We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel consists of a collection of bungalows spread throughout the beautifully landscaped gardens with stunning views towards the Arenal Volcano. There is a swimming pool. The bungalows are large and well appointed. There is an outdoor table and chairs on the porch on one side and a bench on the porch on the other side. There is a huge bathroom. The room has two double beds, a refrigerator and coffee making facilities.
The hotel is a distance from the town, so without a car, you have to take your meals here. Meals are prepared by a chef whose ambition exceeds his abilities. Meals contain combinations of ingredients which just don't work.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi.

Thanks for coming to our lodge and for taking the time to write your review on this web site. We really regret that the restaurant service in our property wasn´t good at all for your choice, We would like to know what you had that day and see the way we are preparing that dish in order to find if we are doing the preparation in the right way or something should be changed. We follow the international standars of preparation and cooking for the recepies we offer in our menu but something could go the wrong way that day and we wish to help to solve the mistake as soon as possible.
Please, contact us at info@lomasdelvolcan.com and tell us about what happend that day.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    177
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
140
341
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel was excellent - basically, it's a bunch of cabins spread around the grounds. Our cabin provided and uninhibited view of the Arenal volcano. Very nice beds and bathrooms. Restaurant has a tasty buffet every night (although maybe slightly overpriced) and breakfast buffet every morning. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is also beautiful, blending in with the beauty around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Lynn.

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We hope to have you back pretty soon in Lomas del Volcan. It was a pleasure for us your visit and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay here in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went to Arenal for a few days of peace and quiet, and couldn't have picked a better place. These cottages have balconies looking directly at the volcano and every night we sat out in the dark for a while just to hear the mountain's night sounds and look at the volcano (at some point our eyes would just get used to seeing in the dark). The cottages have a small fridge, which makes it easy to arrange your own drinks, etc., cable/Internet worked well, and breakfast comes with the sweetest, most colorful fruits we've had. There is a pool, which is not bad, but you should definitely plan to go to Ecotermales (5 minute drive from there). In the bar/restaurant, make sure to pick the more traditional Costa Rican dishes (they're very good, for ex. ceviche is perfect) but stay away from the more international ones (they're not good and you're likely to be disappointed and pay slightly overpriced food). Something I saw once and did not like one bit was the bartender preparing cocktails and touching the tops of the glasses (I've seen in other places, but staff should be better trained), so I decided to stick to beer and water bottles or things I'd see them prepare! Easier to stay here with a car.

Room Tip: * Ask for a cottage located near a WiFi spot for better Internet service. * If seeing a snake near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi.

We really apreciate your impression about our hotel. The best way for growing up a business is when people tell you their own point of view of what you don´t see or know about what is behind. Respect the barman touching the glass edge, we will talk to the staff to improve the the protocols of service they should follow in order these things don't happen in the future.
One more time, thanks for your comments and we hope to have your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were unfortunate with the weather when we were here in that it was cloudy and rainy, but still very beautiful.

The rooms are essentially cabins, each room is it's own private cabin which is a nice touch. There are nice TVs in the rooms too.

The breakfast was really good, there is a chef preparing eggs and a buffet of a very high standard.

The staff were very helpful with any questions we had.

The gardens are really beautiful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi.

We are glad you have enjoyed while you were here in our hotel and hope for the next time the weather conditions be in a better way. We are located in a rain forest area which means rain 11 months a year, being March and April the less rainy months. We can offer you our advice for a future trip to Costa Rica and specially to Arenal if you need to see the weather behavior, we are so sure we can thell you the optimus time to come around, see Arenal Volcano clear and still enjoy the blessing of the rain.

Thank you for your comments and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its location and the beautiful grounds. It is about 1km off the main road (which makes for a private, quiet location) and literally in the "lomas del volcan Arenal". There are great views of the volcano from every cabin. The cabins are big, with a big bathroom and front and back porches and AC. I really enjoyed the pool as well which was a decent size. Breakfast was good as well. This hotel provided a great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Martone1.

Thanks for your good comments about our hotel. Your point of view of the location of Lomas del Volcan Hotel is a really good appreciation. Due this condition makes of our lodge the most peaceful one in the area. We are glad you have stayed here with us and you had the opportunity to experience a real mountain lodge on the foothill of Arenal Volcano far from the noise of the La Fortuna town and the current vehicles running everyday through the main road towards to Arenal Volcano National Park.

We wait for you with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The resort and the grounds are immaculate. The view of Arenal is awesome. That is definitely the resorts major benefit. One of the drawbacks are the prices on everything else. I know its a touristy area but we felt the restaurant was priced high as well as excursions. But everything else here is awesome. You get your own little private villa with its own huge bathroom and a patio/deck off the back. It seemed like they did do the cleaning of our room very late in the day/afternoon. We came back 2 days in a row with them still cleaning our room or just about to clean our room. But we just hung out and enjoyed the views, no worries. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area. But I would either grab groceries/snacks and go into town and eat at a local soda if your worried about cash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the patio facing the volcano for amazing morning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Brandon.

Thanks for let us know about your impression of your stay in our lodge. We really appreciate your comments and specially the issue about the room cleaning. Would be great if we had known at the moment when that happend during your stay just to make the correction in the proper time. You can be sure that we have spoke with the housekeeper in order to avoid these things in the future.
Thank you very much for your choice on Lomas del Volcan Hotel and we hope to have you back pretty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The main reason for the low review is the staff. They weren't as helpful as any other staff we encountered in Costa Rica. We would ask them what they thought of several restaurants and they would tell us to go somewhere because "they had a deal with them". We specifically said we wanted to go to the busier area of town and got directed to a restaurant literally in the middle of nowhere. The room was okay, I would put towels on the floor by the doors so that less bugs get in and spray the room with bug spray. The rooms were cleaned daily. The view from the room was gorgeous, but I can't overlook the staff that didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Courtenay D.

First of all we appreciate very much your comment on this website. We really regret the situation with the guy of the front desk who told you to go to a place which did not match your expectation. We spoke to that member of our staff asking for an explanation about what happened and why he sent you to a place saying Lomas del Volcan had a deal. We are an independent hotel owned by a local family and we don't have any other business in the area that we consider as a sister company or partner nor a deal with any other company around. We have made the correction of this issue speaking with the staff of the front desk.
About the bugs we spoke to the people in charge of the maintenance of the hotel looking for a solution already.

We hope you come back and this way give us the opportunity of offer you a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.