We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and authentic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a beautiful, peaceful resort! The food was fantastic and the hot springs pools were such a cool, different experience! The rooms were extremely clean and although the volcano was under cloud cover almost the entire time, it was still so nice to sit on the porch rocking chairs and relax. We also took a horseback ride to the volcano with the hotel's ranch guide Marco, who was terrific!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for you time taken to write your comments, it was a pleasure to had your visit in the hotel and kwow that your really enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Our main objective is offer an excellent service to satisfy our guests expectatives. We hope have your visit again in the future in Arenal Paraíso Hotel and provide you and your family our services.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraiso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    241
    127
    42
    36
See reviews for
119
223
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Paraiso for 2 nights and it looks beautiful on the outside, but it is pretty average within the rooms. We had to change rooms right away because the bathroom had a weird moldy smell.

Pros:
Air conditioning unit worked well and it was quite a luxury
Discounts to tours and activities
Breakfast meal - eggs, bacon, fruit were delicious
Nice views and well-kept property
The pool looked clean

Cons:
The walls are thin and can hear noisy neighbors
Staff not very helpful when responding to call about a bill/invoice question
Costs $0.15 to dial local calls
Wifi only in the lobby
Lumpy beds

The hotel/spa resort is a bargain, but it seems like you get what you pay for. I won't be back here because we called several times to resolve a bill and we just got a run-around from their staff. I think there are so many other great places to stay in Arenal and I can't be bothered by mediocrity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello thank you for your comments are very important to as, becase help us to improve our services, we apologize with you because we don´t satisfay your expextatives of services in our hotel, we wiil taken it to make improvements in all departmanets in the hotel an also with our employees to bring a better service. We would like to have your vist again in our hotel in the future.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraiso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We wanted to do a quick trip to hot springs during our 2 night stay near arenal, and this 20$ budget option seemed nice in the photos on the website. However, we were very disapointed that half the pools were stagnating or empty. We would not recommend goin there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for yor comments are very important to us, it help us to improve our services every day, we apologize about the incovenient with the pools that you had. But we have a plattform maintenance that we have to fulfill and for that reason we have 13 hot springs for our clients have options and the service whill they stay on our property.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A hotel $10 cab ride outside La Fortuna. It is under the volcano but of course you cannot always see it. And, of course, it no longer spews lava! The rooms are spread around as paired cottages but with very thin walls. The loo in particular allows a lot of sound to pass through! But the grounds are nice and there are several pools. On a walk, we saw the groundsmen find a really interesting non-venemous snake which they caught and moved to the forest. Massage is available. Breakfast was fine and we tried good value sandwiches in the evening having had a large lunch out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank for your comments they are very important for us, we apologize your disagreement in our hotel. It was a pleasure had you visit in our hotel. We hope to receive soon.
Best Regards From the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Traveling over Easter week with a family of 6, it was challenging to find a hotel that could accommodate us. We had a suite at Arenal Parasio, but it had an odd setup with a kitchen/sitting area and then 2 bedrooms on either end of the main room. That would have been fine except the main room did not have air conditioning and with it being 85+ degrees we could not congregate as a family in this room and therefore had to separate into the bedrooms while at the hotel. I agree also with other reviews that the beds were not that comfortable and I was not impressed with the expensive food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank your your comments, they are very important for us, they help us to improve our services, we apologize over your disagreements in our hotel. We hope in your visit in our hotel we provide you and your family a better service.
Best Regard from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We traveled to this hotel with our 5 month old, they set up a crib for her but didn't do it correctly, if my husband hadn't been holding her she would have fallen on the floor. We called to ask them to remedy the situation, they said they couldn't until the following day and would write a report to make sure someone took care of it. Luckily we had a king size bed so she slept with us for that first night. By 2pm in the afternoon the next day we hadn't heard anything so I had to call and get someone to come fix it. That night I woke up in the middle of the night to find we had a fruit bat in our room flying above our heads, by the time they sent someone to take care of it I had already gotten rid of it. The caretaker they sent said it happened all the time - yikes! Thanks for the warning!

The onsite restaurant is very tasty and the servers were so courteous and helpful! Breakfast is included and was yummy. The hot spring pools are very dark at night and surrounded by things like bullfrogs and other critters, I refused to get in them since I couldn't see what creatures were in there with me. The are 3 other pools that have better lighting, one of them is the "bar" pool and it has very loud music, one is cold water and the other is pretty shallow and looks dirty (because of the minerals) so at night this area could use some improvement.

Rooms come with fridge, coffee maker and safety deposit boxes. Great-sized bathrooms with lots of hot water. Cute little front porch with rocking chairs to enjoy the view. TV with cable and several channels and remote controlled A/C. Staff was pretty friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It was a pleasure had your visit in our hotel, thank your for taking your time to write us your comments and experience in our Resort. We apologize about the inconveniences that you had at the hotel, we are working to improve the quality of our services to provide our guests the best service.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ont.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here two nights on our tour in a room with a great view of the volcano when it wasn't shrouded in cloud. The room was average, but the beds very uncomfortable and awful pillows. There was a nice porch with rocking chairs to sit and enjoy the scenery. The grounds are lovely with a large pool and small, private thermal pools which no one else was using at the time we were there. Food was good, with decent breakfast buffet and very large portions for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they are very important to us, because helps us to improve and offer a better service. It was a pleasure had your visit in our hotel and offer you a great panaramic view of the Arenal Volcane and ours grounds. We apologize about your disagreement about the pilllows and the beds. How you kwow we have different kind of clients with a lot of preference and for that reason we use a standard in all our rooms.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#8 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#36 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
4.1 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#28 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#13 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.