We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lomas Volcan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lomas Volcan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Wow! Coolest place ever. I think this was my favorite during our stay. A cool cabin with a view of the volcano. Restaurant open air as well as the bar area. Awesome property. Just beautiful. Pool & spa also very nice. The showers were huge!! Big enough to share!!!!
But be sure to close your windows at night and turn off those lights......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Anne.

Thank you very much for your review about our facilities. We appreciate a lot your very positive feedback and we hope to have your visit again in the future.

Warm regards and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    204
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
155
395
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We arrived late after a long day of driving, and had no idea how beautiful the landscape was. We were able to awake to a lush, well maintained tropical paradise, with an amazing view of the Volcano above us. Breakfast was a great experience, sitting right next to the tropics, and the wildlife that was entertaining all the guests. The pool looks like it is Photoshopped, with an unbelievable refreshing atmosphere. The location is very convenient, isolated enough, yet just a 5 minute drive to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear people.

Thank you much for taking a time and write this review regarding our hotel.
It is very nice to know that you enjoyed a lot sharing with us. You meant that the swimming pool area looks like a fantasy designed in potoshop, certainly it was not, it is true that the pool area looks a true reality, that is the way it is together with the rest of our property.
We hope that you and your friends come again and stay with us.

Warm regards and see you the next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel has an amazing view for the Arenal Volcano! Very good situated and very very quiet place! If you want to rest for a few days it's 100% the place. The breakfast is very good, and it's included in the price! If you want to have lunch, it's also perfect, it's not very exepensive! The staff, SPECIALLY Robert, are amazing. Robert helped us a lot for our trip, he's a very good man! Thank you a lot Robert. So if you choose this hotel, you will not get disapointed!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello Andrei.

It is really nice to read from you here on Trip Advisor and see that your stay was very pleasant in our mountain lodge. For us and specially me, was a true pleasure to have your visit in our facilities.
We hope this be the first time you share with us but not the lat.

Remember we will be here with our arms wide open, waiting for you.

Warm regards

Roberto Muñoz
Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My sister and I stayed two nights at Lomas del Volcan. We were very pleased with the room, the view from the back deck of the Arenal volcano, the colorful grounds. We were without a car, so it was nice to be able to just walk to meals at the restaurant on site. Didn't spend a lot of time lounging around here, as we were off hiking and going to the Hot Springs at Eco Termales. (loved it!) Could have spent a few more days here easily.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi.

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
We really appreciate that you have enjoyed sharing with us and specially that our restaurant was of your entire satisfaction.
We hope to see you again and please don´t forget about us.

Warm regards and hugs from Arenal to you and your sister.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This place was truly beautiful! When we opened the door to our patio, our views were of arenal. We could not have asked for a better view and or hotel for our honeymoon. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was yummy - even had someone preparing freshly cooked omelets every morning. The only problem we encountered was that WIFI could not be used in the rooms - however in the lobby it worked great plus they had two computers to use in the lobby in case you need something like we did- we always needed directions. The grounds of the hotel were absolutely stunning. The hotel was far enough from the main road to avoid all the traffic yet close enough to the La Fortuna's town center, that we were able to enjoy the city as much as the quiet peacefullness of nature. Great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Christina.

Thank you for coming here and for the time you have taken to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
You are right about the WiFi, we went close to the 500{s rooms and the router there was unpugged, maybe someone was doing its job there. Now we fixed the conexion problem.
We can see this was the only issue for complaint and we hope the rest of your stay here was as pleasant as we can imagine.

People, please don´t forget we will be here the next time you come back to Arenal, this is your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I don't have enough superlatives to describe this hotel. It is stunnung. The staff was so accomodating. And friendly. I went. With my husband and three children and it was perfect. I would reccomend. It to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose the rom closest to the volcano and you won't believe your eyes,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Rebecca.

First, thank you for coming and stay with us in Lomas del Volcán and second, for taking some minutes of your precious time to write about your experience to be in our facilities.
We are sure your satisfaction was filled up as you were hoping, this is what we can understand when we read your comment here.

We hope to see you the next time you decide to return to Costa Rica.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahama, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Beautiful, clean, spacious, quiet, and private bungalows in a GORGEOUS setting! Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of a hot options, fresh fruit, juices, and good coffee. The omelette lady was our favorite! The open air, white tablecloth setting was peaceful and special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi.

Thank you people.
Remember the next time you come around that we will be here waiting for you with our arms wide open.
It was a true pleasure serving you and we hope your expectations were fully filled.

Kind regards and hugs from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.