We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Place to stay near Arenal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Affordable Place to stay near Arenal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

this hotel is a very nice place to stay near areal without paying the higher prices you will find at other resorts. Baldi resort is just down the road and has amazing hot springs you can go to. This hotel has hot springs and water slides for big and little kids. really like this hotel. You also will get access to the animal gardens to see alligators, butterflies, frogs.

Room Tip: all rooms appeared to be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    321
    110
    23
    22
See reviews for
290
241
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went with my family of 4 plus mother in law and brother in law for three nights as part of multi-location Costa Rica vacation. We loved the grounds and pools. Rooms were fine, nothing special. It is the grounds that make this place. On a clear day you have amazing view of the volcano. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and it was very good. The crocodile enclosure was very cool. The days we were there a couple crocs were very close, almost on the fence.

Rooms are spread out across the large property. Some are close to the lobby and restaurant, others require fairly long walk or hotel shuttle bus. We booked early (5 months in advance) via Anywhere Costa Rica and our rooms were very close to the restaurant. We by chance had friends from our neighborhood who also happened to be there. They booked only a month out and needed hotel shuttle to get to the room.

Staff was nice and helpful. Would stay here again if we were to get back to La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for rooms near the restaurant or lobby. Don't miss the crocodile enclosure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at Los Lagos in August 2014. The grounds were stunning. They were also enormous. Fortunately, our room was within walking distance to the office, restaurant and pools, but I understand that some of the rooms are quite far away and uphill, requiring the shuttle service. For the most part the front desk staff were uninterested in helping and seemed annoyed with our existence. There were a few exceptions though. The wi-fi didn't work even in the front office area, but they have 2 public computers. Our standard room was comfortable and the a/c worked well. We only ate breakfast (included with the room) in the restaurant. Lunch and dinner were $18 each, a bit too pricey for us (ok,way too pricey for us). So we took a taxi into LaFortuna ($8 each way) and got some groceries and snacks. The pools and hotsprings were wonderful. We did book a tour to Cano Negro through their tour operator. We saw lots of wildlife and beautiful scenery on the tour, it was a great experience. Overall our stay at Los Lagos was very good. The staff lacked interest in the guests, but the view of Arenal and the facilities in general are amazing.

Room Tip: Close to the pools and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The kids absolutely loved this place. The grounds are absolutely beautiful! The lobby staff do lack any social skills and the service at the swim up bar was terrible the while time we were there! Be prepared to walk your butt off! I will say they offer a shuttle service and those guys were amazing and always super nice. The food at the restaurant is delicious but pretty pricey but all in all it was good. This place would get 5 stars if the had better customer service at the desk and bar areas! They need to let the shuttle drivers teach them about customer service

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Came here with family and our 2 kids ages 6 and 8. Room is a motel-like room, truly average, if that. Restaurant was very average and bland, the service was weak took no real interest in us being there. The best part about the place is the hot springs and water slides for the kids (and us). Probably better to pay the $15 entrance fee and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you have a car, get a room high up on the hill away from the noise of the pools and drive down ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Once you check in, you honestly wouldn't have to leave for the duration of your stay if you didn't want to. The food is delicious, the rooms comfortable, and there are some fun activities and amenities on site. There are hot springs, small zip lines, wildlife exhibits, horseback riding, hiking to an overlook of the volcano, swim up bars; you get the idea. It's a good place to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We came here for a few hours just to visit the hot springs and relax without knowing what to expect. We had to pay $15 to use the facilities. The place was a lot more commercialized than we expected but we were happy to find the hot springs quite warm and the swim up bar was a nice bonus. The biggest surprise were the waterslides! The one in the hot pool is short but super fast and fun. But the best one is at the main regular pool up at the "volcano"...this thing launches you like a rocket into the pool at the bottom and is wickedly fast!
Nice place to hang out for a few hours to enjoy the hot springs, bar an waterslides.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.