We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife and fun water park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wildlife and fun water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Los Lagos. There was so much to see and do that we barely left the property. We had fun walking all around the resort and were able to see coati, monkeys (from a distance while hiking up to the observation point), toucans, iguanas, and many other birds. The butterfly, frog, and ant enclosures were fun to visit and provided a great opportunity to get photos. The water slides were fun and very popular. We were almost always able to find one of the smaller pools vacant so we were able to find quiet when we wanted it. The pools are kept at different temperatures so the hotter ones were usually kid-free.

We thought the breakfasts were a great added value. They had an excellent buffet with local dishes as well as the typical American food. It was fun to watch (and photograph) all the birds at breakfast. We did not eat any other meals on property. We had our own rental car so we went into town to eat dinner every night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    285
    91
    19
    21
See reviews for
249
212
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2 nd time here beautiful pools and grounds. The zip line on site is great and the guides are super we went 2 days in a row. Breakfast buffet is excellent. A plus is 2 really great restraints in town. Don Raffino's and Los Nene's is a must. Order the Serloin special!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel was pleasant enough. I initially hated it as we had come from a very natural lodge in Tortuguero and Los Lagos seemed like a plastic imitation with its manicured gardens. The best thing about this hotel are the many beautifully coloured birds that visited over breakfast. Also there is a natural spring hot wet bar and many natural spring pools spread out over the pool area which are great to bathe in after some strenuous activities offered in the area: canopy zip lining, horseback riding, hills to climb for great views. You will need a taxi to get into town if you prefer to eat locally like we do and costs about $7/8 each way. This hotel is great for kids as there are special pools for them with their own water shoots. The adult water shoot was terrifying (even after zip lining). I just wanted it to end as I was being knocked about all over the place! Been on much nicer ones.
Hotel was adequate and beds comfortable. The bathroom was ok, but worth noting that no hotels we found in Costa Rica offered shower caps as standard, so bring your own if you need one. Neither did we find any drink making facilities in the rooms, so bring a kettle and tea bags if you like a cup of tea in the morning as I do. Costa Ricans do think it odd that you should want a cup of tea in a coffee producing country!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms were nice and all have a good view. The ones higher up the hill probably had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went here after a guided volcano walk. The Hot Springs as such are very nice, but the facilities are not well lit at night and tend to get very slippery. It is very inconvenient that customers from outside are made to pay extra for their towels and their lockers, having paid a considerably high entrance fee already. The meal we had afterwards was not anything special either: I do not understand why they limit their buffet to fish only instead of offering a variety of meats as well. What's more, the rude and loud Russians at the table next to us are probably something one has to put up with in an establishment like this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights w my 10 y/o and loved it. There was so much to see and do on site. People were all genuinely friendly and warm.
However, if we weren't able to upgrade our room on site it would have been a disaster as the standard rooms are SMALL! I'm talking walk in closet small. Just be aware.
My son loved the waterslides, jungle and birds that visited our table every morning at breakfast. The restaurant was decent, although breakfast was not really great. Really hilly, especially if you're in one of the higher elevation rooms. We stayed in the villa one night and it was amazing. Overall, a definite do again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are like walk in closets! Others are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Amazing place, hands down. The nicest hotel ive ever stayed at, especially for the price! The food was excellent but the naturally heated spring pools amd slides were even better! You will never get tired of seeing beautiful tropical wildlife or breath taking landscapes. On top of it all, all the excursions are located right on the premises. Oh, forgot to mention, they are a relatively self sustaining complex, and of your left over food from dinner ends up as feed for their pigs, so cool! Couldnt recommend it more- will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A lot of money has been invested to create remarkable gardens and features on this property. At first glance one begins to think you have been transported to a tropical "Flinstones" set, but moving past all the man-formed rocks, alcoves and stone paths, it is impossible not to value the effort that has gone into designing and maintaining these grounds.
The restaurant is good, but pricey, so if you do not have your own transportation, count on full meals costing $40 per person.
Do not use the laundry service unless clean, damp, clothes simply tossed in a bag for return is what you expect. And there are no ironing boards available to use the iron that will be provided if requested.
The various hot and cold pools are a feature here. You will see beautiful birds during breakfast. They will sit right by your table.
Don't be too worried if you do end up in a room up the hill. The shuttle service is incredibly efficient.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not too far up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel and Priceline so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.