We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find a better hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Find a better hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location is fine, but the rooms themselves are depressing: old decor, danky smell, unpleasant toilet/shower. There are lots of better alternatives in the area. Check TA reviews, and go with something else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    310
    172
    50
    46
See reviews for
156
305
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel campus is huge, way larger than I thought it would be. The views were great. The hotel room was a bit small, as was the TV inside the room (maybe 19''). We did really enjoy the little porch and those comfortable chairs. The food was ok, nothing special. The price of the food and drinks in the gift shop were very expensive ($3.00 for a soft drink, and $2.00 for a bottle of water). I would advice anyone to stop before you get to the hotel, and buy your own drinks (beer, soft drinks, water, etc) and skip buying stuff on the resort.

The hot springs were a nice touch (don't be turned off by the water color). There were many different springs, with many different temps., it was neat.

The hotel seems nice, we didn't have that much interaction with them (which I guess is good).

Overall, I enjoyed the resort, but found the room a bit small and the food/drinks to be expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location and perfect view of volcano from rocking chair on front of chalet
Had wonderful tour to see volcano close up withv Joeji in the pouring rain!

Restaurant good especially the buffet breakfast.
Ziplining on site - fantastic experience. The 3 boys were well looked after by two guides who pointed out wildlife
Girls enjoyed relaxing in the hot pools.

Room Tip: Keep a close eye on your beloning we had raincoat taken from restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 6 days at this resort. The grounds are beautiful. All rooms have a view of the volcano. Although our view was not super, we did not spend much time in our room during the day, so it really wasn't an issue. The views of the volcano from the pool and restaurant are amazing! Our standard room was comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast buffet each day was really good. Nice options for anyone. The pools and pool bar were nice. Bartenders friendly. The staff at the front were helpful and friendly too. The zip lining was awesome! Guides really helpful for first-timers and had a photographer to capture everything. Resort was only a short drive into town for shopping and dining. Only suggestion would be to have WiFi in the rooms, as the only other option was the Reception area and the Restaurant (which was not working during our stay). Would definitely stay there again and recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The room was nice and cozy, the bathroom spacious and front porch with the rocking chairs lovely. We had an amazing view of the volcano and eventhough it rained one entire day we could still use the hot spring pools and enjoy the day to the fullest. Thanks to the canopy tour and waterslide even my 5 year old had a blast. The prices are reasonable and the staff absolutly friendly and helpfull. Overall an excellent get away from the city I would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I loved staying at the Pariso. The food was very good, but a little over priced. The view of the volcano from my cabana was excellent! The zip line was really good too. I found the people to be courteous. However, it is pretty far out from La Fortuna ~$12 each way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I went there during the holy week. We arrived late in the afternoon and then decided to go to the thermal pools. It had rained before and when I took the steps of the cabin, I fell down and hit my elbow and back really bad. The stairs didn't have any anti-slip material. Thank God I could walk after that, so we went to tell the front desk and the guy there told me: "Fortunately nothing bad happended to you"...The people at the hotel have to be thankful for their thermal pools because that prevented my body from serious bruising and ache. A day after I talked to the manager about this and he offered a doctor, but thank God I didn't need it but that is what the front desk should have offered the day of the accident.

The outdoor plans that they offer are very expensive. It is better to go to the places by yourself and pay directly. They offered the hanging bridges for more than twice the real price!!! And they won't make any discount if you want to do more than one activity.

The thermal pools are very dark at night and they are in the open. Breakfast is good. I won't come back to Arenal Paraiso and I won't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.