We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fun Great for Kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Herradura, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super Fun Great for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My Family recently stayed in Los Lagos and we enjoyed our stay very much. The pools and slides are an amazing feature for adults and kids. Grown ups can relax in the hot springs while kids have fun. The hotel also has a other activities such as, a small butterfly garden, crocodiles and ant expo. You should hike up the the sight seeing point or take a car.
The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. The fridge looses power when you leave the room, this should be fixed.
The restaurant lunch buffet was not great we after the first day we ate out most of our meals. Included Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    367
    128
    29
    24
See reviews for
324
289
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

no babysitting service - free WiFi only at the pool bar/lobby/restaurant - very clean - great landscaping - no ice bucket - 2 pools freezing cold - several hot springs on property - food very good at pool bar/restaurant - only 1x allowed thru free breakfast buffet - gift shop items cannot charge to room - has transport service to/from rooms - enough outlets to charge (US elec current) - accepts US$ and colones - no US$ change at front desk - pool towels not near pools - basically no smoking anywhere - walk to town too far - air conditioning (use the remote in rooms to turn on) - room has refrigerator - no washcloths in room

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There is a lot to do at Los Lagos. We like to take a private horse tour instead of with a big group. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean. Breakfast is good and the thermals are the best. My favorite is the swim up bar in the large thermal pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from housekeeping's laundry room. It can get a little loud in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We didn't stay at Los Lagos, but we got to check out the grounds and eat at the restaurant as part of a tour we went on. The grounds were SO PRETTY!! It's the kind of place you go to stay and don't even have to leave the hotel to find amazing things. They have a butterfly house, crocodiles, and of course - the geothermal pools!

The locker/towel system is a little silly - you have to pay them a $10 deposit for a towel, and they give you back all but $1 when you return it... but we only got 15$ from our 2 towels.... I just say "eh, keep it as tip" rather than bother question it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a pleasant 3 night, 4 day stay at Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort. Arrived late in the afternoon and were greeted by a smile at the front desk. Reservation was located immediately and received helpful information about the hotel and spa areas. Spent the remainder of the afternoon in the hot springs fed by the water of Volcano Arenal. The spring pools, of which there are many, are very enjoyable, clean and inviting. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was less than impressive the first night. Food of mediocre quality and over priced. Dinners improved the following two nights with the buffet offerings. Much better than off the menu. Stayed in what is called a superior room which was quite adequate although the air conditioning unit was poor. Bed quality, linens, and pillows all very good. Overall this is a pleasant hotel and spa and a good place to stay when visiting Volcano Arenal and La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Volcano views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The property is top notch, but very big!

Great pools and gardens.

Main reason for 3 stars is because everything shuts down at 10pm. All restaurants and bars close then. So if u want to stay up later you have to go into La Fortuna via taxi. Then when you get back there are no more shuttles to bring you back to your room. The walk from the front gate to our room was at least 30 minutes all uphill

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was the first hotel of the 3 we experienced in Costa Rica. We have 2 teenage boys, and this hotel was their favorite because of the pools and water slides. The grounds are beautiful and the service provided by the hotel was all we could ask for. The response to our late-night phone call regarding our clogged toilet was immediate. The rooms were large and comfortable, although nothing spectacular. Air conditioning worked well in each room. We did not experience any bugs in our room, although I think that has something to do with us visiting Arenal at the end of the dry season. The shuttle bus came to our room within 5 minutes every time except once when it took about 15 minutes. We did walk sometimes (the kids preferred to walk even when the van was there), although it became too tiring for my wife and myself after a while - it is a steep walk!

Breakfast was very good and had OJ, coffee (duh), tea, rice, beans, fruit, eggs however you like, and more. It was actually more breakfast than my family needs. Since we were still trying to figure out everything about Costa Rica and our trip, we asked a lot of dumb questions at the from desk. They were patient, and tried their best to give us good answers. Most of the front desk people spoke good enough English, and I can't say they were super-friendly, but they were courteous enough for us. Van drivers were very pleasant, friendly and eager to help with everything, although a few spoke no English at all.

I would definitely recommend Los Lagos if you have kids who like pools and slides.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#29 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.