We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best weekend, in the best place.‏” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“the best weekend, in the best place.‏”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had the opportunity to go to one of the best hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos, great service, a wonderful view, excellent food, well appointed, comfortable, private and relaxing
with beautiful green areas near the Arenal Volcano National Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    161
    34
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
320
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pros--The hotel is right by Arenal volcano. The rooms are nice as is the pool area.The staff was pleasant and helpful. Free internet and good free wifi. The included breakfast was good.
Cons-The entry road is long and partially unpaved. The buffet dinner was just ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were here for 2 nights as part of our Caravan tour. There were bugs in the room because the bathroom windows with no screens were open when we entered our cabin. We closed them and had fun killing the ants which were huge. They were just a bother.

We turned the AC on and made sure the windows were not open during the rest of our stay.

The hot water situation was in my opinion very dangerous. When taking a shower the hot water would come and go. When it was on it was VERY HOT it seemed to shut off before our shower ended. Then it would come back on. Maybe there was some sort of automatic switch that turned it off and on again.

The beds were not that comfortable but we slept ok.

The pasta bar at dinner was great. Breakfast was average.

The internet was pretty reliable.

We were not lucky enough to see the top of the volcano as it was shrouded with clouds during our entire stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were thrilled to find that we had been booked into the cutest cabin with a view of the volcano right from our sitting porch. The cabin was clean, spacious and welcoming. All warm wood and tile floors. Charming. The bathroom was huge with bidet and toilet and a large shower. We loved sitting on our porch just looking at the volcano - even tho we never saw the top, watching the mist form around the peak is entertainment in itself. There was a closet area with a safe and shelves.
The breakfast was outstanding. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night when they had a buffet and it was also very good. The jacuzzi and pool were easy to get to and clean. We loved our stay at this resort and hated to leave.
One funny feature is the long, dirt road that you have to take to get to the hotel. But it is worth the drive up.
Lots of birds to see in the trees, and in the morning we saw the caballero on horseback driving his cows across the ravine between the resort and the mountain.
It is any easy drive into La Fortuna and easy to get to the volcano warmed hot springs.
The staff was very helpful and friendly - made phone calls for us and helped us arrange tours, etc.
We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: All the cabins look inviting. We were glad to have one up the hill (512) that had a porch that faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at Lomas del volcan. Beautifully perched cabins on the safe slope of Arenal volcano. Nicely groomed all around with very large and comfortable rooms. Plenty of flowers and wild birds on premises; parrots, humming birds and other exotics. Every room face the majestic volcano and if you are lucky you will feel a bite of its groaning. Very quiet and safe. Food was very tasty. Since it is outisde Fortuna it is very quiet. very close to tourist spots in the area. Cheep taxi ride brings you in and out of Fortuna

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. My partner booked it so i had no expectations. she did a great job in choosing it. It was so relaxing and amazing views from the lodge. Loved it. Breakfast made my partner happy. hired bikes nearby. lay by the pool. It is a 1km walk up a steep hill, but i like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Was on a tour that stopped at this hotel in Fortuna, Costa Rica. Beautiful views and grounds. The bar is fun and the food in the restaurant excellent. My favorite thing is the bungalow. Individual units with front porch and rear outside sitting area. Huge bathrooms.

Room Tip: Get one on the same side of the driveway as the restaurant/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.