We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, romantic -- and bugs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
san antonio, texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Private, romantic -- and bugs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This facility has individual cabins that consist of huge bed rooms, gigantic baths/showers, a small front porch and a large, covered back porch with table and chairs. I'd guesstimate that overall square footage is 500 to 600. Cabins are a fairly short walk from resort lobby but it is a tough walk -- either uphill or downhill. There are no golf carts to moving your luggage can be a chore. Pretty good breakfast buffet in the big restaurant, open air on two sides. Nice swimming pool not far from lobby. Free wifi and 2 computer terminals in lobby. Only downside are bugs, bugs, bugs -- in the bathroom, in the bedroom and maybe even in the beds! But they are harmless. The big seller is that the cabins have a view of the Arenal Volcano (if weather permits).

Room Tip: This facility is on the edge of town so there isn't much in walking distance. Hike and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hello win win win.

Thank you for your comments.
Yes, walking from the recepción towards to the rooms 500´s takes less than 2 minutes and you go up hill or downhill coming to the restaurant or lobby of the hotel. It is very important to let our guests know that our location is at the foothill of Arenal Volcano and that the ground here is not flat in a 100%. We do not have golf cars or transport inside the hotel because the distances to walk are very short and this would be a wasting of resources and energy and we are trying to preserve our natural resources. So dear guests, the next time we will take in consideration not to give you a room in the 500,s, we will see the way to accommodate you very close to the main building.
About the bugs in the room, we really sorry, we are set very close to the rain forest and this is out of our control, considering we have the national park Arenal Volcano on the back yard, all kind of wild life come to visit us at any time, nothing we can deal with! A good advice when you stay in Lomas is close the doors and windows early in the afternoon, this is the best way to keep the insects out off the room.

Warm regards.

Lomas del Volcán Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    165
    35
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
329
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The wooden cabin we stayed in was very comfortable and had a great view of the volcano (when it wasn't hiding behind a cloud). The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the breakfast area looks out on a well maintained garden with the volcano off in the distance. Breakfast is a delicious buffet of pancakes and other choices, including an omelet bar. The final plus is the hotel is located near Fortuna, making it a short drive into town for food and drinks.

I would highly recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hi Bladen V.

Thank you very much for your feedback and a very positive perception of our facilities and services. This help a lot of people to plan their vacations in Arenal and help us to make our business grow up.
Nowadays traveling is becoming a life style and many travellers are doing this independently without the support of a travel agent so what better way to get advice reading on websites where the information about the places is fresh and updated everyday.

Thank you one more time for your cooperation and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent two nights in a beautiful wood cabin, right in the middle of the rain forest, during the rain season! What a great experience. This hotel - I would say more a resort - is located on beautiful, perfectly manucured grounds a few kilometers outside the town of La Fortuna. The cabins are squeakly clean, build and furnished in beautiful woods, and the beds comfortable. We had a large veranda where we would sit, early in the morning, to watch the dozens of colorfull birds wander around.

In terms of location, the heart of the rain forest is perfect! Yet, it is important to have transport. If you are not with an organized tour, make sure to rent a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Hi.

Thank you for your reviews on this site about your stay in Lomas.
It is a very important thing to us get to know about what you have to express after your visit to this magical place. Your opinion turns the thoughts of the people into decisions while they are planning a trip.

Thank you for your time and for your visit to our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were trying to look for a place that was close to a lot at a good value, and this one was definitely that. Having the direct view of the volcano was just amazing.

Pros: personal cabins and porches to relax
breakfast was good!
amazing views/grounds
very close to town and activites

Cons: a little noisy *due to nature. This is definitely not a primitive place, but it's also not a 5 star luxery resort. You have to realize, it often rains in the rainforest....and you can really hear the rain. It woke us up a lot through the night (I would think of this as a step up from a yurt)

This isn't a con on the hotel...but, we never got to see the top of the volcano. It was cloudy the entire time....so if when visiting....don't be disappointed if your volcano view is clouds.

BIG CON: They leave bottles of wine on your porch/in your room....we thought "what a nice gift!"....and then, upon checking out, realized that we had an additional 40$ fee. Don't drink the wine! :D

Would definitely come back. Loved staying here :)

Room Tip: Definitely try for a view of the volcano. Some of the cabins are set back and you have views of othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments in this site for taking a bit of your precious time to write it.

We really regret that our resort did not fit all your expectations.
For those coming we are forced to clarify something which is very important: we are not a city hotel! We are a mountain lodge and we deal with animals, bugs, sounds from nature are constantly heard in our facilities and of course the rain most of the time. We are very clear that we are a 3 stars lodge, we are certified from Tourism Ministry of Costa Rica under international standards, we never have told we are 5 stars.
About the bottles of wine in the porch, we have minibars with an extra charge in the rooms, never in the porch, and in all the rooms there is a list containing the quantities and the prices, our maids go and check the minibars every day and refill the minibar again generating a report to the front desk for the surcharge at the check out. Well, the price for a bottle of wine of the minibar is $9 with tax included which means maybe you had more than wine from the minibar.

Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you soon.

Warm regardsfro all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Pros - lovely large room with great view of the volcano. Friendly helpful staff who arranged our activities for us when we arrived. We did the Fortuna hanging bridges tour, thermal hot springs and a safari float. We were initially worried that we were staying in a hotel without a spring pool, however it is so close and easy to access the other hot springs that this was not a problem.

Cons - room was so large that the air con did struggle to keep the room cool. The worse thing about the hotel was the road/driveway that was unpaved. Very bumpy ride for several minutes to get from the main road to the hotel.

Overall for the price we were happy with the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid for a room with a view of the volcano which we were happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Hi.
Thank You for your feedbacks about your stay in our mountain lodge.
We are happy knowing that our facilities were on your entire satisfaction and also because you have selected us planning your trip in Arenal.
Our access road is a little bumpy in about 200 meters only but is a very flat section, and maybe you forgot to say that at the entrance is well maintained and getting to the lodge is very well maintained with concrete bricks which means driving is not a impossible task.
We are planning to continue fixing the remaining bad road very soon, so we hope the next time that you come to stay with us this won´t be a problem.

Warm regards and thank you for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this wonderful hotel. The staff was very pleasant and took special attention to make us feel welcomed. Although we visited during the rainy season and we never saw the full volcano, it was a nice experience. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent.
There are a couple items that need notice. One is that the pool is not heated during the rainy season and it was extremely cold. Two there is no shuttle into La Fortuna. You need to either rent a car or call a cab into town around $6 each way. La Fortuna is small cute town and very safe to walk around. Overall we enjoyed it and our kids had a nice time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Hi.
Thank you for let us be part of your vacation in Costa Rica.
About what you mention in your feedback of the transportation for the access to our lodge, yes, you are right. Since we don´t have a shuttle service into town our guests have to pay for taxi service in case they go to La Fortuna town.
Most of our guests come driving their own car but for those without one, the alternative means are taxi or arrangement of tours and local excursions which is also very good.
I think 99% of the hotels in the proximity of the volcano have no means of transport as shuttles in to the town or to the main attractions, so renting a car is the most recommendable option.

We hope the next time you come to visit us we have finished fixing the access road.

Warm regards and we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely cabins with a beautiful view on the Arenal volcano. We stayed here for two days when we were on a round trip throughout Costa Rica. Lomas del volcan was definitely one of the most idyllic locations during our stay. Great pool...and when travelling with a large group...great jacuzzi for some pre dinner relaxing time! Nice breakfast with all included...be smart and have the crew make a nice freshly prepared omelet with whatever ingredients you like.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi people.

Thank you so much for your time writing this review.
We are glad that your stay in our facilities was a very pleasant experience and we hope to have your nice visit again.

Regards from Arenal and from all your friends of Lomas del Volcán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.