We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lomas del Volcan to your Saves list
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, Feb. 11th and 12th. We didn't know what to expect as we drove up the dirt long dirt path to the hotel. Finally, as we reached the top, we were nothing but pleased. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and super clean. The backdrop of the volcano is amazing! The staff here is wonderful. Extremely helpful with whatever your needs may be and also very honest. They explained to us not to waste our money on a night tour of the volcano, because it is not active at the moment, but told us of other activities in the area. Check out the Arenal Hanging Bridges and Tabacon Hot Springs if you get a chance. There is also two computers with internet right in the lobby for your convenience. You also feel very safe here, with security guards on at all hours of the night :).
Our bungalow was just perfect. Nice large, clean rooms with a large bathroom and really big shower. Each bungalow includes your own private porch with a table and chairs and a great view of the volcano to wake up to every morning. We also ate breakfast here both mornings and enjoyed it very much. The food was very costa rican, which I love and the juices were so fresh and delicious, along with the wonderful costa rican coffee I now love more then anything.
The landscaping of the entire hotel and the pool area are gorgeous with the volcano as the background for pretty much everything here. We absolutely loved our stay here and would have stayed longer if we had had more time. I definitely recommend this hotel and will absolutely be staying here again. I hope this review helps you find your piece of volcano paradise like it did for us :) Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    204
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
154
388
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We (4 of us) spent 4 days at Lomas del Volcan in Feb 2012. This hotel and its wonderful guest bungalows is really the height of luxury. The setting is breathtaking, right at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. Surrounded by immaculately kept gardens. The wildlife in the area is amazing and the gardens are full of exotic birds including hummingbirds. There is a lovely pool and jacuzzi with towels provided. Staff are very helpful and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The bungalows are equipped in the American style with two enormous beds and a fantastic bathroom/wet room. They are cleaned from top to bottom every day and the cleaner even finds time to shape the towels into amusing animals - swans, elephants, love birds. Even the toilet rolls get their own origami treatment each day! The breakfast is excellent and plentiful and is included in the price. We pushed the boat out and had the evening buffet one night. Super food. The hotel is handy for all the amenities - volcano, waterfalls, hot springs, zip lining, wildlife. A trip of a lifetime really.

Room Tip: All bungalows are well placed - ours were the furthest from the reception but still close enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed @ Lomas Del Volcan for 2 nights in February 2012 and had a lovely time. The hotel is extremely close to the volcano and on days the volcano is visible it's beautiful. The hotel is very close to La Fortuna town and there is a great small restaurant just down the street w/ local cuisine. The hotel is about 5 min off the main road but the view is worth it. We had no issues w/ our hotel room, just bring ear plugs because the birds can wake you up pretty early. The free breakfast is great also. We had a couple drinks @ the hotel bar but they were overpriced so I wouldn't recommend drinking there. Head into town since it's so close. Overall - great location, very clean hotel room/grounds. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 500 block of rooms, they are higher up on the grounds, closer to the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda Maryland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

2 nights here on a Caravan tour. My wife was sick. Hotel staff were wonderful. What could she eat, how could they help etc. Rooms (actually bungalows) were perfect, well equipped and showers were huge and hot. (you are on the slopes of a volcano). Buffet meals very nice.

Standing joke was that the machine for blowing away the clouds from the volcano were broken and they were waiting for parts.

did not use the pool.

Comment(not a negative) It is about a $8 cab from the center of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjoseca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights here after reading Trip Adviser reviews. We had a large room with a patio facing the volcano; room had ac, tv, safety deposit box. We could sit on the patio and look at the volcano, sometimes see almost nothing, one time we saw the top. The buffet breakfast was excellent (included with cost of room). The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We considered the buffet dinner, but with large tour groups always there, unless you were eating early, the selection did not look that good, and it was expensive ($25/person) compared to restaurants in La Fortuna. People without reservations who drove the 1+ km unpaved road to it were unhappy to find that no rooms were available even though the sign along the main road said "vacancy".

Room Tip: Make reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our cabin was #400 and right off the pool. Keeping our mini fridge stocked and being able to walk to the cabin and back to the pool was awesome. The cabins aren't air tight but bugs weren't a problem, probably because each room comes with a complementary trained gecko. The jungle was right off our back porch and we enjoyed watching the birds. The breakfast buffet was above and beyond for a complimentary service although dinner left a lot to be desired. We would eat breakfast here and venture out for lunch and dinner. The road to the hotel is a bumpy dead end but there are no cars racing up and down the street at night, I slept like a rock both nights! The pool was small and the water a little chilly but it was immaculate.

Besides the dinner buffet the only negative thing I can come up with is I couldn't figure out the safe. Why have a keypad if the key always unlocks it? We skipped it and carried our money with us rather than tempt fate.

The pictures on the website don't do the cabins justice.

Room Tip: 400 is right off the pool but you can hear the waterfall till they turn it off at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,Pa
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here during our recent trip to Costa Rico on a Caravan Tour. The view of the volcano was fantastic. While there we saw hummingbirds and other birds. Our room had a balcony with a view of the volcano. The food was good and the staff was friendly. My wife and I can't wait to go back on our own

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas del Volcan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.