We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay on the Beach when you can stay here!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Alberta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Why stay on the Beach when you can stay here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed at Los Lagos after spending a week on the coast at a family wedding. Although it rained very hard as we drove around Lake Arenal, Los Lagos was like an oasis of calm.
8 of us travelled and we had two rooms which were delightful. It was high above the main hotel building and restaurant with a lovely view of the valley below, which we appreciated much better after dark.
The restaurant was delightful and the staff made the children very much at home, after a long day in the vehicle.
Service was relaxed and friendly and the food was excellent.
Relaxing in the hot pools was the perfect end to a long days travel. I guess the relative remoteness of Los Lagos is part of its charm, but the drive is a little difficult for those unused to narrow twisting roads.
I notice that some reviewers have given the hotel a less than positive review. My wife and I have travelled to many parts of the world, and cannot understand what else one would look for in a hotel, bearing in mind that this is a hotel in the tropics and away from the city.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    330
    116
    24
    22
See reviews for
298
250
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

This hotel is almost an all inclusive, except off course for the meals...

The best thing this hotel has is the stoning view of the Arenal Volcano. It has beautiful hot springs with a wet bar, great regular pools with fun water slides, crocodile farm, butterfly garden, small frogs exhibition, beautiful gardens, and natural surroundings. Even though the ambiance is very relaxing, the wet bar always had nice music, and nice environment to be around.

The breakfast is included, and is great. The rooms are dispersed and you might have to take a walk each time you go in and out of your room, but they offer a shuttle bus, which anyway, is always around.

The hotel has an observatory which provides a good view of the non-active part of the volcano. They have a tours agency at the front desk, and the staff there was very friendly, informative, and oriented us very well. We took the hicking tour to the volcano (the active side) and the tour and the guide were great.

Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

I stayed at Los Lagos for only a few days and it was wonderful! The drive out there was a bit of a hike but definitely well worth it! As soon as my boyfriend and I got there we did the Horseback riding tour they offered and views we saw were awesome. The ride is a big much if you are a beginner, so be careful. The food in the hotel was very expensive ($11.00 for a ham and chesse 6in sandwich), lucky for us we rented a car and went to eat outside the hotel. The best part of the hotel were the Hot Springs. They were beautiful and very refreshing. The water slides were fun and the standard rooms are great. The Spa was great, we both got massages and enjoyed it very much! The hotel decoration outdoors is what makes it a gem, it truly looks like rainforest paradise.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We were originally supposed to stay at El Silencio del Campo, but due to some unforseen circumstances, we were moved to Los Lagos. I was worried about what we were going to encounter, but I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The hotel check in was easy, but the employees there did not have the same enthusiasm as other hotels in Costa Rica... they were more corporate-like.

The restaurant on site is so-so... it's good for maybe a meal or so, but we got sick of eating there. Breakfast was plentiful.

The rooms were massive and had a nice view out the balcony. They were very nicely maintained. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the shuttle service. Maybe some people like shuttles, but I like resorts where you can walk wherever you want. Our room was so far away that we had to call a shuttle whenever we needed to go anywhere. But the drivers were always courteous.

The pools were awesome as was the swim up bar. The waterslides were so much fun. They also have a crocodile, frog, and butterfly conservatory area. The grounds are well maintained and if you have a room in the 230 area, you can see horses in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

My group of 8 consisting for friends and family ranging in age 37 to 75 had the most wonderful time at this hotel. So many things to do at the resort that are so much fun. The service was first class especially the shuttle driver and Julio and Marv in the dining room. The food was excellent. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We spent two nights at Los Lagos in November, 2009. We had just come from a TRUE resort, so our expectations may have been a tad higher than normal. I have taken that into account when writing this review.

Upon our arrival, the completely indifferent desk clerk informed us that we had two rooms booked for one night - it was supposed to be for two nights, so we had to clear up that discrepancy. She could not be bothered to offer any information about ANY aspect of the hotel. We were tossed two towel cards (with no explanation of how to use them), and we were then "tagged" with neon yellow plastic, hospital-like wristbands that screamed "Touristas" when we went into town. The bands may be fine for kids, but in this day and age, there has got to be a better way to recognize the adult guests.

Our rooms were next to each other, which came in handy when hiking to/from the restaurant and other activities. In all fairness, the shuttle was always prompt and the driver was courteous when we did opt to use it. Often times, we just found ourselves midway between the main area and our rooms, so there really was not a way to request a ride.

Our rooms were of standard hotel quality. One bed (it seemed like a double, may have been a queen), a TV, a large wardrobe, and a mini-fridge. The bathroom had absolutely nowhere to place personal items, which is a real pet peeve of mine. There was enough room to have extended the sink to include at least a small vanity to leave essentials out for easy access. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. The two towels doled out daily were of the typical motel variety - and I believe the "Los Lagos" branding on them cost more than the towels are worth. Quite small and thin.... again, not what is typically found in resorts.

The restaurant is very nice, and the bartender makes a mean "Miami Vais". We found the free breakfast to be plentiful and actually very good. Much better than expected. We also had one lunch and one dinner at Los Lagos, and both were quite good. I will disagree with a few other reviewers who thought it was overpriced. The prices were no more than going into town for similar dishes. If the desk staff would have been half as friendly and helpful as the restaurant staff and security guards, Service would have been rated 5 stars. I took the average between the two to give it 3 stars overall.

The pools were very nice, and the waterslides looked like fun. We found one spot that had cold, warm, and hot pools all in one area, which was an unexpected surprise. But there are a lot of children, many running rampant even though the "rules" state that anyone under 18 must be accompanied by an adult. We wound up being towel-less, as Ms. Helpful at the desk did not tell us that we were to use our towel cards at the reception area, rather than at the pools. Who knew? It was raining, so it was easier to just walk up the hill to our rooms wet and cold than to go back to Reception to get towels.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well-maintained. Besides the many different pools, there are other water features that do make the grounds equal to what you would find at resort properties.

Overall, I will have to mark this hotel as "not recommended to a friend", as there are so many others to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I only stayed here one night, but I wish I could have stayed longer. My dad and I stopped over in Arenal between driving from Tamarindo to San Jose. When we arrived, the volcano was socked in with weather which made seeing the top impossible. Even though there were clouds floating in and out of the hotel's grounds, I could tell the area was beautiful.

The grounds are situated on the side of Arenal Volcano. Our room was up a steep track that I guess you can keep going on to the trail-head for the observation platform. If the weather was nicer our room would have looked out at the peak of Arenal. The complex is huge and there is tons to do at Los Lagos. You can go horseback riding, relax in thermal pools, swim, hike...you name it. While we checked in I flipped through things available to guests and was blown away. The restaurant was also good, especially compared to the hotel that we came from. Dining here I think was a little different b/c I'm not sure there was anything within walking distance of the hotel and neither one of us wanted to drive anywhere.

Both of us agreed that maybe we should have come to Arenal for longer instead of Tamarindo. I will say that upon returning to Costa Rica, I will definitely be checking into Los Lagos again.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.