We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cataratas Resort

Cataratas Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cataratas Resort to your Saves list
Cataratas Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   La Fortuna De San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 9999, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excelent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

having stayed last week-end (10th to 12th February) enjoyed very much everything. From scenery to service and quality of the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I stayed here with a friend in July 2008. The hotel was beautiful and the restaurant was fantastic. We got here easily in a cab from the bus station and all of the tours we took picked us up from the hotel. It is easy to get to the volcano, rainforest, and waterfall from this hotel. The landscaping around the pool was beautiful and the staff were helpful with everything we needed. It is very quiet and the rooms were clean and nice. We were looking for something nicer than a hostel, but not necessarily an American style hotel. Las Cataratas was perfect at $60 a night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Cataratas Resort right know work with a new management, is making a lot of improvement, the costumer service is good, the employes are nice people.

The food is really good, the room I get was comfortable and very clean.

I totally recomend this place!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

In my opinion, the best thing about Cataratas Resort is their website. We booked two rooms in the hotel directly with our friends from their website which makes this place look fabulous. After seeing the property, we all agreed that this hotel is a "use to be". They make it sound like the waterfall is just a hop, skip and a jump away. In reality, it's maybe a mile further up the road that front's their hotel and uphill. Luckily we had a car to drive to the Waterfall parking lot. Prices for the waterfall are $7:00 each and the walk after you paid is excruciating. My wife walked the entire way down to the pools and back up and she was sore for several days. There is an observation bridge/tower about half way down that allows you to take good pictures without making the entire trek, which is what we did. It's almost dangerous with wet steps and many places without rails but a beautiful place / location. There is a nice gift shop at the beginning / end of the trail.

The road to the hotel is dirt and bumpy but not difficult to navigate, but why if you don't have to? The lobby is nice but semi worn looking. The breakfast buffet was empty when we got to the lobby at 9 AM, so I made a comment and they agreed to cook us plates to order which were decent. Not the best I've had but pretty good, really.

The mattresses in the rooms were horindous. We all woke up with sore backs. Lights above the beds lack lamp shades, and there are visible cracks around the entrance door and the balcony door large enough to see light through.

Luckily we had water in our room but our friends had the room below us that lacked water of any kind in the shower. When they angrily reported this in the morning, the young desk clerk boy said he was sorry but did not offer them another room (and there were plenty availble, trust me) to shower in or any explination. There are spiral staircases that lead to the second floor rooms that are tough navigating the suitcases up and down. They helped when we checked in, but we just took them down ourselves on our exit. A/C worked pretty good in both rooms.

A bus of young people showed up late and left early that used many of the rooms. If your on a tight budget and are ok with my comments, then this might be just the place for you. The pool looked a little merky so we passed, and as other reviewers said, the swim-up bar looks a little abandoned. There are two fairly nice pool tables in the lobby and a couple of complimentary computers you can use to check back home with.

Last time we where in La Fortuna, we stayed at the Volcano Lodge which puts this place to shame and doesn't cost much more. We highly reccommend it.

  • Liked — the website
  • Disliked — Place is very worn, mattresses are terrible.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

After reading the reviews, we were reluctant to book this hotel but it was one of the only ones available during peak high season. Contrary to other reviews, the hotel is not hard to get to. You have to drive down an unpaved road for a while but as long as you pay attention to signs and maybe stop and ask, you will be fine. Our rooms were spacious with a great view and balcony. The breakfast was the best I've had in Costa Rica!!! Staff was very helpful and friendly. Pool area was clean and beautuflly lit at night. Maybe I wasn't expecting much and was pleasantly surprised but stil...I think the hotel must have gone through some renovations and additions because the grounds were huge. The hotel is walking distance to the La Fortuna waterfall. The only thing is the hot/cold shower but still do-able after you get the hang of it.

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

Located on the outskirts of La Fortuna, this is a small hotel .... almost a motel as most of the rooms are in a series of small buildings. It is my understanding that it is under new management and has recently reopened.

It wasn't very busy when I was there with a small group in late December.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can see the Arenal Volcano from the hotel and there is a walk to a waterfall.

The food in the restaurant is good and there is plenty of variety.

This is a solid 3 star property.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

I hate to be negative about a place that seems to try hard. But this place, in a word, is: CREEPY.

During our three night stay my girlfriend and I:
1) Never saw anyone in the pool
2) Never saw anyone from the hotel in the restaurant
3) Never saw any guests walking around the grounds (though we did see a couple people sitting on their balcony, so we knew other people were staying there)

After reading the only other review on tripadvisor and visiting the Cataratas website, we figured it to be an okay place -- the website is really deluxe and makes it look great. But upon entering our room, we knew things were off.

The room had a tremendously overpowering odor of cleaning products. My girlfriend found the source some time later: an industrial strength air freshener hanging off the back of the toilet. We put it outside only to find it back in its spot after the room was cleaned. Then we just threw it in the toilet tank. The room desperately needed a paint job. AND ours had three double beds — where were we supposed to walk? The beds were either hard as a rock or every spring could be felt (trust me, we tried all three). Throw in an indescribably weird ambience, bare light bulbs everywhere and, overall, the room rates an 8 on the creepy-meter.

The pool has a swim-up bar that looks as if it was last used in 2001. The “gym” is an open air hut with 5 or 6 As Seen on TV machines. The restaurant is an interesting mix: the people who work there seem nice but the lack of customers made us curious. The included breakfast is very good, the best we had in Costa Rica. We even had lunch there one day, but were surprised at the $24 bill. We even came up with a cute little nickname for the place to describe how we felt about it: caca-ratas.

In review: Maybe other hotels in the area aren’t as nice. Maybe for the price, this place is great. For us, though, a pervasive strange feeling obliterated the lush locale.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cataratas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cataratas Resort

Address: La Fortuna De San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 9999, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cataratas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cataratas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataratas Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cataratas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.