We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for views and access to La Fortuna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location for views and access to La Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Lomas del Volcan. The buffet breakfast was typical Costa Rican fare and very tasty. We had lunch in the bar and it was very good. Rooms are very big and tasteful, bathrooms are huge. All very clean and well maintained, with super views of the volcano. Lovely pool, again, with great views of the volcano. We found this hotel to be well located for getting in and out of la Fortuna (5 min taxi ride) which meant we could head into town in the evening for meals at local restaurants. Other hotels in Arenal seemed to be further out. More remote, yes, but less opportunity for variety when it comes to food etc. Lomas del Volcan was the perfect balance for us and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in 401 and had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    175
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
139
340
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour group and found this was a great place to stay. The view from our cabin was fantastic. We could see the volcano quite clearly the first morning. The rooms were large and clean and the staff were great.

We did have a problem with ants the second night but we called reception and they came and sprayed around the cabin

The grounds are gorgeous with lush vegitation everywhere and many birds to watch

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spacious, clean cabins. The bathroom was gigantic. Our deck faced the Arenal Volcano and we were very fortunate to have a clear morning. The volcano was breath taking! The grounds are very well kept, amazingly beautiful. The staff was friendly and the meals were good. One evening we had an invasion of ants come into our room. The staff were quick to respond and help get rid of them. The pool area was very nice overall very happy to have stayed there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

the rooms were comfortable and the landscaping impeccable! the breakfast was amazing! the staff was very helpful. unfortunately though, the showers had no hot water. it was a little cold in the mornings and i wanted a nice hot shower to wake up, but the water was not even warm enough to stop me from shivering. the hottest setting literally lowered my body temperature. so i decided maybe the hot tub would warm me up. unfortunately it was closed. had there been hot water and had the hot tub been accessible, i would have given this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a real great time here, spacious clean rooms (giant shower), plentiful breakfast and relaxed quiet atmosphere. Lots of birds to see on the property, 3 species of toucans from our porch (some complain that they feed some birds to attract them but don't we all have bird feeders?). Reasonable rates and friendly staff. Close to La Fortuna with a variety of places to eat. Will stay there again next time we're in Arenal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichullo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were good
Clean, well maintained, air conditioned
The grounds were beautiful with amazing landscaping
Saw howler monkeys from the deck
There was a Fer De Lance snake (terciopela)right outside the dining room one night so make sure u always take a light out after dark
As to the bad
Dinner
Breakfast was fine
Dinner sucked
And was expensive
Bad combo
I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay and see wildlife but drive to Fortuna for dinner
Ps the Asian looking bartender should work on his customer skills
My husband and I sat at the near empty bar for over five minutes before he even acknowledged us

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The individual bungalows are situated in a very lush/tropical property that is situated at the base of the Volcano! All the vegetation is just beautiful and there all kinds of birds flying around. The restaurant is open and you can enjoy the gardens. Saw hummingbirds at breakfast every morning which our 3 year old loved. Swimming pool/jacuzzi were very nice. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, great way to start the day. Would not do dinner/lunch as it is over-priced.

We stayed in the 500s bungalow so back terrace looked onto the Volcano, just an amazing view. There were ants that came in because our 3 year old left food on the floor (don't leave food anywhere in the room!). This is Costa Rica and there will be bugs that come in.

Neilson at the front desk was super helpful and friendly! He recommended great day-trips and was understanding enough to change our 400 room to a 500 which really made our stay more enjoyable. Also, we paid extra and he adjusted the credit promptly.

The only thing I recommend is to have a rental while staying here because it is $6 cab fare to get into town (each way). So renting a car makes sense because there is so much to do within a 30 min driving distance.

Lots of things to do- waterfalls, Tabacon Hot Springs day trip (a must), Proyecto Asis (animal refuge), zip-lining.

Keep in mind it does rain here a lot which no one mentioned. It rained 2 out of the 3 days we stayed and we only saw the Volcano on the last day. So bring bug repellant and ponchos or at least check weather forecast prior to arrival as it is considered a Rain forest region.

Room Tip: Rooms in 500s the best view. 400s are the worst!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.