We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We had a great time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The grounds are gorgeous and the many different temperature pools are wonderful. We loved having so many gardens and paths to walk through. We even hiked the 2km to the observation site. This, I think, is actually a bit too strenuous for most people. As far as the little farms, we didn't get to see too much. We only found about 5 butterflies and 1 frog. They also close the frog farm at 2pm for some reason. I also found the pool's slides to be too fast for me, but the kids seems to like that.

We especially loved the ambiance of the open air restaurant, hearing the sounds of the crickets and other insects at night. The buffet food was good enough with excellent fresh juice available at each meal. The meal prices include tip and tax which is so nice. The dinner and lunch buffets cost $18 total, so that's $14.60 before tip/tax. There is also a la cart food available as well.

Our room was well situated near the pools, restaurant and lobby so we could walk everywhere. They offer free internet access in the lobby which was a great way to communicate with the kids at home via Facebook.

The cabin was nice with enough space. We loved hearing the cows moo and the rooster crow in the morning! The horses were also very close to our room.

The only things not too great were the smell of the room's disinfectant, and the air conditioner that became very noisy in middle of the night. I think I lowered the fan on my second night and that was better.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay. Thank you Los Lagos!

Room Tip: I liked the smaller rooms close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    395
    132
    34
    26
See reviews for
348
304
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked our stay at Arenal Nayara Hotel and Spa (Great Honey Moon resort), but decided to venture out since we rented our own car. We ended up getting great deals to excursions through the Tourism info center that is right down the street from Los Lagos. Some of which were actually directly through Los Lagos and on their massive grounds (Horse back riding, and zip lining). The hot springs are great to go to in the evening and when it is raining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOREST HILLS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very awesome experience here at Los Lagos. Really enjoyed out buffer lunch followed by a few hours in the hot springs and spa area. The location in front of Arenal Volcano is breathtaking and the grounds are well maintained. Would recommend this to anyone in the Costa Rica Area looking to stay a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here for a mini vacation. It was beautiful, clean, convenient and just amazing. Restaurant serves fresh food but it is a little costly. If you are driving, drive into town and find yourself a local, hole-in-the-wall restaurant because they serve the best non-touristy food. We would definitely come back here. They also have currency exchange on premises and have better rates than the airport!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariadorey, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your visit, it is a pleasure to help you. Your are very welcome any time!
Best Regars Los Lagos´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A group of 4 adults went at 6pm and stayed until closing (10pm). There are a series of 4 pools of hot springs. The very top one is the hottest (source) and the rest cool a little until the bottom one. Next to each hot spring is a little pool to cool off. Cost was $15 per person.

There is a huge pool at the bottom too but we didn't go in. The wet bar is kind of "resorty" and played clubby music, but we spent most of the time up top at the thermal pools so didn't really hear it. We got nachos which were $9 (Velveeta type cheese) but not too bad w/chicken and veggies.

The lobby is super outdated, but we weren't there for that :)

It was a wonderful way to relax at end of day....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hot springs were fun and clean, the rooms were nice and the grounds did have a pleasantly surprising number of animals to see, but after having experience the true Costa Rica at Tico owned hotels, we found Los Lagos a little tacky. It was very artificial and run like a giant resort. We did not feel as welcome here as we did throughout the rest of our vacation. Food was pretty good though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I spent the last 4 nights of our honeymoon here. We stayed in September so it was like we had the resort to ourselves! Very clean, well taken care of resort. Pools and water slides were great along with swim up bar. Staff very helpful. View of the volcano from our room was amazing! Zip lining at the hotel was awesome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arenal Kioro
Arenal Kioro
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.