We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but lumpy, soft beds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but lumpy, soft beds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel was lovely. It is located at the foot of the volcano but unfortunately we were unable to see the volcano due to poor weather. The grounds are truly beautiful and there are individual cabins with a nice porch and a deck in the back with a table and chairs (not screened) . Rooms have flat screen televisions but no hair dryers or shampoos are provided. There was a king and queen size bed in each room and simple but nice furnishings and a wood floor. The bathroom was large with a toilet, bidet and shower with a decorative shower door. You cannot flush toilet paper in the toilet but must deposit paper in a pail by the toilet. Room service would place a toilet paper bow on the toilet each day and also tissue paper flowers on the tissue box. It was a very pretty touch. Like most hotels in Costa Rica, expect some bugs in the room so bring bug repellant. The hotel had a reasonably priced, attractive bar and there were two computers for guests to use near the reception desk. Meals were served buffet style and I found them to be good. There was a choice of two entrees, veggies, starches, salad, two dessert, beverages and a pasta station. The hotel is well located with the town a short taxi ride away and a nearby hot springs which I really enjoyed. I believe zip lining is available as well but we were on a tour and didn't have much free time.
The only negative about this property was the soft, lumpy beds. They were extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    150
    32
    3
    3
See reviews for
123
304
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Excellent room and good staff. The room was unique and to have a view of arsenal volcano from the porch was awesome. We took to the cab to la fortuna to have diner. Breakfast and lunch was good and had a decent selection for vegetarians.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located right at the base of Arenal Volcano and is the closest large hotel to the city of La Fortuna. It takes about $6 to get to the city in a taxi. The cottages are spacious and well maintained. However they are lacking in some essentials - hair dryer and iron+ironing board. And I mean it when I say essentials. It rained almost all the time while we were here. And we could not find a way to dry our hair, clothes and coats. There were only 2 hair dryers at the front desk and they were never available. The hotel could not turnaround laundry less than 24 hours. I guess we could have packed more swimsuits and lots of spare clothing, but we like to travel light. But we were not the only ones with this dilemma.

The food was average - breakfast or dinner buffet. The folks at front desk were somewhat indifferent to guest requests. They didn't seem to be making any attempts to help us out with problems - either a tour inquiry or requests for one of the 2 hair dryers on the property. The restaurant staff could have been more courteous - might have been the sheer number of guests during the time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at las lomas del volcan and after almost 2 weeks in Costa Rica we think it was one of the best places we stayed in. The bungalows are very spacious and of prime quality, beds are super comfy, views spectacular. No noises other than from the nature around, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who comes to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The views of the volcano was great (when we the fog lifted) and we had an individual bungalow. Robert was a great help in discussing and commenting on activities in the area. The breakfasts were great and on our last day (when the sun was finally shining), we discovered the pool area and jacuzzi. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the center of town and part of the road is unpaved when entering the property. Will go back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are individual and well appointed bungalows. Lovely ground to walk round with views of Arenal and surrounding countryside. Good restaurant - all meals buffet style with plenty of choice. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is located in the road hat runs around La Fortuna, but the access is made by way of a unpaved road. The rooms are simply decorated and the bathroom was good. The breakfast was too simple with few kind fo bread and options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room whose varanda make possbile to watch Arenal Volcano. Do not count on this hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.