We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights of our trip through Costa Rica. We loved the individual cabins, and the view of the volcano was amazing! Many people mention that the cabins in the 500's have the best view, but we were in 308 and had an unobstructed view as well. Breakfast was very satisfying, and the dinner we had one night was very very good. We did not have a car, so walking down into La Fortuna was not the easiest, but we appreciated the quiet and peacefulness that the long driveway provided. It was a wonderful way to begin our great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    176
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
140
341
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms are individual cabins, so it feels very private. It was very spacious and clean with amazing views. It is set back off the road so there is no traffic, but it's a very quick drive into La Fortuna. There is also a beautiful hike on the property that gives great views of the volcano as well as interesting flora and fauna. The back patio provided an amazing view of the volcano. The best we could have hoped for anywhere! It was relaxing and the grounds were beautiful. The food was a little overpriced for what it was, but I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Cabins on the hill in the 500s are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Everything about this Hotel is exceptional.
Excellent location. Amazing, well kept ground. Beautiful, spacious rooms ( Cabins ). Friendly staff. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend it to friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon on the recommendation of a friend and it was such a good find! The staff was always very helpful and spoke excellent english. We used them multiple times to help book excursions and tours. The rooms were great- we had our own large cabin with air conditioning that we could easily control, with a proch in front an in back, with a huge flat screen tv, with wireless internet, and a huge bathroom with walk in shower. We were right at the base of the volcano so had an incredible view on a clear day. The whole property is very well maintained and beautifully landscaped. It was a short walk to breakfast every morning where they laid out a great buffet of both costa rican foods as well as other breakfast favorites like pancakes. We may have overdosed on the plantains every morning. In addition, the pool area was great. We spent an entire rainy afternoon in the covered hot tub outside looking up at the volcano. We didn't have a car with us and found it very easy to get a cab to pick us up and take us back for about $5 each way. We would highly recommend this place for families or couples or groups!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Top notch service from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Food was way above average, and had one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Had a large flat screen tv, with plenty of cable channels to choose from. The hotel staff does everything they can to satisfy their guests. Constant upgrades, such as new paint in all the cabins had been recently completed. Hotel sits a bit off the road and is unpaved for the 1st stretch. They are working on this too, but it is slow work. Only negative was almost lack of internet connection. Can barely get a connection even in the main lobby. Really this didn't matter, as everything else kept me busy.. To town it is approximately 3(000) colones, or about $6 each way.. If you don't rent a car, this is by far one of the best hotels to stay as getting to and from town is quick, and doesn't break the bank each way, plus it is far enough removed from town to be able to enjoy the volcano without a lot of tourist traffic. Fabulous stay!

Room Tip: 503 and 507 have the best view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great stay here! The grounds and landscaping are gorgeous. I really enjoyed eating meals in the open-air restaurant. The room was spacious and very clean. Good location, close to hanging bridges and hot springs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I can't even begin to express how fantastic our 3-night stay was at Lomos del Volcan. The grounds were well kept, the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. We booked a couple excursions, and the hotel supports outstanding companies for those activities. The pictures on their website don't do justice to the beauty of the area. The food was good, and offered a nice variety. The individual cabins were beautifully decorated and supported the feel of privacy and luxury. We were sorry when we left because no place we stayed after compared. We are already planning a trip back to Costa Rica, and know we will return to Lomos del Volcan because the experience was so great. Can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.