We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, bad weather!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, bad weather!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The premium rooms are spacious, with a balcony. Very clean. It is a great location to stay to see the Arenal volcano if the weather cooperates--which unfortunately it did not on the day I was there. The hot pools were nice and the food was OK

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    395
    132
    34
    26
See reviews for
348
304
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a phenomenal time at Los Lagos!!! From the on-site animals (croc, frog, butterfly enclosures) to the AMAZING hot spring pools and waterslides, we could not have asked for a better place to stay with plenty to do. Staff is wonderful too!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

There were things we liked: size of the room, service at the front desk, pools and grounds.

However, there were things that drove me crazy, like waiting for the shuttle because our room was far up on the hill like most of the rooms are. Also, the food was not great and was very expensive. The hotel was far from town ($10 cab ride each way)

We like having access to town so we can get some groceries, do laundry and my teen and tween can explore, you don't have that option here. Overall, we had a good time and depending on what you want out of the experience, like you want a resort experience, I would recommend again.

One thing I forgot: there is an endless supply of hot water and the water pressure in the showers were awesome!

Room Tip: The further up you are, the better the view of the volcano; but you will have to take the shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, and overall had a great experience. The pools at this hotel are amazing. We loved the water slides in every pool, and the hot springs pools were out of this world. We were there during Costa Rica's rainy season, and what was so great is they have canopies built over many of the pool areas so you can still enjoy them even if it's raining out.
The food was good. Nothing out of this world, but better than other all inclusive places I've stayed in the past.
The room was alright. It was clean and everything was in working order, so no complaints there. It just wasn't the most luxurious or comfortable place I've ever stayed.
All in all, I liked this place and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher up you stay, the better your view will be of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to Costa Rica for a week in December 2013. This was our first stop for 3 nights - we arrived later in the afternoon/early evening as it was about a 3 hour drive from the airport. The area around the hotel is extremely lush and it is very close to the volcano. The hotel grounds are quite large and very hilly. Our room was in one of the buildings at the top of the grounds - we walked up to it once and a couple times down but it was quite a hike. The hotel has a van that drives around picking people up and dropping them off at the main lobby/restaurant all day/night which is very convenient. The hotel isn't fancy but it is well kept and very clean. The best part is the pools that are fed by the hot springs - our first day it was rainy but it didn't matter as we spent all morning in the hot springs! There is even a swim up bar in one of the pools. There are a couple of water slides as well which makes it a great place for kids - or just the young at heart! We ate at the hotel restaurant a couple of nights - it was ok but the portions were huge and we were almost always the only people (or only a couple others) there. We did take a taxi into La Fortuna one night for dinner as well which was a good alternative option. I'd definitely recommend this hotel for the value and service. Location is also great for going on excursions (ziplining) and checking out the waterfall in La Fortuna. This hotel also has some fun extras - butterfly sanctuary, frog sanctuary and crocodiles/alligators.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamer, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers great opportunities. Besides the nice rooms, located in small bungalows, it offers a great hot pools landscape, from where you have an amazing view the Arenal Volcano.
Around the hotel are plenty of nature tours.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at Los Lagos Hotel for three nights and had a wonderful experience. Everyone at the hotel is very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast which is included was exceptionally delicious, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We loved waking up in the morning to the site of the volcano, which is in front of the hotel. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arenal Kioro
Arenal Kioro
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.