We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
St. Catharines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Honest Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our bus tour. We were plesantly suprised to learn that our room, and most rooms here, are acually a private cabin. The resort is well kept, and fairly large. If the clouds clear, you have a great view of Arenal right from your front porch. The hot springs are really neat too. There are about 10 pools, all different temperatures. The hottest at the top, and each one spilling into the one below. There is a swim up bar, seperate pool and a warm pool. Please take note, that the warm pool and the swim up bar are filled with a health water. (might not have properly named that) The water is rusty orange colour, but it is suppose to be that way, its not dirty!

So, the negatives.
We arrived at night, and there is very minimal outdoor lighting here. This resort prides itself on being green, so it was very dark, and hard to make our way to the room. Slapping around in the dark to find the light switches too. All was good once we found the light switch.

The walls are incredibly thin. You can definiatly here the conversation in the next cabin. The toilet doesnt flush very well. About 3 flushes for liquid waste. They are very green oriented here, so toilet paper doesnt go in the toilet. That helps reduce the number of flushes needed. They also suggest while showering to get wet, turn the water off, soap up, then rinse. Now, the fun part!! The hot water is intermittent. Lasts for about 2 minutes, then cold! The shower is huge, and great if you wish to shower with your partner, but you will be running for the dry spots when the hot water stops. Then, after a min or two, it will come back. Just beware, its going to cut out again. Short showers are the best here.

We found the hotsprings not very hot. Dont get me wrong, they were warm, but not quite what we thought the temp should be. That said, the hotspring pools were really neat. Being that there were so many, it was easy to find one all to yourself. Really cool how each one overflows into the next.

Food. The food was ok. They had the best breakfast out of all the resorts we stayed at. Bacon, sausage, pancakes and french toast. And of course, rice and beans! Overall, it wasnt bad. You shouldnt go hungry, as long as you arnt a fussy eater.

Its is good to know a few spanish words too. We found the bartender wasnt very versed in english, nor the person working the desk for towels. These are minor things and easy to overcome, but hey, heres the heads up!

Weather. For our trip it was cloudy (not the resorts fault, keep that in mind), and the odd rain shower now and then. Temps at night are not hot. During the day, it can get warm, especially if the sun is out.

Lastly, our tour guide informed us that the resort we were to stay at (los lagos) is apparently not as good as this place.

Room Tip: We were located in room 205. it is on the end of the row, so only rooms beside on one side. bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to have your visit in our hotel, your coments wil be taken to make improvements, it´s important you know why our hot springs water has that color, and the reason is because they are rich in minerals and come from a natural subterranean spring. It is an honor to us that you enjoyed our meals at the restaurant.
We hope to have it back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    237
    127
    42
    35
See reviews for
116
222
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Arenal Paraiso during our 10 day tour of Costa Rica. We traveled a good portion of the country during this trip. When we arrived at La Fortuna, we were quite road weary. The Spa and other amenities were very rejuvenating. Complimentary breakfasts were fresh and tasty. Our time in La Fortuna was during a fog that never revealed Volcan Arenal, however the spa amenities and strolling the grounds at Arenal Paraiso made that portion of the trip worthwhile. Sin duda volveremos a Arenal Paraiso Resort y Spa. Muchas gracias.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was a pleasure that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel, we hope that you con back with your family and your friends to Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
We will happy to attend you on another time and provide you all our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our first hotel on our trip to CostaRica Room #136. We arrived and went to sleep. I was up all night itching in the bed. I informed front desk and they said they were mosquito bites. I have confirmed 30 bedbug bites and my boyfriend has 17. Beware, don't risk it. These bites last for weeks and the bugs are hard to get out of your things since you can't see them!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We want to thank you for visiting us again. It was a pleasure having you in our hotel
We are really sorry to hear about the bites and we would like to explain you, the measures we have to avoid these kinds of situations
Our cleaning process in rooms:
• The linens have a strict cleaning process that has steps with cold water and 5 different products that include the function of disinfection. And at the end, the linens pass for the final step with hot air, for drying, which means that after all the products and the different temperatures, is not possible that bugs could survive.
• All the rooms are completely clean, with products that have the same functions, clean and don’t allow any bacteria, virus or bugs in order to provide a healthy environment for our guests, actually, this products are also biodegradable.
• Also, we have a fumigation program in all our rooms and public areas.
So, as you can see there is a really low probability that you could have gotten these bites in the room for all the hygiene protocols. It looks like you had Chiggers bites, these are tiny red mites from arachnid family that could be found in grassy fields, along lakes and streams and forests. So is probable that you were in touch with these chiggers sometime in your trip in Costa Rica.
Considering that we are a country with tropical weather, our refund policies do not include bug bites or similar insect-related incidents, since -even if we do our best with bed bugs and such- most are not under our control, but nature's, instead. We hope you can understand our position, as we understand yours.

Hope you feel better soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Paraison for our first 3 nighs in Costa Rica. The resort was beautiful, with mature tropical landscaping, beautiful pool and hot spring area, very private bungalows and a great outdoor dining area. We had a superior room, which was very comfortable and spacious. Only cause of concern was the shower pressure and temperature. Since the water supply is solar-heated, we did not always have a real hot shower each day, but certainly warm enough. Restaurant was a bit pricy, although we did enjoy the breakfasts included with our booking. We ate dinner after the first night at local eateries to truly experience the local flavor, bith food and atmosphere of the are. Very conveniently located to Arenal Volcano Park, and away from the hustle of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out through a large area, with walking involved to dining rooms and main office. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director General at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are happy that you had a great time in our hotel , it was a pleasure to attend you, it is very importante for us that you really enjoyed the breakfast in our restaurant.
we hope that you come back to our hotel and provide you our services and our quality staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel offers amazing view of Arenal Volcano and is located nearby all area attractions. Little bungalow houses are surrounded by a variety of lush tropical plants, trees and flowers. Heaven for botanists and birdwatchers. Hotel has acres of of rainforest..so can go hiking or zip-lining without driving anywhere. Rainforest inhabitants, animals/birds, can be seen on the premises. Great thermal pools are at your service 24 hours a day. Hotel offers wonderful spa services. All-in-all: great place, great staff, great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel has so much potential to be a stellar resort. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. The cabins are nice for privacy, and have tiled porches with rocking chairs and a view. We had a alligator "towel art" on one of the beds when we arrived. The amenities are plentiful. We were welcomed warmly, but then practically ignored.
Our bathroom had ants on and around the toilet and floor. Our safe did not work. The toilet ran unless you waited long enough to jiggle the handle. Three of us had 2 towels the first day, and only 1 the second day. We wanted (and were promised) a room with a tub. Ours only had a shower. When we called the desk, we were told we could upgrade for $190 more a night. What's more is that a taxi ride OR a shuttle ride into the nearest town, La Fortuna, is $12 each way.
The mineral hot springs are wonderful! The hot breakfast with fresh fruit, juice and cereal were awesome. The restaurant was pricy, but delicious. The advertising says there is WiFi, but there is none in the rooms or restaurant. It's available only in the lobby.
The personnel seemed uninterested in us after we were checked in. We were referred there by a travel company, and the rest of our vacation with them was flawless. I priced other hotels and found many others for a better price and they seemed just as nice.

Room Tip: I only saw our "Superior" room. The advertising shows an awesome room with a jacuzzi. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It was a pleasure that you enyoyed our hotel in general, we ask apologies about the problems wiht the towels, toilet and the wifi service, we have worked about this problem and now we have available wifi in the lobby, wet bar and in the restaurant.
We hope that you come back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great views from ( most) of the cabins. Air con was not working and was not rectified during our stay ( 3 days) Good facilities Pools, Hot Springs, and Zip wire are all available. The restuarant staff were not a happy band and the food rather expensive. The free safe in our room was not fixed so could be removed at any time ( silly). Overall a good place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your comments about our hotel, already we took service maesures about the box safe and the air conditioning also we are working in customer services with the restaurant staff to offer you a best service.
It was a pleasure that you ejoyed your visit in our hotel, we will waiting your visit again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.