We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lodge, but dining room needs help” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodge, but dining room needs help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here two nights with my brother and sister-in-law at the start of a Costa Rica trip. Like them, I had mixed experiences. The lodge and grounds are beautiful with a nice trail, and very conducive to wildlife. We had numbers of both species of toucans next to the road across from my brother's cabin. I spent one night in a standard room, which is much cheaper, but spent the second night in a cabana, which was worth the extra cost. he staff were very friendly, even as they explained that they had made a mistake with my reservation, and bumped me from the cabana to the single room.The breakfast buffet was outstanding, and part of the overnight cost. We made the mistake of eating in the dining room our first night, and paid way too much for food that was not very good. So unless they improve, I'd suggest eating at another lodge or in Fortuna. The lodge is well situated to use as a base for exploring the Fortuna area, and were it not for the dining room experience, would give this lodge a 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Cabanas are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    229
    46
    5
    8
See reviews for
180
445
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The individual cabins are well appointed and spacious, each having an unobstructed view of the volcano (except of course when the view is more or less obstructed by cloud cover--which was most of the time we were there) but when the clouds cleared the view was spectacular. The bird watching from the cabin and from the restaurant was lovely and was enhanced by the simple expedient of spreading a few bread crumbs on the back lawn of the restaurant each morning. The buffet was high class albeit not world class. Our stop in La Fortuna was for two days and was part of a Caravan tour, it was an excellent value for a modestly priced tour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoope, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Service, accommodations, food and views were all awesome. The birding is fantastic here. We saw three toucan species in one tree. It's a good walk to the village. We walked down and got a cab back up for $6 (US). Our breakfast table was right next to the gardens with a view of the volcano. We watched Passerin's Tanagers, Blue Gray Tanagers and Great Kiskadees while we sipped great Costa Rican coffee and ate from a full Costa Rican breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Lomas del Volcan. The buffet breakfast was typical Costa Rican fare and very tasty. We had lunch in the bar and it was very good. Rooms are very big and tasteful, bathrooms are huge. All very clean and well maintained, with super views of the volcano. Lovely pool, again, with great views of the volcano. We found this hotel to be well located for getting in and out of la Fortuna (5 min taxi ride) which meant we could head into town in the evening for meals at local restaurants. Other hotels in Arenal seemed to be further out. More remote, yes, but less opportunity for variety when it comes to food etc. Lomas del Volcan was the perfect balance for us and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in 401 and had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour group and found this was a great place to stay. The view from our cabin was fantastic. We could see the volcano quite clearly the first morning. The rooms were large and clean and the staff were great.

We did have a problem with ants the second night but we called reception and they came and sprayed around the cabin

The grounds are gorgeous with lush vegitation everywhere and many birds to watch

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spacious, clean cabins. The bathroom was gigantic. Our deck faced the Arenal Volcano and we were very fortunate to have a clear morning. The volcano was breath taking! The grounds are very well kept, amazingly beautiful. The staff was friendly and the meals were good. One evening we had an invasion of ants come into our room. The staff were quick to respond and help get rid of them. The pool area was very nice overall very happy to have stayed there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

the rooms were comfortable and the landscaping impeccable! the breakfast was amazing! the staff was very helpful. unfortunately though, the showers had no hot water. it was a little cold in the mornings and i wanted a nice hot shower to wake up, but the water was not even warm enough to stop me from shivering. the hottest setting literally lowered my body temperature. so i decided maybe the hot tub would warm me up. unfortunately it was closed. had there been hot water and had the hot tub been accessible, i would have given this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.