We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay unless it hasnt been raining for a while” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont stay unless it hasnt been raining for a while”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I just wanted to tell you about my recent trip to Arenal Paraiso resort and spa. We travelled yesterday to this resort. It was raining when we got there but as a canadian I am quite used to rain. We checked into our rooms and the rain persisted. My husband and I were in 271 and friends in 272. We went to the restaurant for an early supper which was delicious and the service excellent and then returned to our rooms for the night. 271 was extremely damp and as the night wore on got much worse. My husband began to shiver and suffered a fever. The room was so damp that the sheets actually felt wet and the room very cold. The clothes in my suitcase also became damp. we slept very little if at all. In the morning my husband was no better. We thought that a hot shower would help him to warm up , unfortunately there was no hot water. and eventually no water at all. I went to the office and they offered to move us into another place, however by this time my husband was really not well and I felt that it would be more appropriate to pack up and return back to Playas del coco were we are staying. I spoke with the assistant manager and she then with the manager and they offered no refunds and said it was raining and they couldnt help the weather. My problem was not with the weather it was with the fact of the dampness in the room . There was no way to dehumidify the room or warm it up in any way. Ii really feel that I should be refunded for one night at least for the room that we wre in, as we were travelling together my companions of course could not stay for the second night. We are back in Coco now and my husband is still shivering and feeling unwell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thak you for your commentes, they are very important for us, about the weather it´s important to know that we are ubicated in a tropical area and we have differents microclimates, we sory during your visit in our hotel the weather was not good and the best to enjoy the nature an panoramic views of the Arenal area.
we hope that in your next visit to our hotel the weather will be find for you and your husband and we will satisfy your expectatives and offer the best service as you deserve.
Best regards from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    248
    135
    42
    38
See reviews for
125
232
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked a three night stay in advance. Upon arrival we asked to upgrade to a Superior room as we were told it had a glass enclosed porch. When we saw the room and partially enclosed porch and two rustic wooden chairs to sit on in the room, we decided the extra $40/night was not worth the price and returned to Standard room. A room with no chair, no luggage rack, antiquated 13" TV, and a bathroom that was dreadful. The hot water cap came off in my hand, there were ants all over the bathroom, the toilet took several flushes, the shower doors were flimsy and towels were old and thin. The refrigerator was rusted out on the bottom. Road traffic and people walking by was annoying. Being slightly handicapped it was not workable so we opted to just stay one night and asked that they refund our 2nd and 3rd nights (were were giving them 24 hrs. notice). The response was a resounding NO. They said it was the busy season and could not do it. I said "if it is busy I would think you would want our room"....but to no avail. Only bright spot in our short stay was a delicious pizza dinner at Que Rico down the street.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for yor comments, they will be taken to make improvements in our facilities, we apoligize about your unconformities with the bathroomm, toilet, the towels, the refrigerator, the luggage rack and the TV, we wiil working in your recommendations to offer you a better service.
Regards from Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The room is really bad for the price. It is clean and spacious, with a really nice view of the volcano, but these are the only good things I have to say about it. There was no hot water in the shower (the hottest we could get was just lukewarm and it was changing to icy cold periodically and I had to step out of the shower and wait for it to change back to lukewarm. I called the front desk and complained, they sent a maintenance guy who tried to tell us something but he didn't speak English, so I had to call the front desk to get some translation. They ultimately told us that this is as warm as it gets and hang up. To be fair, I believe they have solar-only water heaters and the weather was ugly for the 3 days we were there - very cloudy and rainy, so there wasn't enough sun to power the water heaters. If you are lucky to have nice and sunny weather, you probably won't have this problem, but hey, for $105 per night, I'd expect hot water year round...
Among other annoying things - there absolutely no hangers/hooks in the shower to hang towels, wet clothes, etc. Since it is always very humid in Arenal, it is problematic enough to dry your swim suits and other clothes, more so if you have nowhere to hang them.
The breakfast was decent, but uninspiring.
The biggest disappointment was the hot spring pools. They are very small (jacuzzi size), and could be nice for just two people, but since there are only few really hot ones, they get crowded. So if sharing the tiny pool with a bunch of loud German retirees is not your idea of a romantic soak, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We regret that your visit in our hotel was not the best for you. we want to let you know that we are an ecological hotel ando for that reason we use a solar panels to save energy and be friends withe the environment .
How you know we have the biggest hotel of the Arenal area, and we receive many type of clients, our idea to desing the hot springs like a river is because we know the differents needs of our guests and we want to satisfy all the expetatives of each one,
We sorry that you does not enjoyed our termals, we will hope the next time you will harness our the relaxing and confort of this services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our bus tour. We were plesantly suprised to learn that our room, and most rooms here, are acually a private cabin. The resort is well kept, and fairly large. If the clouds clear, you have a great view of Arenal right from your front porch. The hot springs are really neat too. There are about 10 pools, all different temperatures. The hottest at the top, and each one spilling into the one below. There is a swim up bar, seperate pool and a warm pool. Please take note, that the warm pool and the swim up bar are filled with a health water. (might not have properly named that) The water is rusty orange colour, but it is suppose to be that way, its not dirty!

So, the negatives.
We arrived at night, and there is very minimal outdoor lighting here. This resort prides itself on being green, so it was very dark, and hard to make our way to the room. Slapping around in the dark to find the light switches too. All was good once we found the light switch.

The walls are incredibly thin. You can definiatly here the conversation in the next cabin. The toilet doesnt flush very well. About 3 flushes for liquid waste. They are very green oriented here, so toilet paper doesnt go in the toilet. That helps reduce the number of flushes needed. They also suggest while showering to get wet, turn the water off, soap up, then rinse. Now, the fun part!! The hot water is intermittent. Lasts for about 2 minutes, then cold! The shower is huge, and great if you wish to shower with your partner, but you will be running for the dry spots when the hot water stops. Then, after a min or two, it will come back. Just beware, its going to cut out again. Short showers are the best here.

We found the hotsprings not very hot. Dont get me wrong, they were warm, but not quite what we thought the temp should be. That said, the hotspring pools were really neat. Being that there were so many, it was easy to find one all to yourself. Really cool how each one overflows into the next.

Food. The food was ok. They had the best breakfast out of all the resorts we stayed at. Bacon, sausage, pancakes and french toast. And of course, rice and beans! Overall, it wasnt bad. You shouldnt go hungry, as long as you arnt a fussy eater.

Its is good to know a few spanish words too. We found the bartender wasnt very versed in english, nor the person working the desk for towels. These are minor things and easy to overcome, but hey, heres the heads up!

Weather. For our trip it was cloudy (not the resorts fault, keep that in mind), and the odd rain shower now and then. Temps at night are not hot. During the day, it can get warm, especially if the sun is out.

Lastly, our tour guide informed us that the resort we were to stay at (los lagos) is apparently not as good as this place.

Room Tip: We were located in room 205. it is on the end of the row, so only rooms beside on one side. bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to have your visit in our hotel, your coments wil be taken to make improvements, it´s important you know why our hot springs water has that color, and the reason is because they are rich in minerals and come from a natural subterranean spring. It is an honor to us that you enjoyed our meals at the restaurant.
We hope to have it back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Arenal Paraiso during our 10 day tour of Costa Rica. We traveled a good portion of the country during this trip. When we arrived at La Fortuna, we were quite road weary. The Spa and other amenities were very rejuvenating. Complimentary breakfasts were fresh and tasty. Our time in La Fortuna was during a fog that never revealed Volcan Arenal, however the spa amenities and strolling the grounds at Arenal Paraiso made that portion of the trip worthwhile. Sin duda volveremos a Arenal Paraiso Resort y Spa. Muchas gracias.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was a pleasure that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel, we hope that you con back with your family and your friends to Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
We will happy to attend you on another time and provide you all our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our first hotel on our trip to CostaRica Room #136. We arrived and went to sleep. I was up all night itching in the bed. I informed front desk and they said they were mosquito bites. I have confirmed 30 bedbug bites and my boyfriend has 17. Beware, don't risk it. These bites last for weeks and the bugs are hard to get out of your things since you can't see them!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We want to thank you for visiting us again. It was a pleasure having you in our hotel
We are really sorry to hear about the bites and we would like to explain you, the measures we have to avoid these kinds of situations
Our cleaning process in rooms:
• The linens have a strict cleaning process that has steps with cold water and 5 different products that include the function of disinfection. And at the end, the linens pass for the final step with hot air, for drying, which means that after all the products and the different temperatures, is not possible that bugs could survive.
• All the rooms are completely clean, with products that have the same functions, clean and don’t allow any bacteria, virus or bugs in order to provide a healthy environment for our guests, actually, this products are also biodegradable.
• Also, we have a fumigation program in all our rooms and public areas.
So, as you can see there is a really low probability that you could have gotten these bites in the room for all the hygiene protocols. It looks like you had Chiggers bites, these are tiny red mites from arachnid family that could be found in grassy fields, along lakes and streams and forests. So is probable that you were in touch with these chiggers sometime in your trip in Costa Rica.
Considering that we are a country with tropical weather, our refund policies do not include bug bites or similar insect-related incidents, since -even if we do our best with bed bugs and such- most are not under our control, but nature's, instead. We hope you can understand our position, as we understand yours.

Hope you feel better soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Paraison for our first 3 nighs in Costa Rica. The resort was beautiful, with mature tropical landscaping, beautiful pool and hot spring area, very private bungalows and a great outdoor dining area. We had a superior room, which was very comfortable and spacious. Only cause of concern was the shower pressure and temperature. Since the water supply is solar-heated, we did not always have a real hot shower each day, but certainly warm enough. Restaurant was a bit pricy, although we did enjoy the breakfasts included with our booking. We ate dinner after the first night at local eateries to truly experience the local flavor, bith food and atmosphere of the are. Very conveniently located to Arenal Volcano Park, and away from the hustle of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out through a large area, with walking involved to dining rooms and main office. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are happy that you had a great time in our hotel , it was a pleasure to attend you, it is very importante for us that you really enjoyed the breakfast in our restaurant.
we hope that you come back to our hotel and provide you our services and our quality staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.