We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Lomas del Volcan in April 2013. We had an excellent stay at this property. This is a great spot to stay if you are looking for a hotel that is close to the Arenal Volcano for a good price. The bungalow we stayed in was very clean and perfect for our first night in Arenal. The bathroom was great (can I just say that the water pressure in Costa Rica is amazing!) and we had a little balcony with a great view of the property. We hit up the pool/hot tub which was perfect after a long days drive from the Guancaste area to Arenal. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was very delicious (some reviews I saw said the restaurant was just ok, I disagree)! They offer free breakfast, which was top notch. A few minor issues to report…the free wi-fi only worked at the registration/restaurant building for us. However, not a huge deal, sometimes it’s nice not to be so connected. Also, there is a hiking trail on the property...pretty overgrown and needs some serious trail maintenance, would steer clear for now. Otherwise, highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    175
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
140
340
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was out last stop on our 10 day honeymoon adventure in Costa Rica. The road getting to the hotel from Tamarindo was good, all paved, long trip but very easy to manage. The only unpaved part was the entry road, 1km to get to the hotel. When we arrived, we were greeted with warm smiles and given 'the best view' room. We were in room 515 at the very top right side of the property, with our own private patio with a non obstructive view of the arenal volcano. Truly amazing, we had to pinch ourselves. The individual rooms are charming, very simple but great craftsmanship. I suggest sealing it a little better as we did see some natural holes through the wood, nothing huge. We had a few bugs in the room, again, no big deal. I'm not a fan of bugs, I hate them, yet I was able to get a good nights rest both nights. Beds were comfy, coffee maker in the room was a plus. We had hot water in the shower with no issues, AC worked perfectly. Staff was super kind. We asked which hit spring was a more fun experience, they suggested Baldi, it was so fun! We also asked them where they thought a nice waterfall hike would be, and they suggested la fortuna waterfall. We drove to it, really close, and had a wonderful afternoon there. The waterfall is about a 10-15 minute hike down, really easy, on a clean path. We went into the water, which was cold and refreshing. We took a billion pictures and took our time hiking up, as it was pretty steep. The nature was amazing. You can see so much if you just stare into the Forrest. The breakfast at the hotel was included in our stay and was the best breakfast we had all trip. It was buffet style with an egg station, prepared how you want. The view at breakfast was unbelievable. The pool was gorgeous, the grounds were spectacular and kept very clean with some amazing plants. Early in the mornings you can hear the monkeys and at the very back top of the property there are hiking trails. We saw some beautiful birds while we were looking for the monkeys. All in all this was a lovely hotel, off the main drag, staff was great, food delicious, the views unforgettable! A gem!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found the location just outside of town very convenient and quiet. Food was excellent on site, we never went elsewhere for dinner. My wife is a food snob, that should say it all. Beds were great. Pool very relaxing with a great view of the volcano. Cabins a bit close together, but was not busy when we stayed, so not too important. Stayed three nights and loved it. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayer's Cliff, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and was pleased to have made the choice online. The photos are accurate but feel the rooms (at least the #501-515) were even nicer than expected. The back porch has glass on each side to eliminaate sound from other units and perhaps winds Jan - March, I was there in April, warm temps and mostly sunny skies. Reception desk was always helpful and staff in restaurant were extremely kind. Traveling alone makes you more aware of how a hotel is working... and I was quite pleased. I walked into Fortuna (took 40 minutes) and found that a car wasn't that essential with the extensive shuttle service for all tour options. For about $6 you can take a taxi one way, if needed. Breakfast was served buffet style with omletes made to order!

Room Tip: I would suggest you avoid the 'garden view or pool view' rooms as they are quite low without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

this really is a find. Individual huts set in a natural environment at the base of the volcano. The rooms were beautiful and spacious with private decks off the back.
Service was excellent (Jonathan at front desk). Food was pretty good.
We walked the 2 km circle hike above the hotel grounds at 6 in the morning (toucans, spider monkeys, parakeets!!!) We saw more birds on this little walk than most of the parks we visited.
Some people may not like the remoteness (about 2 miles from La Fortuna) but the remoteness is exactly what we loved about it.
Complaints by others about the cold pool water? heck - it was a welcome relief from the hot humid weather
This hotel was one of the highlites of our trip

Room Tip: we were in room 308 - ask for any room near top of property (quieter and more private)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was one of the most unexpected and wonderful experiences. The staff was super friendly and helpful at guiding us to our destinations. The cabin (small beautiful house) was clean and cozy. The bathroom was HUGE and very nice. The view from our back porch was like a postcard - the volcano was spectacular. We could hear the monkeys and other sounds of nature. There was a very nice pool and hot tub. Also, hiking trails on the property. The room had a TV for relaxing in the evening and a refrigerator for your beverages. We can't say enough and would highly recommend it and return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Lomas Del Volcan for two nights, as part of a Costa Rica tour. The hotel facilities, room, food and location is very very good. It was close to the town and the Baldi Hot Springs Spa, well worth a vist to enjoy the warm and cold baths.

Room Tip: All appear to be identical and well equipped, and fairly new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.