We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start our trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to start our trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our first stop on our trip in 2008, our room looks directly at Arenal volcano. We enjoy the pool where you can swim up to and sit on a stool in the hot springs water. The grounds are lush, green, beautiful flowers and tropical birds flying around. Large resort that I walked around and took pictures of. The room was small and modest but we enjoyed the porch and rocking chairs. We very much enjoyed a guided tour at Arenal Observatory Lodge and saw howler monkeys, leaf-cutter ants and spider monkeys. We also ziplined! What better place could one zipline, looking at nothing but a canopy of trees below.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location is fine, but the rooms themselves are depressing: old decor, danky smell, unpleasant toilet/shower. There are lots of better alternatives in the area. Check TA reviews, and go with something else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel campus is huge, way larger than I thought it would be. The views were great. The hotel room was a bit small, as was the TV inside the room (maybe 19''). We did really enjoy the little porch and those comfortable chairs. The food was ok, nothing special. The price of the food and drinks in the gift shop were very expensive ($3.00 for a soft drink, and $2.00 for a bottle of water). I would advice anyone to stop before you get to the hotel, and buy your own drinks (beer, soft drinks, water, etc) and skip buying stuff on the resort.

The hot springs were a nice touch (don't be turned off by the water color). There were many different springs, with many different temps., it was neat.

The hotel seems nice, we didn't have that much interaction with them (which I guess is good).

Overall, I enjoyed the resort, but found the room a bit small and the food/drinks to be expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location and perfect view of volcano from rocking chair on front of chalet
Had wonderful tour to see volcano close up withv Joeji in the pouring rain!

Restaurant good especially the buffet breakfast.
Ziplining on site - fantastic experience. The 3 boys were well looked after by two guides who pointed out wildlife
Girls enjoyed relaxing in the hot pools.

Room Tip: Keep a close eye on your beloning we had raincoat taken from restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 6 days at this resort. The grounds are beautiful. All rooms have a view of the volcano. Although our view was not super, we did not spend much time in our room during the day, so it really wasn't an issue. The views of the volcano from the pool and restaurant are amazing! Our standard room was comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast buffet each day was really good. Nice options for anyone. The pools and pool bar were nice. Bartenders friendly. The staff at the front were helpful and friendly too. The zip lining was awesome! Guides really helpful for first-timers and had a photographer to capture everything. Resort was only a short drive into town for shopping and dining. Only suggestion would be to have WiFi in the rooms, as the only other option was the Reception area and the Restaurant (which was not working during our stay). Would definitely stay there again and recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliefahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The room was nice and cozy, the bathroom spacious and front porch with the rocking chairs lovely. We had an amazing view of the volcano and eventhough it rained one entire day we could still use the hot spring pools and enjoy the day to the fullest. Thanks to the canopy tour and waterslide even my 5 year old had a blast. The prices are reasonable and the staff absolutly friendly and helpfull. Overall an excellent get away from the city I would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I loved staying at the Pariso. The food was very good, but a little over priced. The view of the volcano from my cabana was excellent! The zip line was really good too. I found the people to be courteous. However, it is pretty far out from La Fortuna ~$12 each way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,756 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#22 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#12 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#19 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing