We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under the Volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Port Moody, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Under the Volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

No first-time trip to Costa Rica can possibly be complete without a pilgrimage to Arenal - the volcano that has been quiet since October, 2010. When we traveled there exactly one year later, we were disappointed that the fiery lava we'd expected ("Everyone run for your lives!") had subsided, but were not in the least disappointed in our choice of hotel. At the off-season rate of $85 a night, we enjoyed the seven or so natural hot springs (one with a swim-up bar) and beautiful tropical gardens with swimming pool. Our bungalow patio suite (114, I believe it was) looked directly upon the volcano, which huffed and puffed and never even came close to threatening to blow our house down. We found it fascinating to watch as the volcano vented steam from its crown and flanks, at times entirely disappearing behind the meandering mists. Ah, but the hotel! Free computer use, superb, complimentary breakfasts, gated entry (equates with "safety"), reasonably priced dinners, wine and cocktails. What more could anyone ask? Truly, I don't know. Top marks!

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano, but ours was especially fine. One detraction: Our mattress was worn out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    257
    136
    42
    38
See reviews for
127
237
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NORWICH, NORFOLK. U.K.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The lodges have a fantastic view of the volcano, the swimming pool and hotsprings are very good. The grounds are lovely with a great many birds which we were able to spot from our balcony also lizards and frogs. Loved the restaurant, which offers all that you can eat for breakfast and excellent dinners.

Room Tip: All rooms looked much the same, some a little way from restaurant, reception and pools, ground rises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Nice rooms with front patio that faces the volcano. The hotsprings are nice and there is no reason to pay to go to the expensive hotsprings down the street. The hotel will arrange outings - we went on a river wildlife tour that was pretty good. Easy drive to town (we had a car) and other sites like the hanging bridges trail. The restaurant is OK and provides a good free breakfast. Dinner was alright but a little pricey. Overall a great value. I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

To wake up and see the volcano in front of my bungalow and later on walk to the restaurant through all this beautiful vegetation made my day!
The bungalows are clean but not my type of place to sleep, I would have prefered something smaller and more modern. The air conditioning too loud. Food was very good and the staff very friendly and eager to make you feel good.

Room Tip: Don't miss rafting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel had 11 natural hotsprings and a large pool (with a pool bar). Wifi was avaialble only in the reception area. The restraunt was quite pricey for dinner but you can take a cab to downtown for about $10 or 5000 colones. We chose the cab ride so we could eat cheaper and do some shopping.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed there for 3 nights and had 2 superior cabins. I like the fact that each accomodation is a seperate cabin, so it is very private. Our room is very spacious with a wall unit AC which worked well ( most of the time). The room does get hot during the day, but we are usually out on one of our outtings. I lalso like that we can park our car right in front of the cabin. taking luggage in and out is a breeze. Because the ground is big and the cabins are spread out, the walk to the lobby and the poor/hot springs is a little far. But this is a nice walk since the ground is well tended. I do agree that there are little critters here and there, but it is unavoidable, since you are literally in the middle of a tropical garden . The view of the volcane from our porch was great. We even got to see smoke rising from the volcano

The resort has its own hot springs with several pools with different temperatures. We thouroughly enjoyed that. Our family went to the springs each nights, and since we came in the slow season, we always got a pool to ourselves. My kids loved this. And we did not have problem getting our pool towels, and the service desk stays open until 10pm

The buffet breakfast is very good and has good selection. We had our best breakfasts here during our entire trip.

The front desk and service staff are very helpful and courtous as well. Free WiFi in the lobby is very nice.

We did the zipline with Paraiso and had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Arenal Paraiso has all of the services you'd expect from a property with resort in the title, but that may be a little misleading. We had a superior room, and it was fine, except for the little gaps between numerous wall boards. Remember it's right next to the rainforest, so we did have visitors in the form of lines of ants cruising the walls, and some of these guys are pretty big. Wildlife is everywhere, so being able to see light between the boards at night is a little unsettling for the less adventurous. Having said that, we had no bites, or anything like that. The staff are very pleasant, and the breakfast buffet was actually very good, with fantastic coffee! They have a very good canopy zipline tour right on th eproperty, which was super convenient. The pool is medium sized, but with great views. Towel servce could be improved, as they often run out, andthe attnedant goes missing to pick up more at the laundry.

Room Tip: Closer to the restaurant is a bonus, as the pool is near there as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.