We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Expectations But Not Much More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Met Expectations But Not Much More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2.5 days here, arriving to clear blue skies after an almost 5 hour drive from Manuel Antonio. Next two days were marred by weather system that caused pouring rain in between periods of almost clearing. The resort's thermal pools were delightful in varying temperatures and in beautiful layouts, providing privacy. The wireless internet was only available in the large lobby, but it would have been helpful to be able to access it elsewhere as well, particularly on the rainy days. We took a canyoning excursion via Pure Trek which we highly recommend. When we arrived in the room, our bathroom door was locked from the inside and so we had to request from the front desk that someone come unlock it and this was done swiftly. Same thing when we realized that we only had one bath towel. Rocking chairs on the front porches were a wonderful treat, especially during the rain. Wonderful view of the volcano, when the clouds allowed. Restaurant on property was good, but nothing stellar. Exteriors of the resort walls shows wear, and could use some maintenance, but it did not impact our stay. So, not high luxury, but fine for our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank for your comments are very important to us, It was a pleasure to had yor visit in our hotel and know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The most important thing for us is to provide an excelente service and satisfy the expectatives of our customers. And about the exteriors of the hotel we are working on that to show our clients a better appearance.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    245
    132
    42
    38
See reviews for
121
227
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. Our cabin was isolated and dark. We had to walk between our cabin and the reception area and/or the restaurant under the rain and in the dark because the hotel does not provide any means of transportation within the premises. Only one mediocre restaurant. Dining at La Fortuna town was $24 more expensive considering the taxi fair. Some of the pools were empty. I wanted to get out of there badly.

Room Tip: Only people with their own transportation should stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We regret that you have not enjoyed our stay is our hotel, is very important to us that our guests leave satisfied, thank your for your comments they are very important to us, it helps to provide a better service. It is important to mention that we offer to our clients transportantion service within the hotel only you have to call to the front desk and request.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First let me say that the setting is absolutely beautiful. You have a fantastic view of the volcano and they clearly spend a lot of time maintaining the absolutely beautiful grounds. Beyond the serenity of the place, there is not much to recommend it. First, the pool and hot springs (there are NOT 14 swimming pools. They are little interconnected hot sprig pools) are old and kind of creepy. They are definitely in disrepair. While spacious, our cabin was completely utilitarian and not at all comfortable. My kids (and I) complained about how uncomfortable the beds were. While large, our room did not have sufficient lighting and I could not lie in bed and read. My husband gave me a little flashlight. While I can't speak highly enough of the wonderful and helpful people in Costa Rica, the same can not be said of the staff. We asked the concierge to make reservations as the most popular restaurant in Fortuna and he said he couldn't find the phone number, we would have to do it ourselves. In addition, there is only WIFI in the lobby. That would be fine, but when I went down at 6 am to get a little work done, the staff turned on the radio really loud. When I moved to get away from the music, they turned it up and started singing along. Finally, the food at the buffet is pretty bad. My kids ate almost nothing and there unless you want really greasy eggs or some form of bread, there isn't much. We ended up going out to breakfast one of the mornings we were there. It was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank your for your comments they are very important for us.
We apologize not to accomplished yor expectatives during your stay in our hotel, we will work in about tour comments that we can improve with the objetives to provide our guests a better service. It is important to mentione that the our hot springs are designed with a natural and privade contest and for that reason they appear like a river and the color is unclear because it is from the arenal volcano and it has a lot of minerals and special properties of tha volcano.
We hope that ir your next visit you will enjoy with your family of our services.
Bestn regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved our stay here, the room (and bathroom) were large enough for the 4 of us to be in one room. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was excellent. The breakfast buffet was huge, freshly made food and excellent service. The dinners were delicious and large portions. We chose to eat here 2 of the 3 nights we were there. The pool bar was wonderful, the staff friendly and the drinks fruity and delicious! The hot springs were hot near the top and progressively cooler and loved how they are surrounded by jungle setting. We would definitely recommend staying here for your visit in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank your for your comments, they are very importat for us, it was a pleasure had your visit in our hotel and satiscy yor expectatives, we are pleased to know that you enyoyed our services and facilities
we hope to have your visit again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel except the pool area (kids didn't even ask to go in). The hot spring pools were small, not the least bit inviting, and luke-warm at best. Nice views, nice rooms, nice landscaping and good service. My husband and I had an extra day here, and might have chosen to relax at the hotel, but the pool area was limited, not nice enough to hang around for that long, we took a cab to Fortuna for the day instead. Also, the trail to the waterfall from the hotel is a treacherous hike/crawl at best, sort of cool if you want an adventure instead of a leisurely walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a weekend here at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip this year. We had a standard room which was a cabin with a great view of the volcano. We were traveling with 2 other couples and it was quite comfortable sitting on the porch on the rocking chairs. Rooms are in need of updating but were clean. As water is heated with solar, the hot water runs out quick, space out your showers! Breakfast was included and was quite good. The grounds are beautiful, the hot pools were a disappointment though, more like warm/cool pools. We zip lined here and that was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments are very important to us, we are in an improvement project with our rooms, we hope that in your next visit in our hotel we will satisfy your expectatives. It´s important to let you know that we are a friendly hotel enviroment and this is the reason that we have solar panels to heat up the water in the showers.
It was a plesaure to had your visit in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msp
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. We had our own cabin with a porch and two rocking chairs which had beautiful views of the arenal volcano. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The service was excellent. The rooms and furniture are in need of updating. Nice hot springs and pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
It was a pleasure to had your visit in our hotel and kwow that you enjoyed our services and facilities, thank for your comments they are very important for us, we will be taken them to make improvements and provide a better service.
We hope to have your visit again in our hotel.
Best regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.