We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I just came back from Costa Rica. We stayed at Los Lagos for 4 nights and were impressed by this resort. In fact, if we make our way back to Costa Rica, we'll be sure to stay here again!

For starters, the resort is beautiful; there are so many colorful plants and the grounds are well kept. The lobby has free wifi, although it's spotty and slow at times. They also have 2 computers that are open for use with internet connection. They also have a water cooler with nice cold water. And the staff is friendly, helpful, and speak English, as well as Spanish!

There is a table in the lobby where you can sign up for tours and activities to do on the resort and outside of the resort. My advice is to drive into town (La Fortuna, approx. 10mins away) and sign up for tours there. Most tours will pick you up from your resort and they cost a lot less... some will even lower their prices if you pay with cash... and most of the tours are the exact same as the ones at the resort, just a lot cheaper.

Our room was also very clean. We had two full size beds, air conditioning, a fridge, and tv with some channels in English.

We ate at the restaurant everyday for breakfast and once for dinner. The breakfast buffet was good with more options than expected. Dinner was a little pricey but the food was really good. Everything we had there was fresh and delicious. The wait staff are very nice and attentive. My advice, if paying with credit card at any restaurant, including this resort, there isn't a space to include tip on the check. Tips have to be paid cash if you plan on leaving any. We learned this the hard way... we planned on leaving our tip on our credit card and didn't bother carrying cash. We ended up not being able to tip because of this problem.

The pool and hot springs are great. The hot springs (not sure about the pool) is drained every night and cleaned and refilled each day from water from the volcano. We were impressed how clean they were. The water slides are pretty cool too, and not just for kids! The swim up bar is great too, it's located in a warm pool... making it a great place to drink and hang out while it rained!

We also enjoyed the zip lining canopy tour. There were 11 cables, everything from steep and fast to slow and short. You have a great view of the forest while zipping through the trees. The only problem is if you aren't sure you'll like them, you have to complete 5 cables in order to get off because the first 4 platforms don't have stairs or ways of getting down.

We also really enjoyed the horseback riding up to the volcano observation spot. Los Lagos has their own private observation spot that looks up at the volcano. You can either drive or horseback ride to it. We decided to horseback ride. It was fun! They have 26 horses at the resort on their mini farm and the tour guide lets you really ride... none of the walk very slowly and follow the leader crap. We got to canter! And really ride up and down the mountain. There were some steep parts that I'm not sure I'd even hike up but the horses did great maneuvering up and down. Wear pants... the chaffing on the saddles hurt!

Finally we enjoyed a relaxing afternoon in the spa. They have some great promotions in the lobby that we couldn't pass up and thankfully we didn't. The spa was gorgeous! The rooms are along the back with view of the forest. While you're getting massaged or wrapped, you hear the wildlife and rain which couldn't be more relaxing. I was concerned about the massages and how qualified the staff was but they were excellent! They were so professional and relaxing! I wish I would gotten more done there! I receive massages once a month and I can honestly say that was the best massage, body wrap, and facial I've ever had! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    316
    104
    23
    22
See reviews for
284
235
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kralendijk, null, Netherlands Antilles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by Gecko Tours. My husband and I, our 3 year old and 79 year old parent enjoyed 3 days here on our tour. Our time went by too fast. We had 2 lovely adjoining rooms overlooking the volcano. What a view to wake up to! The hot springs, and all the swimming pools with water slides for all ages along with the swim bar were super. Every morning a breakfast buffet and the restaurant served very good food. The staff was very helpful. The property is big and a bit of a hike to some rooms, but do not let this stop you. There is a complimentary van on the premises that shuttles people up and down the hill all day and evening. The trails, and gardens are very beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just got back from Los Lagos and our three children loved it. The highlight were the three water slides, swim up bar and hot springs pool. Just be prepared that the superior rooms are very far from the pools and restaurant. We took the van shuttle almost every time we went to the room.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very far away but beautiful walks up the hills. It feels like camp....and the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was not sure about staying here after reading previous reviews....But I'm so glad that I did. Our family of 5 was just fine in the superior room. The view of the volcano was amazing and we couldn't wait for morning for their wonderful breakfast!!! I found no basis for the bad reviews and the grounds are absolutely gorgeous and well maintained.
Two thumbs up for this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a few days here, and it wasn't enough! There's lots to do from ziplines and horse riding to seeing the frog farm and relaxing in the hot volcanic springs (and a lot more besides!). I don't think anyone would be bored here, and of course you're not confined to the resort, as the town is a short drive away and the other resorts are open to visitors. It's evident that a lot of money has been spent on this resort, and the result is amazing! During the day you'll see a vast assortment of birds and butterflies, iguanas and tropical plants. At night the frogs and toads come out and start calling to each other - my idea of paradise! The chalets and cabins are away from the common areas, but they're up a very steep hill and we didn't have a car. Also the "roads" to get to them aren't lit at night, so the first night we literally had to stumble our way to find our chalet (thereafter we took our flashlights).

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant served a fair selection of reasonable quality food at reasonable prices. There are probably better resorts in this area but this one ticks all the right boxes, and we would definitely go back here without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, ask for a chalet/room close to the common areas. Our room was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I don't think the photos do this place justice. It's incredibly well maintained, and the views of the resort and the volcano are simply breath taking.

Loved the pool areas & the wet-bar (don't forget to get a pina colada). They even have a few slides to make the swimming experience more fun.

The room service was great. There's a shuttle that will transport you around the resort as needed. There are plenty of fun activities that you can book with the resort, but I suggest that you don't pay for the volcano tour. As you can take up your own car down to the observation area or simply hike up like we did. Save yourself $50.

We did the ziplining (Sky Trek), which was incredible, it's off the resort. I highly recommend it! You zipline through and over the rainforest. It's considered one of the better ziplines in the world.

The only complaint I'd have about the resort itself is that there weren't any vegetables in their breakfast buffets! I found that very strange. But not a problem, we went into convenience store nearby in the town and got some for our room. You can also find cool restaurants to dine in, if you make a right out of the resort and head into town, that's about 10 minutes away.

We went may 31 and stayed there for 3 days. It was supposed to be the rainy season, but we barely got any rain. It's also cheaper during this time of year and less crowded. So don't be afraid to see Costa Rica in the green season.

Overall, our stay at Los Lagos was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wow! The hotels and grounds has lots to do and the we loved all of it. The view was amazing, the staff was friendly and the pool(s) were a major win. The kids enjoyed walking over the suspension bridge on the short walk from the room to the pool. The wildlife was great on property. We were close to town and tours. WHEN we come back, we will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.