We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Arenal as a base camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Arenal as a base camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a real great time here, spacious clean rooms (giant shower), plentiful breakfast and relaxed quiet atmosphere. Lots of birds to see on the property, 3 species of toucans from our porch (some complain that they feed some birds to attract them but don't we all have bird feeders?). Reasonable rates and friendly staff. Close to La Fortuna with a variety of places to eat. Will stay there again next time we're in Arenal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    157
    33
    3
    3
See reviews for
126
311
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chichullo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were good
Clean, well maintained, air conditioned
The grounds were beautiful with amazing landscaping
Saw howler monkeys from the deck
There was a Fer De Lance snake (terciopela)right outside the dining room one night so make sure u always take a light out after dark
As to the bad
Dinner
Breakfast was fine
Dinner sucked
And was expensive
Bad combo
I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay and see wildlife but drive to Fortuna for dinner
Ps the Asian looking bartender should work on his customer skills
My husband and I sat at the near empty bar for over five minutes before he even acknowledged us

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The individual bungalows are situated in a very lush/tropical property that is situated at the base of the Volcano! All the vegetation is just beautiful and there all kinds of birds flying around. The restaurant is open and you can enjoy the gardens. Saw hummingbirds at breakfast every morning which our 3 year old loved. Swimming pool/jacuzzi were very nice. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, great way to start the day. Would not do dinner/lunch as it is over-priced.

We stayed in the 500s bungalow so back terrace looked onto the Volcano, just an amazing view. There were ants that came in because our 3 year old left food on the floor (don't leave food anywhere in the room!). This is Costa Rica and there will be bugs that come in.

Neilson at the front desk was super helpful and friendly! He recommended great day-trips and was understanding enough to change our 400 room to a 500 which really made our stay more enjoyable. Also, we paid extra and he adjusted the credit promptly.

The only thing I recommend is to have a rental while staying here because it is $6 cab fare to get into town (each way). So renting a car makes sense because there is so much to do within a 30 min driving distance.

Lots of things to do- waterfalls, Tabacon Hot Springs day trip (a must), Proyecto Asis (animal refuge), zip-lining.

Keep in mind it does rain here a lot which no one mentioned. It rained 2 out of the 3 days we stayed and we only saw the Volcano on the last day. So bring bug repellant and ponchos or at least check weather forecast prior to arrival as it is considered a Rain forest region.

Room Tip: Rooms in 500s the best view. 400s are the worst!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Small bungalows, double beds, refrigerator, tv, nice bathroom but cold water! Swimming pool not heated, but jacuzzi was nice! Breakfast was fine, you can see a lot of birds at the hotel property! We went to a bird watch farm and saw a lot of birds and a toucan flying over. Later that day, we just sat in the jacuzzi and just in the tree next to the jacuzzi were 2 toucans! Also saw a turkey vulture on the premises.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Lake, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We thought the rooms were going to be a little rustic but they were very nice and accommodating. Super safe, very clean, very quiet, awesome view of the volcano and right by Fortuna. The rooms are built with this dark tropical wood and are really pretty. The breakfast, included with room, was really good. There's a hot tub and pool. I would recommend this place to friends, family, my parents... Also, I thought the cost was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel Lomas del Volcan is beautiful and clean; very well maintained. With that being said it was also a bit touristy. There were many families with children and the food was not native and kinda bland. The hotel put out fruit to attract birds and had obvious alliances with certain tour groups. Out of the three places I stayed in Costa Rica, this was the least authentic.

However, this hotel was very clean and well maintained. The grounds were beautiful and if you go at the right time of year (we did not) the views of the volcano are probably amazing. Be sure to check out the best time of year for this part of Costa Rica or you might have breath taking views of the fog. As silly as it may sound, I was stoked about the bidet in each bungalow. In a country where you often cannot flush your toilet paper a bidet is an excellent accommodation! There were also air conditioners in each room, which though we did not use them very much can be a nice break from the humidity. They do not have screens on the windows, so if you are sensitive to mosquitos be mindful of the windows. Also there is no humidifier or clothesline. The cabins themselves are well crafted and have high ceilings with interesting wood patterns.

The location is great for access to volcano activities and the city of La Fortuna, which is quaint and beautiful. However, the next major investment this hotel should make is to pave the drive from the front gate to the reception. Like other roads near the volcano, it is rough and unpaved and can be discouraging. As far as activities as concerned, be forthright about which companies you want to tour with b/c the hotel will book activities with companies that they have relationships with, which can mean significant differences in tours, especially for zip-lining.

Then there is the food. The breakfast is typical and comparable to the other places we stayed, but I would recommend that you eat somewhere else for lunch and dinner. The food gives the impression that it is meant to accommodate a wide array of palettes and pleasing few. Their buffets and entrees are overpriced and mediocre. Go into town and eat someplace local. It's worth it.

Overall, these are more than nice accommodations for the price. However, I am ok with trading niceties for authenticity.

Room Tip: try to get the last room in a row ex. 507, 407, or 307. you will have the most privacy because no on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved our little bungalow - especially the little deck on the back. Drank coffee on the deck and watched the Toucans and hummingbirds. What more could you want? Biggest shower ever. No closets. Just put your clothes on shelves. Internet service worked great - I expect it is a function of where your room is located. Didn't watch TV to speak of. The staff was very helpful on setting up tours. We checked tour prices and didn't find any discrepancy between what they charged versus going directly to the tour guide.

The free breakfast was good. We ate dinner there the first night - wasn't that great. We ate out for all the other meals

Room Tip: Room 400-411 have great views and good internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.