We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place with beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed with the system of open voucher. The hotel is just 1 km away of the town, but the accomodations are fantastic. The rooms are cabbings with garden and balcony with view to the volcano. The pool and the jacuzzi are lovely and the breakfast has from fruits, to eggs, toasts, gallo pinto, juices...Ir strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    156
    32
    3
    3
See reviews for
126
310
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The individual cabins are great. Our back porch had an amazing view of the volcano. The pool and hot tub were very nice. The free breakfast was good and the restaurant has great food for lunch and dinner as well. It's only a $5 or $6 dollar cab ride to la fortuna and there are awesome restaurants in the town. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions. My husband and I stayed and bothed loved it. Very close to many excursions that the area offers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Lomas del Volcan in early March. The hotel's cabins, grounds, and location are beautiful. The room was spacious, immaculate, and well appointed. The staff was very helpful with any question we had. My husband fell ill and the hotel provided over the counter medicine to help him get well. The breakfast was very good and provided a spectacular view. The hotel also provided a good T.V. in the room so we could catch up on the news (not all hotels in Costa Rica have T.V.s.

Room Tip: I did not see any difference between any of the rooms -- some were higher up, so if one had trouble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had a great stay at Lomas Del Volcan. It's an absolutely stunning hotel with a great location. My big complaint comes from my experience following my stay at the hotel. I had left my rain jacket in the room by accident and called the hotel several times to check to see if they could recover it. After about calling five times (and paying long distance charges), they did say they found the jacket - wahoo! After going back and forth about how they could get my jacket to me (again, lots of long-distance calls and un-returned emails), they claimed that someone had stolen my jacket. I have a hard time believing that someone had stolen my jacket after just speaking to them earlier that afternoon. Overall, a beautiful hotel.. but be cautious about leaving anything in your room!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, WY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Other than the weather not cooperating, this place was beautiful. I'd definitely stay here again. The location is nice. Close to La Fortuna (you could walk there), the hot springs, and the national park. The patio area is a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee and take in the views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful location at the base of Arenal Volcano. The cabins, pool, restaurant are really nice & clean. Grounds are beautiful. Food is very good. The only negative thing I can say is that the walls of the cabins are very thin and there is a night club or hotel not far away that plays very loud music that you can hear all evening inside the cabins. We were there on the weekend, so this may not be the case during the week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I will definitely stay here again! The location is great, close to La Fortuna town but far enough away that it feels secluded. If there are no clouds, the views from all the cabins are amazing, right at the Arenal Volcano! The grounds are very clean, but with lots of jungley areas, plants, flowers, etc. We stayed in cabin 310 and 309 which were great as 310 was the last one with no neighbours! Right behind cabin 310 is the walking trail which takes about max 1 hour to complete (depending on how many times you stop to take pictures). We saw toucans and other birds right behind our cabin! The cabins themselves were VERY clean, spacious bathrooms and 2 balconies! They feel very private, even though you have all the amenities of the hotel a few minutes walk away. Our beds were VERY creaky, but still comfortable and the air conditioning was nice and quiet! As people have said previously, the pool is on the chillier side, especially when the sun isn't peaking out, but then again we didn't come to Arenal/La Fortuna to sit in the pool but rather to see the surrounding area! All the staff were very friendly and there is free internet in the lobby. The internet in the rooms didn't always work, but perhaps the rooms closer to the lobby have better internet. This didn't bother us one bit though as we were hardly in the rooms! The hotel has a number of tours available, but I would recommend the Jacamar tour company (we booked this through the hotel, very professional, knowledgeable guides for the hanging bridges tour). The breakfast was ok, nothing really special.The rest of the food I thought was good and at dinner there was a choice of buffet or a la carte. I would definitly stay here again! It was just perfect ! :)

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I would prefer to be away from the main building/lobby area. Just feels more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.