We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with hot springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with hot springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent 4 days in this hotel in May. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms have great views of the volcano. Our standard room was comfortable and spacious with rocking chairs on the porch. The hot spring are nice with small pools at different temperatures. It would be good to have Wifi in the rooms and not only in the lobby and restaurant. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    258
    140
    42
    38
See reviews for
127
240
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed two nights here. It has a series of thermal water pools at various temperatures. Quite unique. It is near the active volcano Arenal.
Units are independent cabanas so there is not much problem w noise. Each unit has porches so nice to relax. The whole complex is huge and breakfast was included in their cafeteria.
Our room had fridge, air con and tv. Showers were large. The housekeeping crew does a wonderful sculpture w towels. Once it was a beautiful armadillo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did a last minute trip to Arenal and ended up in a suite here. We opened the door and it was about 120 degrees in the room with the air off and windows closed. The windows had no screens so when open the room filled up with bees. After 6 hours the room finally cooled off. At night we heard what sounded like a screaming banshee, we first thought local wildlife came into our room but it was the refrigerator. We had to unplug it. They have an ala carte menu of everything they charge extra for using like the in room safe, Internet, extra towels, etc.. The furniture and cabins themselves need serious renovation. The hot spring pool at the top of the grounds was hot although pretty small. They also have nearly no lights at night so very hard to see. Included breakfast was average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Our first Standard room smelled like cigarette smoke and when we asked to move we were told we could upgrade to a superior room for $40 more per night which we did. Both rooms were clean but dated and in need of remodeling. We had to ask twice for extra pillows and toilet paper.  

The setting and grounds however were very beautiful and the 13 man-made pools filled with natural hot water kept the kids happy. The restaurant was average and pricey but had wonderful views of Arenal. The front desk staff was helpful and booked our jeep-boat-jeep excursion to Monte Verde and allowed us to leave leave our cars parked in their lot for two days. 

Don't pay for the hot springs at Tabicon just ask to park in front and walk to the hot "natural river" instead. The entrance is through the yellow gate near the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Located at the base of the volcano, along the edge of the jungle. This resort has it's own zip lining which was phenomenal with the best tour guides you could ask for. It also has it's own hot springs which were fantastic late at night. You could hear the animals in the jungle while enjoying the hot springs.

the private cabin was excellent with an incredible view and it's own courtyard. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

On the up side, the Paraíso is well located, has lovely views of Arenal and, as always in Costa rica, staff are friendly and helpful. There is wildlife to enjoy without leaving the premises and a joy of an outdoor cascade spa, which appears always to have space, set in luscious grounds.

Nevertheless, the rooms were not up to the category of the hotel. Furnishings were not up to standard and bungalows were not walled up to the top, so any noise from the neighbours could be heard as if it were in your own room.

Lastly, the staff did not know how to deal with an appalling group of people, drunk, lewd and antisocial in the floating bar, which made other residents avoid the entire area. Another example of disgraceful attitudes by a people, unable to respect the fact they are visitors in another country and not its owners.

Room Tip: "If you're prepared to take a walk, go a little out of the way, and make sure no-one else i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Was A great location, room was great as well , i had one of the 2 King beds offered in the deluxe.When we arrived, we were impressed beyond the descriptions on-line. The grounds are lush and well-kept. THE THERMAL POOLS were the best i have been to in Arenal area.THEY WERE ACTUALLY HOT.(The Springs resort, and Baldi all the pools were cool for $400 plus a night you expect their thermal pools to be hot) The Value and the location of this hotel were awesome and i would return again...

Room Tip: Go with the deluxe Suite and get 1 of the 2 rooms they have with the California King Beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.