We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hot springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hot springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really liked the views of the volcano and the multi-temperature hot springs. The swim-up bar and water slides were also fun. The only problem with the place is that it had a bit of a disneyland feel, with plaster rocks and trees, and hot springs that were more fancy hot tubs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    403
    134
    36
    26
See reviews for
359
308
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm glad we (Wife, daughter and myself) spent 5 days at Los Lagos because out of those 5, we had one beautiful clear day around the volcano. The other days were great, too, but most of the time Arenal is covered with puffy white clouds. Anyhow, Los Lagos is in a perfect location. In between most of the activities and downtown La Fortuna, which I recommend visiting for food and booking tours.

Our stay in Los Lagos included breakfast, which was very nice and filled with plenty of options. We definitely ate until we were full because most of the tours require quite a bit of walking. We soon learned to eat a nice breakfast with some fruit in between, which kept us full until around 4 or 5pm for dinner. Yep, you have to eat early if you plan on going to bed early. The days in Costa Rica start early, around 5am. We were going to bed by 9pm because of our tours, but also because after 2pm or so, it gets cloudy and sometimes rain comes pouring down. Anyhow, we enjoyed the early dinners and the wind down in the thermal spas and/or pools.

One day we only did a half day tour and that gave us a chance to walk around the hotel and check out some of the attractions. Los Lagos has a butterfly house, but I didn't see any butterflies. There are a few crocodiles on property so make sure to stop by that area. Within the hotel there are horses for the early morning ride to the volcano and I did notice some canopy lines, which we didn't do because we had already ziplined with an outside tour company.

Rooms: At first the rooms are cute because they feel like small cabins, but once inside, it's just basic. One night I asked for Ice, which was brought right away but when I asked where am I suppose to put it since I didn't have an ice bucket, all I was told was to put the bag in the small fridge. Our standard room had no Iron either. I did like the small table and chairs in the back (some have them in the front) of the room. Gives you a chance to enjoy the view while you have a cup of coffee outside. Maid service was wonderful.

Overall, very good hotel, especially for families!

Tip: If you are driving in Costa Rica, try the SODAS (which is what Costa Ricans call local small restaurants). Food is good and very affordable, plus you'll get a chance to experience some Costa Rican plates. We ate at La Parada, twice, which is in front of the park in La Fortuna.

Tip: Laundry service at Los Lagos is pretty cheap compared to other hotels and other areas in Costa Rica. For example, I believe a pair of shorts was $1, but a hotel in Manuel Antonio was $3.50.

Room Tip: If you have a family, it's probably a good idea to get a standard room because they are closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here first 2 nights of our trip and it was a great start. Waking up and seeing the volcano out of our window was awesome. The pools were so cute and the higher you went the warmer the water was. The wet bar at the big bottom pool was fun and my husband enjoy the waterslide:-) The bathroom was cool but had an odor which I wanted to believe had something to do with the volcano :-) Other than that I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

me and my husband had a very good time in this resort ..loved the hot springs and all staff are friendly and polite..free shuttle from room to restaurants , spa , pool till 10pm.
nice spa packages.
only problem is too much light in the room from outside, so if u r lite sleeper, beware.
amazing view front n backside of the room..we stayed in 217 room.
u need to pay for ur coffee everyday of course not too much, its just a dollar for 50g coffee.
u may have to carry moisturizer as they don't provide in the room.
good free breakfast spread included..pretty decent and clean food..
i will recommend this place and good for families with kids as they have 2 water slides into pool and i saw many kids having fun..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Traveling for 12 days through Costa Rica with four "older" adults and three young adults between the ages of 18-21, there's bound to be some disagreements but we all agreed that this was a lovely place to stay. I believe we were in superior rooms - they were large and comfortable, very clean and well-appointed with flat screen t.v., strong a/c, coffee pot, refrigerator and safe. The bathroom was also large with a walk-in tub/shower, two sinks, hairdryer, soaps and shampoos. We were quite far up the hill from the lobby/restaurant but found a beautiful walking path that took us down a hill, though a lovely garden, and across a hanging bridge. The shuttles were also very prompt and easy to use. The restaurant was very expensive, although the food was delicious, but after the one dinner, we only ate the free breakfasts. This was the largest breakfast buffet of the trip with at least four rows of food choices which kept all happy. The staff was polite and helpful and we had great service throughout. We never saw the volcano until the day we left, due to clouds, but no matter - the pools more than made up for it. After a long day hiking on hanging bridges and down to the Fortuna waterfall, the luxurious hot pools (and they are hotter the higher up the hill you go) combined with cold pools for cooling off and some incredible water slides (try the one in the cold pool but be prepared for a very fast and furious ride!) were a perfect antidote to tired muscles. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great views. Grounds are beautiful, the pools, waterslides and hot springs are fabulous. After a day of 'off sight excursions' what's better than soaking in hot spring. Our room was very comfortable, staff was accommodating. Restaurant was fine but pricey, we preferred to eat at local restaurants in La Fortuna. Negatives; some rooms very far from pools/restaurant & you must rely on shuttle. Construction on restaurant & a pool while we were visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a beautiful resort with plenty of facilities to swim and see their animal exhibits, relax, get alone, have some drinks, terrific restaurant, fantastic location, an amazing view of the volcano (when the clouds part). There were just a few little things with the room: the door didn't lock well, the vents on the AC were broken, the walls were thin etc that kept this from being a primo spot. I'd still recommend it for location and facilities. Most Costa Rican's live outside and if you're sitting in the hotel you're doing this trip wrong. The price is pretty high so you expect both facilities AND good rooms though. The staff was friendly and spoke excellent English. I would return.It's the nicest resort in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.