We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Houston, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arenal Paraiso was the second hotel/resort I stayed in during my week long trip to Costa Rica. I was told prior to arriving there that every room had a view of the volcano via the full glass windows. Upon my arrival I was in AWE! The view of the volcano was breathtaking. I found myself lying in bed staring at it.

I got up early every morning and walked the grounds taking photographs of hummingbirds, lizards, ducks/ducklings, sloths and many other birds. It was wonderful.

I enjoyed every meal that was served buffet style in the restaurant. One morning we even had FRENCH TOAST. Yummy! The rooms were clean and quite large complete with a flat screen TV. I also utilized the hot spring pool which was very relaxing.

My group drove to the nearby park and hiked the volcano trail. The scenery at the top was breathtaking. Later in the day some of my group ziplined while others went ATVing. Our group enjoyed both activities.

If you are attached at the hip to your wifi gadgets you can only access it in the lobby. A little bit of a hassle but not much. Great place to hang out.

If you are making a trip to Costa Rica put this place on your list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments written, are very important to us, it was a pleasure had your visit in our hotel and know that you really enjoyed your stayed with us. We work hard every day with our employees to offer our guests the best service.
We hope have your visit again in our hotel.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    259
    140
    42
    38
See reviews for
127
241
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I came here during January with my husband and parents. We're all fairly mellow people and mainly just wanted to lounge around and enjoy the hotsprings and natural surroundings without having to go anywhere extra. The pools here are beautiful; the warmer pools (with the warmest at the highest point) are surrounded by nature which I found to be very peaceful and relaxing.

The breakfast...oh dear god the breakfast. There was a huge buffet with eggs, sausage, gallo pinto, fresh fruit, ham, pastries, juice, etc. etc.. It was pretty much the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. My father (being fatherly) mentioned to the hotel staff that I am a celiac, so they put out tortillas for me to have with my breakfast.

The room was pretty average; the airconditioner didn't work, but they had someone in to fix it in no time. The beds weren't exactly comfortable, and the bathroom was a bit smelly from the moment we came in. It had this weird, permanent human "aroma" which was rather unpleasant. The porch was nice, though, and we spent quite a bit of time sitting in those lovely rocking chairs, meditating on the view of Arenal.

Other than breakfast, we didn't eat at the restaurant because it seemed a little overpriced for what it was. Instead we ordered food from local Fortuna restaurants that delivered to the hotel lobby.

We booked the horseback tour that is in a large piece of land across the street. It was a bit scary, going down a steep hill covered in big rocks, but once we got past the rickety bits, the scenery was gorgeous. I'd recommend it, if you don't mind a sore but and being tossed around a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments are very importante to us, it is really important to know that you and your family enjoyed in our hotel, we really apreciate it.
We apologize with you about the services that we don´t satisfy in your visit to our property, we are making improvement to offer the best service to our clients.
We hope you come again to our hotel and give you and your family a personalize service and attention.

Best regards from the Arenal Paraiso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent two nights in the hotel in a suprior room. The view was fantastic and so was the room decoration and all emnities. The service was great they acually run for every request we have (we gave some laundry on 4pm and received it back within a hour).
But the beds are the most uncomfirable beds I had during a trip of two weeks in Costa Rica. I really think they need to replace the matresses.
In the resort they have a set of termo pools. Ome of them - the big one - was emplty and the others were not so inviting. We tried to find some differences in the tempreture of the different pools but no success.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank your for your comments are very important to us. About the comment that you made of the matresses we used a standard for all the rooms, but we wiil going to consider it in our improvements programs. Our hot springs works like a river, thus the top ones are hotest than the other pools. It was a pleasure to know that you and your family really enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope have your visit again in our Hotel.
Best Regards from all of as at the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Don't stay here if you don't like wildlife and nature, cuz you'll be surrounded by it! My husband and I stayed in a Superior Room, which was like a private little bungalow with a glassed-in front porch. From the porch was a gorgeous view of Arenal Volcano. We were lucky enough to get 2 days of perfect weather, in which the volcano showed off it's top. I've heard this is rare.

There is nothing fancy about these bungalows, but they provided a nice retreat. The walls are pretty thin, so you can hear all the sounds of the wildlife outside at night. It really didn't bother me though. I felt they did a great job incorporating their resort into the environment, without compromising the surrounding natural beauty. The superior rooms had more than enough space for us. You can actually fit 4 people in there comfortably.

Service was excellent. Everyone we came across was friendly and accommodating...the front desk, bartender at the hot springs, and servers at the restaurant. The morning buffet is typical Tico food, but the variety was more than average.

One of my favorite parts of this resort were the hot springs with thermo-mineral water flowing from pool to pool. They had 13 small pools/spas that were connected by little streams, so the water ran from the top pool to the bottom pool, with each pool decreasing in temperature. This allowed us to find a small private pool with our desired temperature. Most of the pools also had their own view of the volcano and a small waterfall feature. We also chilled at the wet bar (also in thermo-mineral water) with our friends. Their food was pretty good, and the bartender was really nice. He pointed out some iguanas next to the pond and a sloth that was hanging out in a tree next to the pool. We didn't even have to step out of the resort to see the wildlife!

I recommend this resort for nature lovers. If you have an issue with bugs and animals, then you should find a more upscale resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Is for us a great pleasure to received this kinds of comments, it is very impotant to kwow that you, your husband and yours friends really ejoyed your stay in Arenal Paraíso Hotel. The most important think for us is to offer an excellent service in all our departmants for ours guests with the porpuse to satisfy the expectatives of our clientes for that reason we appreciate the time taken to write this comment. We hope to recieve you and your recomendationes again in our hotel.
Best Regards from your friend of the Arenal Paraíso.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here two nights on our Costa Rican Adventure trip. The cabins are private and clean but a bit dated. The hot spring pools on property are unique. Pool area was just ok. Good, friendly bartender. We ate at the hotel one night. Food was average. This makes a decent place to stay while doing activities in the Arenal area.

Room Tip: The jungle cabins are good for checking out the monkeys and birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank for the time taken to write this comment, is very important to us, we are working to offer a better service in all our departments, and we have projections to make the maintenaince and improvements in all the structure of our hotel.
We hope to will have your visit again in our hotel.
Best regards from all of us of the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Was there in February 2012. Amazing place! Nice little bungalows with a nice balcony to sit and enjoy the jibber-jabber of the wildlife. Breakfast was amazing, lots of variety ( eggs, meat, breads, cereal, fruits) we chose this place for the hot springs and we were not disappointed, they were wonderful. We fell asleep in one 2 2 of them nightly!! Spent 3 nights there, would go again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to had yor vitit in our hotel, thak you for your comments are very important to us, we hope receive you and your family again in Arenal Paraíso Hotel and offer our services.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently while doing local hiking and white water rafting at Wave Expeditions in La Fortuna.

Sleep:
Sleep was ok...beds were quite hard and the pillows were too soft. Other than that, we slept very well.

Trail:
There is a trail at the top of the hill behind the hotel just behind the top hot spring. This trail is for experienced hikers only. The drop is very steep and it takes a good hour and a half to hike out of there. Don't let the trail map mislead you. It is tough. If you are looking to take in some of the local scenery and want a good work out, take the trail.

Hot Springs:
hot springs are a joke. These are heated pools of mineral water, heated by underwater heaters at the hotel.
The pool was good and the pool bar is WONDERFUL. Very warm and the bartender was quite pleasant and proficient in serving delicious concotions.

Food:
Food was ok... Not bad but not great. The grilled and breaded sea bass are good. The Avocado salad and Hearts of palm salad are good as well. Coffee and fruit are delicious. I personally thought breakfast was better than dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments are really importan to us. It was a pleaure that you eyojey your stay in our hotel. About the comment that you made of the hot sprins let me tell you that the water of these pools are mineral water, we have a nascent in our property if you want to visit it any day this place we can go with you and show how it workes. For that reason the water has a yellow color becase has a lot of minerals from the Arenal Volcano.
We hope had your visit again in our hotel.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.