to a little known Ecological Reserve on the outskirts of La Fortuna where we donned our blue ponchos that he helped us to purchase and we had a fantastic morning of birding and even saw a sleepy sloth! He also arranged for a boat tour to Cano Negro and a canoe trip on the Rio Penas Blancas. Carmen ensures that the your cabina is always in tip top shape and prepares a great Tico breakfast to start your day, served family style in her Cocina. If you give her a bit of notice she can pack you a lunch for your days adventure or prepare you a supper on those days you don't want to go into Fortuna.

The cabinas are wonderfully simple and attractive and are placed amidst beautifully kept grounds on what was Miguel's family's farm .. they still grow many things that show up in Carmen's kitchen and eggs are brought in fresh every morning. As long as you are not expecting a "New York Hilton experience with fancy decorations and little soaps and shampoos" you will not find a better accommodations or friendlier hosts. We stayed in 5 other great places in Costa Rica on this trip but our time with Miguel, Carmen and their two great kids remains the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnsville, nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

After driving about a half mile bumpy rocky road, you come to Cerro Chato eco lodge among the other little eco lodges. Cute little bungalows are scattered among the plant lined paths. A small pool is very refreshing and attractive. The owner is very helpful with information and directions. It was a great way to spend our first night in CR. We thought we heard mice in our rooom, but, surprise to us, it was the geckos! Same sound as mice, but no holes in the snack bag! We ate at the small soda on the highway near the entrance road - very good. And shopped at the wood carving shop across the street - amazing carvings and lots of crafts from the area. We purchase most of our gifts for home there. Next morning, just down the road is the waterfall. And just down 480 steps is the most beautiful waterfall you will ever swim in! After that, a dip in the Los Laureles Eco Termales hot spring pools ($8 pp) was in order. Very relaxing, not overpriced and met some very nice native CR's in the pools.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Very nice stay, clean lodges. Miguel and Carmen are very friendly and willing to help. Breakfast is typical Costarican and nice. Place is quiet and has a good view on the volcano.
If you are lucky, Miguel will push the button for you and make the volcano explode ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little pine lake minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have stayed at Cerro Chato with Miguel and Carmen for the past 6 annual trips to La Fortuna. I keep returning because of the service, cleaniless, Carmens Concina and the super service offered by Miguel in arranging everything from trekking,wildlife trips , hot springs and my favorite white water rafting. They make me feel that Cerro Chato Lodge is my home away from home. Try them out you won"t be disappointed. Mr.Marko

Room Tip: Each room is its own hut and there are a couple of attached huts for bigger groups or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Road to Rio Fotuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-75, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerro Chato Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.