We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for our first two nights ever in Costa Rica, and it was perfect for us and our 9 year old daughter. The location is amazing - we were in 509 and it had a wide open view of the volcano. You could be in bed in the morning, look out and see it, or spend the evening on the covered patio watching the clouds. Howler monkeys woke us up one morning in the nearby forest. The entire hotel is set back from the road, which makes it feel secluded, but it's only a short drive to town. The rooms were clean and quiet, the pool and restaurant were excellent, the landscaping was beautiful and the staff helped us with hot springs tickets.

Room Tip: we were in 509, which has great views of the volcano, with nothing blocking it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    150
    32
    3
    3
See reviews for
123
304
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great hotel, great location, great staff. The staff speaks good english, they are very helpful. They helped us book all of our activities on our trip. Roberto, Jonathan, and Nelson were all very great with us. The hotel rooms are very clean and have great views of the volcano! Would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just as my title says I don't think there could possibly be a better view of the volcano anywhere else. We stayed in room 503 and was the last bungalow in the row. There was absolutely nothing between our bungalow and the mountain. The view was to die for. The bungalow has a covered porch on the back which allows you to have a drink and relax while looking at the volcano. The bungalow had lots of room and the bathroom is huge. The bungalow’s have hot water as they have their own hot water on demand water heaters on the outside of the bungalow. So all the hot water you can ever want. The only negative to the room is there are pretty large gaps under the front and rear doors which allow almost any bug to enter. The only issue we had was the little lizards (maybe they were geckos). The liked the rafters and make a bit of a noise during the night. Other than that we had no complaints. The pool is heated by the sun so it can be just a tad bit chilly when you first get in but you quickly get used to it and it was a gift sent from heaven in the afternoons when we were dying from the heat and humidity. The hot tub is large and hot. The hotel is 1KM from the main road and is a long walk if you try to walk it. From the front entrance there are a couple of stores and food. I would suggest just taking a taxi in. The cost to get into town is $6.00. So, when you go into town for a meal you have to take the $12.00 into consideration to the price of food. The price of food at the hotel is pretty expensive. We ate at two Soda’s in town and both were very good. One was right next to the big grocery store. The prices were excellent and the food was very tasty. While we were here we did the Eco-glide Zip line and Balsa white water rafting by Desafio and had a fantastic journey with both of the companies.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the end of the row in the 500. I know 503, 510 are at the end of their rows and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I visited LaFortuna, Costa Rica in May 2013. It was our honeymoon and I could not have imagined a better place to stay. The resort property is landscaped beautifully. The location is to "die for" and the staff is fully accommodating. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and adventure to other couples and to families. We enjoyed breakfast with fresh EVERYTHING every morning of our 5 night stay. Our bungalow was awesome, comfortable, clean, and cool. We dined for lunch one day and were impressed. We did not have dinner but that was because we were busy off hiking, ziplining, or getting into some sort of adventure. The hotel property has nature of Costa Rica all around and is close to town, Arenal Volacano, and Arenal Lake. I truly hope I get the chance to visit again and stay exactly where we did before ! :)

Room Tip: I Would ask for a bungalow on the end. It was nice to have no one behind you or beside you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Best place we stayed on our roadtrip through Costa Rica. I'll start with the most helpful facts:
For best view of volcano- request one of the highest cabins on the property, that way no cabins are behind you. Only a 2 min. drive to town. Wireless internet is very spotty-- lobby computers are not much better.
Beds are SO comfortable with a clean white down comforter. Bathroom is spacious. Hot Tub is very warm and pool area always clean. After a long day of travel and hiking-- these are details you will appreciate!
Breakfast is wonderful-- large buffet of omlets cooked to order, pancakes, fresh fruit, toast, cereal, yogurt, sausage, rice/beans, etc.

After more "typical tico food" than we could stand-- we broke down and ate at the pricy ($20/person) but EXCELLENT hotel restaurant. well worth the spurlge.
Also- there was a hiking trail on the property- said to take about an hour- although we were to busy to try it out.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

On arrival to Lomas del Volcan we were instantly greeted to breathtaking scenery and exceptional service. Roberto and Alan were particularly helpful and attentive and really did make us feel important and like they wanted us to have a great experience. Our cabin had a spectacular view (#515) from the back porch of Arenal, and we spent most of our time there enjoying the scene. The back porh was the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine, which was no problem as Roberto and the wait staff let us borrow a corkscrew and helped to arrange dine-in meals, with no problem (although be careful because ordering delivery from town is pricey!)
The pool and hot tub area were no less beautiful, and we really did feel like we were in the lap of luxury. We were there for 3 nights in the end of May (the beginning of rainy season) and it rained in the afternoons, leaving us the morning to explore the area--which was a perfect way to spend a romantic anniversary together. We heard from another couple about the complimentary champagne for your anniversary, but we were having such a great time that we forgot to ask. We will be telling everyone who will listen just how great this place is!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay. We recently stayed here four nights and I loved the bungalow we stayed in (510). We had an unobstructed view of the volcano which was visible the entire time we were there. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained as are the spacious rooms. The location is convenient to the town as well as to all the attractions. There was a lot of variety in the breakfast buffet. I thought this was a great place and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.