We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida COSTA RICA ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pura Vida COSTA RICA ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Probably the best place to stay around the Vulcano Arenal.
It has almost all the activities such as horse back riding, Canopy ( Zipline) and Hot springs.
ATV tour is just a few miles away.

Room service and Hotel service is top notch

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    309
    101
    22
    22
See reviews for
274
232
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a few days here, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We felt safe, and relaxed. The rooms were fine, but the pools were fabulous. The water slides were so much fun, and it was nice to sit in the hot spring after a long day exploring. The majestic backdrop was so beautiful that I had to keep reminding myself it was in fact a real volcano behind me. I highly recommend this getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a wonderful place for our family to stay. The kids absolutely loved the thermal pools and slides. You do not have to leave the resort because there is a restaurant right there. They really need more options for eating there at the resort, but the food is DELICIOUS! So I really can't complain about that. There are some hiking opportunities on the resort itself which is nice. I would probably not take one of the tours offered there as you can go yourself and find something must less expensive. This hotel had great prices. Rooms were very large with trundle beds. WIFI ONLY IN THE LOBBY!!!! NOT IN YOUR ROOMS!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked through an Ecoterra package that sent us to do a slew of activities all at the Los Lagos Resort. We were anxious and nervous about the quality of the activities since they were all onsite but we pleasantly surprised.

Horseback riding was a guided tour through some rainforest and dryer sides of the volcano. We stopped by an area in which we saw some wild turkeys and a sloth! Our guide was great! He even brought along water for us.

Zip-lining was awesome! We've been before in Mexico but these were way better! Pretty high up and above the trees. Guides were also great and offered to do "superman" poses if you wanted to. 13 cables total.

Hotsprings were nice but standard. I'd still go check out Tabacon for a true hot spring resort.

Restaurant onsite: lunch from the menu was pretty good actual. Dinner buffet was TERRIBLE. That I would not recommend.

Overall, great activities onsite with a decent restaurant (minus buffet). I'd consider staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

There are no words explaining this part of the world but outstanding by far ,cant dream of anything better that I have traveled to .Its worth the trip ten tymes over.so if you ever have the chance to get to this great hotel jump at it .

Room Tip: great all the way around
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really liked the views of the volcano and the multi-temperature hot springs. The swim-up bar and water slides were also fun. The only problem with the place is that it had a bit of a disneyland feel, with plaster rocks and trees, and hot springs that were more fancy hot tubs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm glad we (Wife, daughter and myself) spent 5 days at Los Lagos because out of those 5, we had one beautiful clear day around the volcano. The other days were great, too, but most of the time Arenal is covered with puffy white clouds. Anyhow, Los Lagos is in a perfect location. In between most of the activities and downtown La Fortuna, which I recommend visiting for food and booking tours.

Our stay in Los Lagos included breakfast, which was very nice and filled with plenty of options. We definitely ate until we were full because most of the tours require quite a bit of walking. We soon learned to eat a nice breakfast with some fruit in between, which kept us full until around 4 or 5pm for dinner. Yep, you have to eat early if you plan on going to bed early. The days in Costa Rica start early, around 5am. We were going to bed by 9pm because of our tours, but also because after 2pm or so, it gets cloudy and sometimes rain comes pouring down. Anyhow, we enjoyed the early dinners and the wind down in the thermal spas and/or pools.

One day we only did a half day tour and that gave us a chance to walk around the hotel and check out some of the attractions. Los Lagos has a butterfly house, but I didn't see any butterflies. There are a few crocodiles on property so make sure to stop by that area. Within the hotel there are horses for the early morning ride to the volcano and I did notice some canopy lines, which we didn't do because we had already ziplined with an outside tour company.

Rooms: At first the rooms are cute because they feel like small cabins, but once inside, it's just basic. One night I asked for Ice, which was brought right away but when I asked where am I suppose to put it since I didn't have an ice bucket, all I was told was to put the bag in the small fridge. Our standard room had no Iron either. I did like the small table and chairs in the back (some have them in the front) of the room. Gives you a chance to enjoy the view while you have a cup of coffee outside. Maid service was wonderful.

Overall, very good hotel, especially for families!

Tip: If you are driving in Costa Rica, try the SODAS (which is what Costa Ricans call local small restaurants). Food is good and very affordable, plus you'll get a chance to experience some Costa Rican plates. We ate at La Parada, twice, which is in front of the park in La Fortuna.

Tip: Laundry service at Los Lagos is pretty cheap compared to other hotels and other areas in Costa Rica. For example, I believe a pair of shorts was $1, but a hotel in Manuel Antonio was $3.50.

Room Tip: If you have a family, it's probably a good idea to get a standard room because they are closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.