We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked this with a package and could not have been happier with the choice. The grounds are huge, the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the food is excellent. I took hundreds of pictures of the plants and animals that inhabit the area. The property is on the slopes of the Arenal Volcano, but remember that the Arenal is most often covered in clouds. The spa experience was fantastic as was the thermal pools. La Fortuna is just minutes away and full of nice places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    309
    101
    22
    22
See reviews for
274
232
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malling, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is like paradise! Look at the pictures, it's not manipulation. I became dizzy at the plaze and i got the best service i have ever expericed. A doktor came to me, with ice tea and chocolat for free og he called my room to hear if i was okay or asked if i needed help. He did that eventhough i said to him from the start that i was fine and just needed to go to my room. He even called at privat shuttlebus for me! Nice nice nice service!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The landscape of this hotel is breathtaking and expansive...so much so that they have complimentary transportation to and from some of the rooms to the restaurant, pools, etc. It has a butterfly garden, crocodile area and frog refuge in additiion to everything else it offers. The wet bar is a blast and has hot spring water. In addition to the amenitities, the staff is the absolute best! Maely, Jonathan, and Roberto are just a few employees who continually make it their business to ensure you have the best stay. The mass majority of rooms have an awesome view of Arenal Volcano. While the food in the restaurant is superb, if you are on a tight budget, I would suggest you have a meal in town at the La Cacada. Excellent fish! I seriously love this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Los Lagos is a very nice hotel, nice rooms very big, from your room you get great views from the Volcano. The hot springs are as well. They got several pools, In the hotel there are many activities you can enjoy, I also recommend to take an adventure tour in La Fortuna

Room Tip: Standard rooms near the pools are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,ON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our stay here was very short, only one day and night, would have stayed longer if we had had the time. The hot springs and the manu pools make for a most interesting and pleasant place to relax and enmjoy the calming influence of the warm to hotter water pools. The restaurant was a pleasant place to enjoy a lovely evening meal with very attentive wait staff during our visit. The breakfast which was provided lacked nothing. there was lots of choice and all we sampled was excellent. If you sit next to theourside there is an excellent chance that several feathered friends will join you for breakfast. Even though you may be asked not to feed the birds, they will land and take food straight off of your plate. Certainly recommended for a most enjoyable time. The other activities available can provide you with lots of things to do for a few days, if that is your plan..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The room was spacious and clean but was more lit up at night than at day with an annoying large vapor light nearby. Room overlooked a flower garden which was very nice to sit in. But highlight of the place were the 11+ hot pools, built up the side of the mountain. Each pool got hotter as you walked up the path. It was very refreshing to soak in a hot spring and then jump into a nearby "cold" pool. Or you can use the slides, or swim up to the bar. In morning walked to the butterfly garden to see morphos and other butterflies. We were sorry not to have had more time at the inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has some great pools and hot springs. My husband particularly liked the water slides. You have a great view of Arenal Volcano (when it's not in the clouds, which is hardly ever). The rooms are large but a little dated. It is less expensive than a few other hot springs resorts, but if you are there to relax and enjoy the hot springs without much frill, this is the place for you. It also seemed to be a good choice for families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.