We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need upgrades, Pretty Grounds and Hot Springs Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Rooms need upgrades, Pretty Grounds and Hot Springs Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We just got back from Costa Rica, and we loved our trip. We went to 2 resorts, and hence we could compare the difference. Our 1st stop was this place. Let me first say that this resort is in a high altitude so if you're prone to headaches, drink lots of water. We stayed in their standard room.

Pros: Beautiful grounds, great service, excellent hot springs right in the resort with lovely surroundings and views of the volcano, great spread for breakfast, rooms very basic - no sofa or chair to sit on, and decor dated but rooms are clean, give you soap, shampoo and conditioner in a dispenser (but they're not good about replenishing it when it runs out), Quiet AC unit that simulates wind sound - kind of nifty! Nice patio to sit out on (but not at all private).

Cons: Lighting in room is all CFC bulbs - so it makes it look like a warehouse - and made me have nausea. Ants in bathroom (forgivable since it's Costa Rica), sewage smell (septic tank problem - you might want to bring lysol with you), no safes in the room, walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors, Bathroom was awful - chipped tile in shower, rust in the corners (see picture), no stand to put your shower items, no hooks or bars to hang anything, towels so small - more like hand towels, SHOWER TILE IS SLIPPERY - BEWARE! Shower stall is pretty large but the shower spray itself is a trickle! (so a couple would not enjoy this shower - especially cause it is so slippery!), Sulphuric smell coming from the shower water - yuck! No bar or rack to hang your hand towels on sink. Solar power hot water heater - takes time to heat up and hot water runs out! Beds are "not queen sized" but full and not very comfortable.

Restaurant:Oscars for dinner is terrible! Food was presented well but tasted awful! Waiters just stood around having conversations loudly with each other! Save your money go to the town for dinner.

Tours: Good - we took the canopy tour - very convenient right behind the hotel - good guides and good ziplines (11 in total)
Horseback tour - fun but a little unnerving as they are no proper trails just rocky trails, and these are slippery and at times the horses were skidding especially when it rains and is muddy. But it was fun to get up close to the volcano. (convenient - tour is right at the back of the hotel)
Cano Negro boat tour - very good to see wildlife - they pick you up at the hotel - lunch and snack included - very good guide - ask for Steven.

Things to Note: Many gas stations, supermarkets along to the way to buy water, snacks etc. Don't go the Walmart - it is actually more expensive than the local shops.

Drink lots of water at high altitude - to prevent headaches

Don't exchange money at the airport - you will lose money instead exchange it at your hotel

Buy a local sim card from the Kolbi Ice stores right at the baggage claim - better rates to make calls or to text using whatsapp or to surf the internet. We only spent $10 and had more than enough for 7 days

I will go back to Costa Rica some day but I will stay at another resort if I return to Arenal Volcano.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Sanders,

we would like to thank for yours detailed comments, we really appreciate it.

In Arenal Paraiso always we are improving and changing our services and products to offer the best possible to our guest.

We will take in count your experiences in our standard room, this is our basic and economic room and not includes safe box on the room, but we offer that service in our lobby. As you know we are in the tropic and for that reason in difficult does n´t get insect around, we are an hotel environment friendly with 4 level in Tourism Sustainable and we have to protect all the surroundings and use natural products in our operational system.

We hope you come back in the future and show you all our improvements and services modified.

Thanks for your advice and tips for all guest.

All our best,
Arenal Paraiso Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    250
    135
    42
    38
See reviews for
126
234
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We came to Arenal Paraiso for, believe it or not, 6 nights. Through out our vacation, we were doing the adventure tours provided for us including canopy, horseback riding, rafting, hiking, atv's etc. The hotel is gorgeous, with 14 hot spring pools running down the hill in order of temperature (hottest on top, coldest on bottom). They also have a large pool and a wet bar, where we spent each night relaxing befor dinner. However, they change their bartender each day so some days were better than others. Breakfast buffet was delicious and lunch/dinner had a great amount of options, but was a little pricy. The deserts were incredible! TRY THEM! Our room was cozy and was cleaned every day by the maid who would make towel animals each day. It was fun to gues which animal she would make each day. However, I was upset that the hotel advertised that it has wi-fi in the rooms, yet the rooms had now wi-fi, except at reception and the restaurant. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and were very upset when we had to leave as we made friends with the staff, who even taught us some spanish. ¡PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: All rooms have a volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Dennis,

We appreciate your lovely comments, for us it was a pleasure attend you in our hotel.

In Arenal Paraiso we are proud to have met your expectations on vacation, was an honor to provide care.

We hope you return and enjoy our services with friends and family.

A special hug your friends Arenal Paraiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Mediocre accommodations at best were offset by outstanding outdoor off-site excursions(zip-lining, horse-back riding to falls, hot springs. It would be a stretch to say the rooms(bungalow style) were any better than a 1-2 star accommodation in the US. The hotel breakfasts(complimentary) was the only redeeming quality. The fresh fruit, the coffee, and the breakfast variety was outstanding and the staff was very pleasant. This hotel is ideal for a full off-site agenda including lunch and dinner(out in town which is a few miles away) and you best have a rental car during your stay. The pool was average as well and the tiny gym facility had rusty old equipment. The grounds are well kept and despite some of the inconveniences regarding the room, it was a good value at about $75 per night for their standard room.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are further back on the property away from the road(traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thanks for your comments, they are very important for us.

We already take a note about each one and will going to take in account to improve in our products and services.

Hoping you return in the future, it will be a pleasure to receive you.

King regards,
Arenal Paraiso Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for three nights in a "Superior" room (they also have "Standard" and "Deluxe") - Superior gets volcano view and a lockbox in the room (compared to Standard). The grounds were lovely, the various thermal pools were clean and rarely crowded, and the on-site restaurant provided good food at reasonable (for a resort) prices. Breakfast buffet was above average - good selections and plentiful choices.

On the managing expectations front, the rooms are basic and somewhat spartan. Everything works and is in acceptable condition, just feels a bit out-of-date and in need of a facelift. The thermal pools are not hot (as compared to the ones at Baldi, for example), but are still refreshing. Once we adjusted our expectations, this became one of our favorite places of the whole trip. Easy 5 minute drive into La Fortuna for better selection of restaurants, groceries, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear David,

Receive a special regards from us.

We appreciate for share your comments with us in this web-site, them are very important for us.

In Arenal Paraiso we try to offer all our best every day; we will going to take into account your experiences, to improve in our services, and offer great products to our guest

Hoping you return and recommend us, we send you a special regards.

Arenal Paraiso Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

After reading all the reviews we decided to book a night's stay here. I can safely say that I can overlook the fact that the room was greatly outdated and the shower made me think twice if not three times about showering. The worst part is that the windows were missing glass panes leaving the room exposed to the bugs that could come through the screen. This made us feel very uncomfortable. Our room did not have parking so we had to park on a grassy area across the cabin. If you are on a set budget and need to have a family sleep in the cabin which has three beds and don't mind forgoing the small amenities then this might be the way to go. Do bring your soap and don't expect things like an iron or a luggage rack. What bothers me the most is that this place is not as I expected based on the reviews. It is pretty much barebones as far as hotels go. Great potential, good location but in great need of renovations.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Suleydi,

Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate it.

We wish to ask apologize, because you does not enjoyed our services. We take the necessary measures to eliminate this kind of things that you mentioned.
However we comment you that in the last months we were working in renovations in different areas of the hotel, and how you can see, almost all the comments are really good.

Always we want to serve with the best quality and service, and we will take into account your experience to make the necessary improvements

A special regard from all in Arenal Paraiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was one of our accommodations for our tour group. The place is amazing with beautiful views all throughout. You get your own private cabin and a spectacular view of the volcano from the porch. The room is clean and spacious. A family of four will comfortably fit in the room.( it has two queen size beds). The bathroom could use some updating however. Breakfast and Dinner buffet are very good. A lot of choices and service is excellent. They have two beautiful swimming pool, one with a bar and about six hot spring pool of which we enjoyed very much. It's surrounded by lush foliage on a winding path. Very nice and relaxing. Perfect place to be after a day of touring the area. The resort is a short trip to town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Prescy,

Thanks fully for your lovely comments.

For us is very important to offer the best services to all our clients, and we feel really glad to get that you enjoyed our products in Arenal Paraiso.
We hope you come back and recommend us with family and friends.

All our best,

Arenal Paraíso Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Form best to worst.
Spring waters: this is definitely the highlight of the hotel, pretty relaxing indeed. The pools are organized in such a way that the warmest pool is on top of the hill and the coolest at the bottom. You can try the warmest freely as the temperature is not excessive. More details about temperatures and minerals provided by the spring water can be found at the pool area. The pools have a brown color which, as far as know, is due to the minerals in the water, not because the pool has not been cleaned.
Nature: the hotel was designed in such a way that even at the restroom you can see the volcano. It was also designed using bungalows which allows them to be surrounded by nature. You can see 8-12 different species of birds.
Breakfast: nice buffet, includes some local basics like “gallo pinto” (rice and beans), “natilla” (sour cream), eggs, and local fruits.
Restaurant: decent prices for a hotel, USD20-30. Quality is good but you can also try restaurants in the area at cheaper prices and similar quality.
Service: the personnel is nice and will always deliver a towel-made animal in your bed.
Bed: This was probably the worst thing about the hotel. Your back can kill you after a couple days. It is something that definitely needs to improve. I like to think that I’m an adjustable person and not too picky but for some this could be a deal breaker.
Congo waterfall: it has a disclaimer regarding going “at your own risk”. The way to the waterfall is not in great shape (full of nature on that sense). Though the part is that you can come across a snake (as we did), no idea if venomous or non-venomous, but pretty scary nonetheless, so make sure you prepare accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Bolivar,

Receive our regards.

We appreciate you send us and share your comments and experience in our property, these are of benefit for us.

We have a big property, surround of nature and environment that make us different and special in the area.

We try to offer a lot of services to our guest and with the best quality as possible; the trail in the mountain is a plus for people who likes the adventure and adrenaline in middle of nature, however, it is no our responsible right now because we offer this service for free. Maybe in the future we will going to arrange the trail and offer guides tours in that place.

All our best, from Arenal Paraiso Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.