We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston
1 review
“Beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was picked with the recommendations of other travelers and totally agree with their picks. The setting for the hotel is up the hill from town with incredible grounds and scenery. The cabins have been constructed of beautiful dark woods and cooling tile floors. The view of Arenal is spectacular. The staff is warm and friendly. A must stay in La Fortuna!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    176
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
140
341
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cmschis
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place was so wonderful. The view of Arenal is amazing, the private walking paths are great. The small private cabins were so nice, comfortable, air conditioned. The bathrooms were great, the beds were comfortable. The breakfasts were good, dinners a little less so. Lomas del Volcan's location can't be beat. The service was great, except for one bar tender who had a permanent attitude.

The one and only downside to this place is that they allow tour buses, or large tour groups of "missionaries" to eat at their restaurant--even though they did not appear to be staying at this location. This was very overwhelming at breakfast and dinner. These groups are usually teen aged children, with very little manners. They cut in line, they take all the food, they lick their fingers in between dishing out portions of food, and the only time they are quiet is when they are praying before they descend upon the buffet like the have been starved for months. Totally ruined breakfast on 2 out of 3 days.

Room Tip: I didn't see a bad cabin in the bunch, all were so excellently maintained and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What an amazing hotel. Our room 512 was up a little steep hill, but well worth the little exercise. Our room was beautiful, bathroom was great- big rain shower you never wanted to leave. Our back porch was amazing, would wake up early to sit there with my tea and be amazed at the clear view of Arenal Volcano. Breathtaking! The grounds were immaculate and beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was superb. Hot tub was hot and was very relaxing after our action filled days. Short ride to town. Very highly recommend, it is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here the night of June 16th with my husband, and 18 month old daughter for a family reunion. We were in cabin 400 which was very clean and had all of the amenities a family could need. We all enjoyed the pool and the jacuzzi(although it was lukewarm). The bed was the most comfortable one we've slept on so far and the shower was decent. In the morning we even spotted tucans in the trees! The included breakfast had a great variety from traditional Tico rice and beans to the beloved omelette station. In the evening we asked for some milk for our toddler which they provided free of charge. Overall, I found this establishment to be extremely-family friendly, clean,and a total pleasure.

Room Tip: Stay in 401 or 400 for great bird watching in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! We spent 2 nights here on a Gate 1 Travel tour and would have happily spent a lifetime. Our casita was beautiful with wooden walls, floors and vaulted ceiling and the front porch looked into the rain forest while the back deck looked right at the Arenal volcano! The grounds were gorgeous; the people were very kind; the room was perfect with a huge bathroom; and we could bird watch by just sitting on the porches. The pool was a welcome relief after a long ride from San Jose and spotting the curasaus in the bushes was icing on the cake. It was peaceful and serene and I would love to return and simply sit back and enjoy this beautiful spot. What a find by Gate 1!

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad spot in these grounds. The casitas are placed so well in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for our first two nights ever in Costa Rica, and it was perfect for us and our 9 year old daughter. The location is amazing - we were in 509 and it had a wide open view of the volcano. You could be in bed in the morning, look out and see it, or spend the evening on the covered patio watching the clouds. Howler monkeys woke us up one morning in the nearby forest. The entire hotel is set back from the road, which makes it feel secluded, but it's only a short drive to town. The rooms were clean and quiet, the pool and restaurant were excellent, the landscaping was beautiful and the staff helped us with hot springs tickets.

Room Tip: we were in 509, which has great views of the volcano, with nothing blocking it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great hotel, great location, great staff. The staff speaks good english, they are very helpful. They helped us book all of our activities on our trip. Roberto, Jonathan, and Nelson were all very great with us. The hotel rooms are very clean and have great views of the volcano! Would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.