We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great views from ( most) of the cabins. Air con was not working and was not rectified during our stay ( 3 days) Good facilities Pools, Hot Springs, and Zip wire are all available. The restuarant staff were not a happy band and the food rather expensive. The free safe in our room was not fixed so could be removed at any time ( silly). Overall a good place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your comments about our hotel, already we took service maesures about the box safe and the air conditioning also we are working in customer services with the restaurant staff to offer you a best service.
It was a pleasure that you ejoyed your visit in our hotel, we will waiting your visit again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    257
    136
    42
    38
See reviews for
127
237
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Location and views are great. Service was friendly enough, although not outstanding. The standard rooms are adequate, although showing a little age. Security seemed good - we had no concerns while staying there despite some of the other reviews. Breakfast was good - plenty of fresh fruit and hot options at the buffet. Restaurant is also great for sitting with a drink and gazing at the view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they are very important to us, it was a plesaure to us to have provided our services and facilities.
We hope to have your visit at our hotel as soon as posible and receive your recommendations with your family and fiends.
Best Regards from Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Did not stay here but our family went on the fantastic canopy zip line tour that is located on the hotel grounds. Great views and the staff was very friendly. The grounds are very nice and our kids enjoyed the swan pond.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stopped at a tourist info spot after spending a really not so nice night at a bed and breakfast 20 miles down the road. The tourist guy running the little tourist info spot told us that we might enjoy Arenal Paraiso resort as it was quiet and not bad for the money. We did try it over the glitzy new one on the road and we found it to be fine. The rooms (choice a separate cabin or a side by side) are dated but we liked the quiet. The cabins for 50 dollars a night more are worth it..Flat screen TV..better bathroom and a front porch space for viewing the Arenal volcano.
The best thing about this hotel was the service at the front desk. Outstanding.
The spa services seemed high (60 dollars for a pedicure?) . The breakfast not too great...typical...though..scrambled eggs..beans..rice...fruit. The coffe was fine.
We did not expect such muggy hot weather however...it was not as cool as we thought it would be so the air conditioner was a huge bonus ..many hotels do not have it in the rooms. The wireless was only in the hotel lobby area but it was good reception. There are many choices to be made in La Fortuna area...so check it out.

Room Tip: The cabins are better. Go high up on the river for the best spa plunge..water is hotter and much cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful. There are several hot strings you can go to and a swim up pool bar. I received a facial and fell asleep it was so relaxing. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was delicious and served a variety of different foods every morning.

The rooms are a series of bungalows up a very long road. Taxis are not allowed to drive up there so you must do quite a bit of walking to get to and from the lobby. The walls to the bungalows were paper thin. We could hear Word for Word what are neighbors were saying, and I'm sure they could hear us as well. We also had an ant problem in our bathroom and we were not the only ones in our group with ants. There is an Internet access in the lobby only. And one shared computer. It is very slow do not try to upload any photos.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our group spent three days at the Arenal Paraiso. It's a beautiful setting with great views of the volcano. The grounds are lovely, the pool is sparkling clean, the hot pools are inviting. But at the same time, overall maintenance is spotty and the food could be more thoughtfully planned.

On the maintenance and operations side, my room had a fridge that was not working (and was missing a leg, so it wobbled). I reported this to the front desk immediately and they promised to send someone out to fix it. When I checked out 3 days later, as far as I could tell, no one had ever come by.

Hot water in the shower can also be a problem, where it starts out fine, then turns cold, then maybe, if you stay in long enough, warms up again. Not sure what's behind this but it makes for uncomfortable showers. I also noticed that the towels were not very absorbent and it took two of them for me to dry off completely.

I enjoyed the pool immensely, just to get relief from the hot, humid weather. However, the pool is a true safety hazard. The steps leading into it are very slick tile and it is very easy to lose your footing, fall and injure yourself. Which is exactly what happened to one of the people I was traveling with. I am astounded that this condition persists for a hazard that could seriously hurt someone.

It's hard to assess the food. The quality is generally good, but the selections are limited. Lunch and dinner are table-service affairs rather than buffets, so you get large portions of food you may not want.

I would generally not compare hotels in developing countries (like Costa Rica) to hotels that aspire to similar levels of service and comfort in the US, but the Arenal Paraiso really does try to present itself as a world class resort, and, with the items I noted above, it does not make the grade.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C and the fridge are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and went for one day to rio celeste. The beds were good, airconditioned room and a good shower. The breakfast was the only thing that we didn't like that much but ofcourse that's personal. The view on the vulcano was perfect it is like a painting. You have to wake up really early to see it without clouds. The best thing about this place was: the wetbar!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.