We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view of Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I travelled to coast rica on our honeymoon and this was our first stop. The cabins are beautiful- clean, spacious, safe, and have nice big bathrooms. We enjoyed our patio the most since thunder and lightning starts around 5 and lasts until morning. Therefore, it was fun to sit on the patio (has a table and chairs) and watch the storm. There is a trail through the jungle on the property which is a nice walk (good view of the volcano but didnt see any animals though). The meals were very delicious as well. Lomas del volcan is about a 2-3 mile walk to town (all downhill) and we normally paid $5 for the tax ride back to the hotel. You can walk to La Fortuna Waterfall if you are ambitious- about 4-5 miles?. We highly recommend staying at Lomas del Volcan. The grounds are stunning and you can't beat their view of Arenal. The staff is very helpful as well (also can speak english)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
First of all thank you for thaking part of your precious time to write a review of your stay in our mountain lodge.
We really appreciate your points of view regarding our rooms and we respect your personal opinion about the way you think we built them. In Costa Rica as in most of the countries, when we rise a construction we have to follow several technical directions which are of an obligatory character and are supervised during all the process by an architect or construction engineer, especially being a touristic development and of course we have to have many permissions from the local governments, otherwise building is not possible and making poor constructions neither.
The issue with the bugs...well, considering we are a lodge in a mountain side surrounded by the woods, it is possible to find some bugs at night, that is normal, we are not in the town of La Fortuna, we are 4,5 Km west side from the town and that is something our guests have to consider before they make a reservation and see if the conditions of our location are the best ones. Our lodge is setting in a private property of 150 hectars of extension and most are rain forest . Despite we are in the forest, we offer to our guests excellent facilities like internet wifi conection, completly free of charge, telephone, tv by cable, jacuzzy and swimming pool and peacefulness.
We have asked to our maintance staff to see the doors settings and the way they fit on the floor side and they seem to be right. We really apreciate if you inform us the room number you were just to go and make a revission in order to reduce any gap or crack,
Kind regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    145
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
108
283
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

First of all, I know that being in Costa Rica you should be prepared to see bugs and deal with them. But this hotel I felt especially vulnerable. I thought the idea of having our own little villas would be good, but these ones are constructed so poorly. The structures seemed very flimsy and not air tight. Bugs could crawl under the doors freely. At night you could hear things in ceiling rafters (assuming this is bats). Bats are sooo scary too since rabies is (if left untreated) a fatal nightmare, and they were flying in proximity of our sleeping quarters. And since there is such a large gap under near the doors, it would not be surprising if these unwelcome visitors made their way into the villa! Scary! I was constantly checking for spiders, insects, etc. and the bathroom had lots of crawly/flying things around. The atmosphere here kind of reminded me of when I was a kid in summer camp. Not the type of thing you want to pay big bucks for on a holiday.

On the plus side, the grounds were really beautiful and in some ways it was nice having our own private space. In Costa Rica, for us anyway, we didn't spend much time at the hotel and travelled around to see the natural beauty during most of the day. La Fortuna is a great spot for bars and restaurants, with tons of tours (volcano tours, hot springs, ziplining, kayaking, hiking, waterfalls, horseback riding, etc.) but be careful who you plan your excursions through. If you go through the hotel be prepared to be ripped off! The prices the hotel provides are jacked up and if you just go into the town there are other tour guide places you can go who will give you more information and better prices. That's how we got around and we saved a lot of money getting the same services.

The restaurant at the hotel is expensive. For breakfast, since this is complimentary is good. They offered a lot of different items (coffee, tea, juices, fruits, pancakes, cereal, etc...) so we were happy with this aspect. For dinner, however, meals are expensive and the selection isn't very good (I only saw one item on the menu that I would have ordered: pasta, but upon review of the menu my husband and I decided to go elsewhere in the town for dinner).

Overall, this hotel was okay. I might stay here again but I would probably try to go with somewhere that bugs are not such a prominent issue. If you don't care about such issues, this place might be for you! Good luck :)

Room Tip: All rooms are probably good. They are villas at the foot of a mountain so the views from anywhere ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi.

First we want to thank you for the time taken to write this review.
We really regret that your stay at our mountain lodge wasn´t a pleasant stay due the bugs and the noise from something you assume or think were bats.
We have to remeber to the people coming to Lomas del Volcán we are not a city hotel contrary to this we are set in a RAIN FOREST area, next to Arenal Volcano National Park and with a reservation of woods at only few meters from the rooms. We can not imagine a mountain lodge in Costa Rica, a tropical country, in the hart of a city or town like La Fortuna, where noises, people, vehicles come and go 24 hours a day. We are located at a distance of 4,5Km from the town and at a distance of 1,5Km from the road towards to the Arenal Volcano Park.
Refering to our rooms, we have to say we built under international standars and all the constructions are supervised for professional in different disciplines such as architecture, engineering, municipal supervisors and others so making flimsy constrtuctions is not allowed in Costa Rica! There is a seismic code which set the regulations for building houses, hotels, and others.
Last words to say, we have 109 species of bat in Costa Rica and only 3 are vampires, the vampire is the responsible of the trasmision of the rabia in case it bears the virus and the only way of trasmision is through the bite when the saliva gets in contact with the cells of the humans or other animals. We have not heard anything related to this situation in Costa Rica and this would be the first registered case.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is truly an up close experience with the volcano! We could feel the rumbles at night! The staff was so friendly and the breakfast was great! The rooms were large and very private. The shower had the hottest water and was amazing after a day of horse back riding! I would love to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Ashley-A63.

We appreciate very much your impressions about your stay in our lodge and we hope to have you back in Lomas del Volcan again. We send you greetings from Arenal and we hope you are back at home. Don´t forget about us and remember we will be here at the same place always, waiting for you with open arms!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is top rate! Each "room" is a complete private bungalow with a private deck for one to enjoy the solitude of the hotel. It is at the base of a large, active volcano. The grounds are breathtaking and meticulously cared for. The staff is beyond compare! I only wish our stay here had been longer. There are great trails to enjoy walking and admiring the countryside. This is a gem tucked away on a hillside. You won't go wrong if you choose this hotel to stay at. It is absolutely incredible and we have nothing but wonderful memories from our stay here!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Each bungalow is well situated and great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi.


We hope you are back at home, feeling well and with good memories of your trip to Costa Rica.
We really apreciate your reviews about your stay in our lodge and we just can say double thank for all those positive lines you´ve written of our property and our staff.
One more time, thank you very much for coming and we hope some day you pack again and come to visit us.

Greetings from all the teamwork of Lomas del Volcan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was my wife & I's first stop on our honeymoon in Costa Rica and what a place this is.
Each room is a separate rustic but modern Wooden bungalow with a great shower and good sized bathroom. Set around beautiful gardens with vistas of rain forest draped in cloud and spectacular views of Arenal volcano.
The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard daily and offer AC & TV and the free breakfast provided is fantastic. They have many choices of food arranged buffet style so you can help yourselves.
The resort is around 4 km's out of la fortuna town so if you want to venture into town at night it's a few minuets drive or a $6-7 taxi ride but no hassle at all.
The staff here were all really friendly and happy and eager to help with anything.
At Sunset Turn the lights out in your Bungalow watch the sky turn pink and when it starts to get dark look out for the fireflies a short distance away in the forest and listen out for the Monkeys, Birds and wildlife heralding the night time "Awesome"

Room Tip: The best rooms are the Bungalows situated closest to the forest and offer unobstructed views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi Justin.

Thank you very much for this contribution regarding your stay in Lomas del Volcán.
We hope you are at home now and feeling very well after your trip to Costa Rica.
We will be expecting for you next time you come to Arenal, now you know the way to your second home in Arenal: Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband I purchased the Adventure Honeymoon Package. Upon arrival to Lomas, we received welcome cocktails. After settling in the first day, we took advantage of our day pass to Baldi Hot Springs. It was beautiful and fun, and very relaxing after the long, winding mountain drive from San Jose. It rained a little while we were there but we hardly noticed because we were sitting in the warm hot spring pools. Our first night included a delicious buffet dinner with plenty of vegetarian options. We were also unexpectedly given a bottle of wine and a plate of fruit to take back to our room. Breakfast (also buffet) was also delicious.

Our second day consisted of swimming in the gorgeous pool, followed by a trip to EcoGlide canopy tours. We were picked up by EcoGlide and taken the short drive to their grounds. (I have a separate review for EcoGlide because it was so awesome!). We ended up being the only ones on our tour! It was great fun. Later we ventured into La Fortuna for lunch, then that evening we spent our free hour at the bar and then were served an a la carte dinner. The food was great. We only spent two nights at Lomas del Volcan and had plenty to do the entire time. In fact, there were so many things we didn’t get to do and see while in the area. Keep in mind that the volcano is no longer active and you might not get to see the top at all, unless the clouds clear up (which they finally did for a few minutes while we were there). However, there are still plenty of activities in the area and it is a beautiful place to see.

Overall, Lomas del Volcan was wonderful. Our own little villa was beautiful. I loved sitting out on the back porch in the mornings drinking the delicious Costa Rican coffee. The grounds are just beautiful, and it’s quiet and peaceful because it’s set back from the road. We were treated very well and have many great memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear people.

We hope you are back at home now and with a good taste in your mouth due the trip to Costa Rica.
We really appreciate that you have selected us in your honeymoon trip and we are glad that our honeymoon package was of your entire satisfaction.

We wait for you the next time to offer you our warmest attention.

Kind regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I fell in love with Costa Rica here! Mid-august visit with spouse. Detached casitas constructed of teak and mahogany were spotless! Huge bathroom with walk-in shower and bidet. Desk staff arranged zip line activity for us -- you MUST do this if you go! The volcano as a backdrop added all the drama you would ever want in this beautiful area of Costa Rica. Beware: Familiarize yourself with the sound of howler monkeys before you venture onto the trails. They will absolutely terrify you if you are unaccustomed to the volume and grunting. I would stay there for weeks on end if my pocketbook would allow it. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi.

Thank you so much for your contribution.
Yes, you must familiarize with howler monkeys sounds, they are so loud when they howl in the mornings with the dawn or right before the rain.
We are located in a really blessed area at only few meters from the woods, surrounded by flora and sheltered with infinite sounds from nature. People must come here if they really wish to experience a mountain lodge like we are.
We hope this be the first trip to our hotel of many more in the future.

People, we will be here waiting for you when you decide to come back!

Hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.