We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel has individual cabins facing Arenal volcano. The views are simply stunning. Every time you look at Arenal there is a different view -- sometime you see all the way to the top, sometimes completely drenched in clouds. Plenty of birds to see early in the morning. Restaurant in hotel is also pretty good. This was our favorite place during our 7 nights in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    205
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
155
396
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great stay here. Good breakfast, good service.
fridge, balcony, modern bathroom, great views.
I really liked being so close to an active volcano. It is visible while eating breakfast, swimming in the pool, and from the room itself.
This hotel is a little isolated. One must drive up a gravel road for a good three minutes to reach the hotel. But is is nice being isolated and feeling safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at Lomas del Vulcan the last week of July.The staff were welcoming and attentive. Having my own cabin was great,very private!The bedroom was spacious with 2 double beds and nice quality linens.The rain shower in the bath was especially appreciated .There was a nice front porch with a pretty forest view.Sitting on the back porch enjoying my morning coffee looking at the unobstructed view of Vulcano Arenal was spectacular.Fresh fruits and omelet bar good.The grounds are quite beautiful full of blooming tropicals .The pool and hot tub were quite relaxing after a busy day.Close to town made it easy to enjoy tours and local food and sights.I saw many lovely birds there.On the stretch between the main road and the hotel I saw Toucans!Overall great stay Will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you are looking for a balance of a quality accomodation and a relaxed atmosphere then this is it! The views are amazing, the breakfast buffet that is included is delicious, the front desk staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable for setting up tours and other arrangements and the rooms are actually indivdiual cabins! The pool and hot tub are the perfect way to end the day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at this hotel. Our cabin was roomy, yet cozy and we had a great view of the Arenal volcano from our rear balcony. The pool/jacuzzi area is surrounded by nature; perfect for a romantic swim. Breakfast was great and provided many options for everyone. I enjoyed eating in the open air and taking in the beauty of CR. The only downside is that the hotel is far from the main road so we had to call a taxi to get into town. It was not a big deal though.

A hotel is only as good as its staff so I do have to give a shout out to the people who made our stay amazing:

1) Our maid, Mercedes, who kept our room spotless every single day
2) The waiter who delivered our dinner in the pouring rain
3) The waiter who let us sample the arroz con leche (YUM!)
4) The entire kitchen staff, who prepared our delicious meals and provided accommodations when necessary
5) The receptionist, Johnathan, who chatted with us every morning and answered all of our questions.

Gracias a todos por ser tan maravillosos!

I would definitely recommend Lomas del Volcán to anyone visiting La Fortuna. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is a little off the main road and is outside of town. you need a car or transportation. Excellent view of the Volcano, great pool and the dining room has a nice open air feeling with a view of the grounds and of course the Volcano. The food is average and on the expensive side. The rooms are individual chalets with outdoor patios and are clean and comfortable. Great place to relax and travel out from. The staff are excellent and very helpful with suggestion and recommendations etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the best views of the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently stayed her for 5 days on a self-guided trip through the Arenal area. The rooms are actually spacious cabins within two double beds each, a large bathroom, and patio area. Each has a clear view of Arenal, which is beautiful when the fog clears. The free breakfast is decent. The pool and hot tub are delightful. There is also an unadvertised hiking trail at the far back of the complex for the more adventurous minded (it seems more like a game trail at times). The beds are wood and incredibly creaky, so if you have travel companions, good luck not waking them up every time you turn over!

As some other reviewers have noted, the hotel is a bit of a hike from the road. The sign says 1km, but I think it it was actually more than 1mile. We walked it one day and then walked our way into La Fortuna with a stop at one of the Sodas (local cafes) on the way for lunch. It's not really that bad, as long as you don't mind unpaved roads, no sidewalks, and the occasional downpour. Cabfare to the square in La Fortuna was only $6 for the less hearty, and the hotel will call a cab for you. Realistically, this hotel is a better idea if you have your own rental car.

The staff was helpful, but we did get the sense they were trying to push the tours with the company they seem to use frequently (Jacamar). We ended up finding it much easier and significantly cheaper to see a lot of the local sights (Hanging Bridges, Arenal National Park hiking, La Fortuna Waterfall, etc) by renting a car and getting ourselves around. We were somewhat dubious of the driving in advance, having been warned repeatedly by prior travelers that the roads were abyssmal, but although some roads are not paved it really was not bad.

My one real complaint -- and I'm not sure this can be helped given the tropical location -- is that the rooms do tend to attract wildlife in terms of insects and little lizards (geckos?). We heard the lizards croaking (or whatever sound they make) all night long. Sometimes they were even inside the room, and sometimes they were on the roof and you can still hear them. We couldn't keep any snacks in the room because they were invariably found and infested by ants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.