We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entertainment in one place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great entertainment in one place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We came to Los Lagos via a Living Social trip. While we didn't stay at the facility, we had a one day pass that included horseback riding and Ziplining as well as the hot springs. There is a lot to do here, including frog, butterfly and crocodile gardens. Food in the restaurant was decent and the people were very kind. The zipline instructors were great as well. If the ask you if you want to go upside-down, say YES! They'll let you actually hang upside down as you're Ziplining! Lots of fun at this place!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    317
    105
    23
    22
See reviews for
285
237
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a package from travel by Jen that included a car. We went out of Buffalo its much nicer then Toronto. The drive up is long and winding and we didn't get there to late. But they were waiting for us. Everyone was helpful and in minutes we were in our room. We woke up to a spectacular view of the volcano. There are hot springs and water slides and things to explore. We drove into town for supper and see the town. The only hitch we had was a bad door lock which they fixed quick.
The volcano hike was included it was informative but they could have done it form the resort for all the things we saw. Beter view from the resort.
We went on the sky tram zip line which was great but they only take one photo of you at the end. We rented the video helhey took some great pmet but the guide screwed it uo so it was not very good.
We also went on the white water rafting It was awesome even when we went into the river, Thet took some great pics. They also took us to a place and fed us and showed us some gardens. Great tour.
Then we packed up and went to the next resort

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room was average (I didn't spend a lot of time in my room), but the resort has a number of wonderful amenities including on-site hot springs, water slides, swimming pools. The meals were fantastic and the bar service excellent. We did have the minor inconvenience of a malfunctioning door lock that was remedied the next day.

Minus one bubble for the average room and the inconvenience, but otherwise an enjoyable stay. Stay here if you're exploring Arenal all day instead of staying on resort.

Room Tip: Ask to stay close to the pools and hot springs. Some of the rooms are quite a hike away from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family and I enjoyed our visit to Los Lagos. Luckily we visited during low season and so the price was a steal. The staff was friendly and helpful. The warm water and slides were particularly fun for my college aged brothers and me. We had been stuck in the car for a while and so it was nice to get some exercise in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood, Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed 3 days at the Los Lagos Hotel and were amazed by the eye-popping tropical landscaping. Exotic birds were literally in our backyard, fun to watch from our balcony. But it did rain and rain. No doubt we were in a rain forest at the base of the Arenal volcanoe, whose peak we saw once for about 12 seconds in the dusk. The service was exceptionally polite and transportation around the property excellent. The hot spring fed pools were delightful. Great palce to vacation, but take a tour bus from San Jose. Don't try driving it on your own. The roads are narrow and locals walk on the road and don't move from it. So many near mishaps. But a very worthwhile palce to explore and visit.

Room Tip: Nice villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Los Lagos has a few fabulous features: a very good breakfast buffet included, fun swim-up heated pool, and convenient location (at the base of the volcano and very close to La Fortuna). I was very satisfied with the service and enjoyed meeting others staying at the hotel. Employees were very kind.

A few cons: The room was very uncomfortable to me. The bed left me aching and the bathroom was very very tight. We visited Costa Rica to be outdoors, so these two negatives ended up not being a big deal as we only spent time in the room to sleep and shower.

If your vacation is more for leisure and relaxation, I wouldn't recommend Los Lagos. Otherwise, it's a great option for your vacation!

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the entrance. Others are very far (.5 mile) from restaurant, pool, and tran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a package that included a rental car, so after a very long commute from Toronto, and a very windy, FOGGY ride up and down through the mountains, we finally arrived at Hotel Los Lagos, and were ready for a good night's rest. We continued to recharge at the hearty breakfast buffet, and in short order we were zip lining through the rain forest! our friend lost her luggage for the 1st day and a half, and the front desk was quite helpful in letting us use the phone at length without charge and translating when needed. It really seemed that everything you would want was at your doorstep, multiple hot thermal pools + hot tub water slide? check. Beautilful hike up to the lookout point for the Arenal volcano? check. (btw, be adventurous, we found a trail that led us to the water at the base of the volcano and had a refreshing swim) Free internet in the lobby? check. Aligator, butterfly, frog, ant farm?? Check, check, check, check! Honestly, the experience of being at a wet bar in a thermal pool after a hike up to the volcano, sipping a pina colada in a pineapple, all the while watching the sun set over the dual peaks of the Arenal volcano is something I will not soon forget...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.